We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Classic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Timeless Classic!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is like stepping back in time to an elegant era and makes you feel as if you are in another world. It is old fashioned but in a good way, so if you are looking for modern it's not the place for you. It is clean and very comfortable with everything you need. The rooms are small but have everything you will need and it is quiet which is a relief if you're jet lagged and need to sleep! I always stay at this hotel and love the atmosphere and it is in a great location.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room but this will not give you a view except of a brick wall so you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizwhitenlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,624
    3,139
    2,072
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,075
3,939
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The suites and rooms are gorgeous, with marble baths and gold fixtures. Beds are wonderfully comfortable, service is impeccable! Tea is served with a Harpist at a great spot above the entrance where tourists and visitors alike display a lovely fashion show un beknownst to them. It is elegant. Peacock Alley has the best Sunday Brunch that flows into the main Lobby. The food is divine, the ambiance fabulous. The beef Wellington superb as are the many other sumptuous choices. This Hotel has it all. Great location too.

Room Tip: This is great for the family too as it is so well located and they are very kind to children. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great service, Fabulous historic hotel, nice display in the lobby. Try the brunch at Oscar's, egg casserole was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of Park Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Things we love: location of hotel, size of room (HUGE by NY standards), linens, showerhead + bathroom, workout facility...all were updated and well appointed. Cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to Superior from standard- bathrooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartlandHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went to New York with my friend and never expected to be spoiled by the staff from this hotel. They upgraded our rooms like it wasn't enough all the attention we feeled transported to the grandiouse era of the gold celebreties who in the past and present still They enjoy staying in this beautiful hotel.
This Hotel is located close to all the amenities that offer New York to the tourists. Restaurants with all kind of menus, Theatres, shopping, ect,. We also enjoyed the Waldorf Restaurant , We had a wonderful dinner and a brunch with a group of friends, and everybody was happy with the attention,food and the reasonable price. I will go back again.

Room Tip: The rooms have big windows and I think the glass are special and block the noises,,because we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariadodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It's not a bad hotel but it's not great either. It's just the location which makes it so atractive. The hotel it's too big so everything is far away. The service is good but slow. The decoration of the rooms reminded me my grandma's apartment. I couldn't believe when I was asked to pay usd 15 daily to have wifi. The rooms are already enough expensive to have to pay it as an extra. One day the shampoo and soap in the bathrom was not renewed and I realized about it in the middle of a shower. It took about 20 minutes until the service brought them to the room. Our room was spacious but the room of my kids had no view and the window was so small....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarianobicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What an amazing hotel.
As soon as you walk into the Waldorf you feel the history and perfect experience that you would expect. I have dreamt of staying at this hotel for years and my husband booked it as part of my birthday celebration surprise.
The service is second to none, from the moment you check in, to the maids, butlers and room service staff.
We stayed in room 2727 and as this is on the 27th floor I have to say that I have never experienced such a speedy lift as this. The room has a door bell, large seating area and short hall way. The bed was huge and the view made me really appreciate how tall the buildings are in New York. The bathroom was smaller compared to the large size of the room, however, with the traditional art deco fittings I felt as if I had been transported back to the 1930’s which is exactly what I wanted.
We had cocktails at Peacock Ally, this is a great place to people watch and truly appreciate the history of the hotel.
Room service was at the excellent standard that you would expect from an American hotel and seeing as though the Waldorf was the first hotel to ever offer room service, it had to be tried. My Husband had onion rings that were huge and the desserts were massive, the food arrived within 20 minutes and was of an excellent standard.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It lived up to everything that I have dreamt it would be and you really feel like you are staying in a part of history. I can’t wait to go back.
I could go on and on about how great this hotel is but if you are looking for luxury, class and history with a friendly service this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#92 of 466 in New York City
2,249 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 466 in New York City
2,657 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 466 in New York City
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 466 in New York City
942 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing