We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel...... except for ac/heat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
new york city, United States
1 review
“nice hotel...... except for ac/heat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

hotel switched to heat prematurely. Stayed during 60 degree days with no option of AC in room. Had to open windows to sleep at night, to lovely sounds of city noise. Would have been great stay otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Harry D,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Your comments regarding air conditioning and heat are extremely valuable, as we are constantly working to better the guest experience. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,587
    3,122
    2,062
    1,077
    588
See reviews for
3,052
3,916
399
1,877
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I just spent 3 1/2 days here (joined my husband on a business trip - he was there for two days previously) with my husband. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was very large with a walk in closet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The historical exhibits throughout the hotel are amazing. Loved the location. It is convenient to pretty much everything: subway stops, restaurants, shopping. You can walk almost anywhere from here. Would stay there again. Probably not with our kids though. More of an adult hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKB96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Alex B,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Waldorf again in the future!

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went to the Waldorf for our 10 year anniversary. It was a great visit to Gotham. The bear and the bull lived up to the billing and the service was very good. Had a great time. I would go there again in a second.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Writing this on behalf of my parents who returned yesterday from the Waldorf. They had a great time and couldn't fault the hotel. The room was great and scrupulously clean. They had breakfast every morning at Oscars brasserie which had lots of delicious choices! The hotel is in a great location - close to pretty much everywhere. A big big thanks to Wendy M Johnson who helped make their stay one to remember!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear fortune,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so happy to learn that your parents enjoyed their stay with us! We hope that you will have the opportunity to join us yourself in the future.

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

my wife and I stayed from 10th to 16th November for our 40th wedding anniversary.
lovely comfy room which was serviced daily to a high standard.my daughter had contacted the hotel prior to our visit re special occasion
we were afforded a great welcome. special thank you to the hotel management for going out of there way to make our stay an unforgettable experience, in particular Wendy Johnson.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 210daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear 210daveb,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that Wendy was particularly helpful to you. We hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again soon.

Happy Anniversary!
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Over my 40 years in business, I have stayed in all sorts of hotels and never have I expereinced such disappointment as my stay at The Waldorf Astoria. I had to change my room three times before I was able to stay the night but immediately checked out and into a more suitable hotel. I am so terribly dsappointed at what has become of once the grand dame of hotels in America. This once treasure should be taken away from the Hilton Hotel Group and renovated and updated to preserve it's former glory! Stay away at all costs, FOREVER!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Lawrence,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for her 21st birthday treat - a weekend in New York. The hotel was wonderful - a really special experience. Our room was better than we could have hoped for - spacious and luxurious. Everything about the hotel, from the wonderful surroundings and grandeur of the décor, to the super-efficient staff and the delicious cocktails was faultless in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,114 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria New York is currently closed while undergoing an exciting renovation. New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing