We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$127
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$155
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$188
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (11,560)
Filter reviews
11,560 results
Traveller rating
4,663
3,151
2,078
1,079
589
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,663
3,151
2,078
1,079
589
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull and bearpeacock alleyiconic hotelpark avenuenew yorkart decoroom servicemain lobbybeautiful lobbyan upgradechrysler buildingone bedroom suitecorner roomgrand central stationrockefeller centertimes squareoscars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,161 - 5,166 of 11,560 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My Mother invited me to accompany her to this hotel while she attended a conference. Although the hotel was beautiful, I was flabbergasted at what she had to pay (well over $2,000 for five days) and what she got in return. Of note--No coffee pot of any sort in the room! We could not have coffee in the morning without going somewhere else & she often missed the little continental breakfast at her conference if she didn't get there very early. The internet was an additional $18.00 per day, quite ridiculous and should have been included in the $2,000+ room rate. We had to purchase it, and then the signal was very poor and unreliable-- I went to a local public area by a Starbucks to use the internet when I needed it. We made the mistake of trying lunch at one of the hotel restaurants. For one half glass of wine, a gin and tonic & two microscopic Waldorf Salads (I have not ever had such a small portion) the cost was nearly $70.00! Unbelievable considering we ate out at various restaurants throughout the week for our meals and received much better food at more reasonable rates. Although the rooms were very nice, beds were nice, I can say that I would never be willing to pay this amount for lodging ever again considering the lack of basic amenities that should be included in the rate. Would recommend folks look elsewhere nearby for better amenities at a similar or lessor rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisemarievn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We expected a lot from Waldorf Astoria and had been our regular choice in New York for a while, but it was totally outdated and uncomfortable. Rooms were not maintained well. Lighting is inadequate and food service is poor. Unless they perform significant renovation, we will not go back there for next 10 years.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasuo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Yasuo,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations this recent visit. Rest assured we take your comments very seriously and will see to it that your concerns with our guestroom comfort and appointment are addressed. Again, thank you for your comments as I use them as a tool to better improve our hotel. We hope you will continue to stay with us during your travels to the city so we may once again demonstrate the quality hospitality and accommodations you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Worse hotel I have ever stayed in. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite and were very disappointed. The room was old and dated. There was no air conditioning and as it was snowing outside only had a fan heater to use. The shower had to be switched in 30 minutes before use otherwise the water was freezing. On two separate occasions we called reception for assistance and on both times no one came. There is no wifi in rooms so all patrons hang around the lobby area where wifi is free. The staff are the rudest I have ever come across. Do not stay here. The worst hotel ever

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fehm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay and we will utilize your comments as we look for new ways to impress our guests. We regret you were disappointed in our service and amenities and hope you give us another opportunity to provide the level of hospitality you deserve should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Needs a remodel, but for New York, was updated.
Wifi/internet rarely worked well.
Great location.
Room service was delicious.
Nothing about my stay wants me to come back. Only thing that would bring me back was the rate.
Didn't find service to be exceptional nor lacking, just sort of there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank runninglady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

While the location is good, the facility is tired and the service is sad. You better have a lot of patience because checking in and out is, to be polite, laborious. And in case you haven't wasted enough time, the porter/valet baggage check is pathetic. When I asked why the baggage room was vacant, a concierge blamed it on "the unions". How much longer can they live of the name?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savlanoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid review of our service and amenities and regret you were disappointed in your experience. We will utilize your comments as we constantly evolve to meet and exceed our guests expectations and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to New York City in the future.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews