We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall although...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Peterborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good overall although...”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Loved the grandeur of the hotel and its history. We had a king bed superior which was spacious, had all the facilities we needed (handy iron and board) and was lovely and quiet despite the hotel's fab central location. Huge bed was THE COMFIEST I have ever slept in!!! Truly heavenly with pillows and bed linen to match. Was NOT complaining to rest here after a busy day of sightseeing. There are parts of the room that look tired but I'd expect that from a building this age. It was very clean and housekeeping were attentive every day. Great powerful shower with plenty of hot water.

Downside: I wish for the price you pay, the Waldorf would think about the customer journey a little more. We arrived at 3pm to a very long queue at reception. Eventually getting to check in, our 2 rooms weren't ready (2couples). Knowing we'd be out late and desperate to change out of our flight clothes, we asked again until the lovely gentleman did say one room could be accessed. We asked if our friends could get their key now although we understood they couldn't use it yet and would use ours to change. Thy couldn't do this but assured us they would text us when it was ready so off we went to use the one room. A text never arrived. We checked again before leaving, stressing we didn't want to come to reception again at 1am but couldn't be done. At this point we were disappointed not to feel settled in the hotel but we didn't mind too much. But arriving back at 1am to an even longer queue was really frustrating. We couldn't find a member of staff to help and ended up asking the concierge for help but she could neither help nor call anyone to assist us. She advised we could only queue although we explained all our IDs and details had been checked in so we only needed to collect the key that was issued. After about 20 minutes of the queue barely moving I returned to her until eventually an off-duty staff member went to get us the key. Thank you Aileen for helping us when we were so tired and frustrated. I did stress that I did not expect an off-duty employee to help, I felt very sorry for her as there didn't seem to be a support system in place. I was very surprised at the hotel's lack of awareness and contingency for unhappy customers in reception... Reviewing their slow check-in would be a huge improvement. Nobody wants their special trip to be spoiled by something that a hotel of this standard could so easily fix.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Good Afternoon Sukhi77,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry that you experienced such difficulty with check-in. We know that our guests are traveling from all over the world and are looking forward to putting their feet up. We are very upset to hear that we could not provide this for you upon arrival. We are very interested to look into this further, as this is certainly an anomaly. Should you have a moment, please email me with your confirmation number (as well as your friend's if you have it) so that we can do some research on why this happened. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,610
    3,131
    2,069
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,066
3,932
399
1,882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

If you choose to stay here, and we think you should… you will really feel like a part of something special.

We have been fortunate to stay in some very fine properties over the years but our first Waldorf visit certainly stands out as a highlight.

Skip the cookie cutter W and faceless chains. We will certainly recommend the Waldorf Astoria as a must do. And thanks to the amazing staff who even is a band aid run up to the room for a new shoe blister. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Good Afternoon AlbertaTraveller70,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff was able to help with the shoe blister! We certainly hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the near future.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Thought the hotel might be a bit stuffy, i was so wrong.
upgraded to a corner king room, very spacious and everything you would expect from the waldorf. the location is ideal for seeing all the attractions of mid town and is easy to get to.
would always go and stay again.

Room Tip: corner room with king bed is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Good Afternoon ccmn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Waldorf Astoria. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

When it comes to landmark hotels I often get the sense their best days were a generation ago. Not so at the Waldorf in NYC. It's a vibrant grand hotel in a great location for business travel to Manhattan.

The downside for family travel is that midtown gets a little quiet on weekends. Consider staying in more residential areas. My preference is closer to central park.

It's worth noting for Hilton Honors diamond members - the diamond desk at the Waldorf is a real bonus. The staff there is remarkably courteous and professional.

Room Tip: Depending on the travel season the Waldorf sometimes offers surprisingly attractive prices compared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorfarm153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Good Afternoon poorfarm153,

Thank you for your comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Waldorf Astoria and that you found our location to be convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Was automatically upgraded to a king room with free wifi, called me to see if the room was ok and to wish me a happy birthday and gave me 2 free cocktails in the gorgeous bar....I am a Hilton Honors member but had booked through Priceline and they still treated me and my husband like royalty....at only about $225/night which is a steal for NYC any day!!! The Waldorf experience is Disney for adults....go and go often--you won't regret it!!! In my book, there is no where I'd rather stay and I have been at the Plaza, the Marriott Marquis and the Four Seasons. This is the old New York!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you arrive...they are VERY accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good Afternoon Marietta G,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, and thank you for spending such a special occasion with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I would first like to start as many others have: the Waldorf Astoria is character-steeped; it's not the Millennium Hilton, or some boutique design hotel, it's a hotel through which heads-of-states have walked, and where age-old celebrities have mingled through history.

To look, first and foremost at the hotel's pros....

The location is superb if you want to explore Midtown, with all areas of Manhattan in walking distance if you're up for some exercise...which anyone would be after an NY breakfast! The lobby belongs to that of an institution....which the Waldorf is, of course. The rooms are large - considering it's Manhattan, the rooms could even be seen as huge! The bed, which is, in my mind the MOST important part of a hotel room, is very comfortable and I enjoyed every night in this. Food-and-drinks wise, the Bull and Bear is fab' - we ate in here on the last night, and, though quite expensive, the cocktails are great - so's the chablis! I can't reiterate enough - this place feels like an institution (in the good sense!)...

Ok, not everything was so fantastic...so here are some of its flaws...

I would like to see the rooms given a good clean. Faded-grandeur is one thing, but a dusty window sill is another! The room was by no means grotty, but could just do with a PROPER clean. The bathroom is a tad on the small side also, with the bath a little tiny - HOWEVER, this is New York, after-all! Furthermore, the bath products are lovely, in my opinion...

To conclude, I enjoyed my 3 nights here - I believe that the Waldorf is one of the most fascinating places I have visited, with every aspect of the hotel feeling as though it is from another era. If you want some modern, new-age design hotel, or a corporate, business led, glass and concrete formation, don't book here. It is a part of New York history, and indeed, it is integral to the fabric of hotels as they are.

An experience which must be had.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haznocrumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good Afternoon haznocrumbs,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the hotel's rich history. we have made not of your concerns regarding cleanliness. Our guests' happiness is our top priority. Your comments will help us make positive changes to better future guests' experiences. We hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the near future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
795 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Well, this is the Waldorf Astoria. Of course it's grand. What a reception hall and bar! Never seen a hotel reception quite like this one - and I have stayed in a lot of hotels. The rooms were also big enough - and contained the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever found in a hotel. However the room and indeed the hotel in general are a little - well - shabby. It could all use a good freshen up really. Chips in the paintwork, rotting wood in the bathroom. Then comes the cost. We came here on a very reasonable room rate deal. But you can see how they recover their money. The bottled water in the mini bar (very small bottle) is $9.50. A glass of pinot grigio in the bar is $16. The buffet breakfast is $40 a head. Take care if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Good Afternoon OlderGuy1956,

Thank you very much for your feedback. While we are very sorry that you found that the Waldorf Astoria needs to be freshened up, we are so happy to hear that overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the comfort of our beds! We have noted your concerns, especially those regarding pricing, as we are constantly reviewing our menus and pricing. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,341 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing