We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We worked with Buddy at the front desk to check in on Friday. It was our friends bachelorette so he made sure to put us in an amazing suite with a perfect city view of St. Bart's Church. We had to wait a little bit before our room was ready Friday afternoon so Buddy provided us with a few drink vouchers to use in one of the bars. The customer experience was excellent and Buddy truly made our trip so much more special. I would definitely go back to the hotel again - it was the perfect weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Court D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,610
    3,131
    2,069
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,066
3,932
399
1,882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I wanted to love my stay at the Waldorf, I really did. Instead I found myself underwhelmed by a stuffy room that reeked of musty furniture. For what its worth, the hotel it well kept. But the unpredictable shower temperature and air conditioning that wouldn't go lower than 24C put a bad taste in our mouth. That was chased by horrific staff experiences, including the attitude of one staffer who went out of her way to belittle my telephone request for some cutlery to be sent to our room (a 45 minute wait...I ended up walking down to the bar to get a butter knife). Not what I was expecting for $500/night.

To cap it all off, we noticed that I had left an iPhone (battery dead) in our room about 30 minutes after check-out. We called the hotel enroute to the airport to be told that the only thing that was found was the set of headphones which belonged to the phone. Great. Subsequent phone calls led nowhere.

Concierge was helpful, as they should be. We didn't make use of the amenities at the hotel. I would have preferred to be closer to Central Park.

The hotel is busy so expect delays upon check-in. Make sure you have a view of more than the bird-poop strewn mechanical areas on the terraces. And if you find it hot, the windows do open (just ignore the "do not open" sign).

While I'm sure that this place was amazing in 1931, the luxury-factor simply does not hold up. Stay away unless you're into historic hotels that smell like your grandfather's basement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank withoutahintofirony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NYC, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Withoutahintofirony,

Thank you for taking your personal time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We wanted you to love your stay with us too and we are greatly disappointed in our failure to deliver the level of experience you had expected. We are more than capable of meeting your well deserved expectations.

I was particularly concerned with your comments about the quality of your room accommodations and about the level of service you received. We take these comments very seriously. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further so that we may identify what specifically happened and work to rectify it.

Yours in service,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Having read numerous reviews on TA, I was eager to check out the current condition of the Waldorf. Since I had not stayed there for 6 or 7 years, I was fearful it had lost its ambience. Conclusion: No way! I don't think anyone disagrees the entrance and lobby are as grand and gorgeous as ever. Back In the late 50s and early 60s I would regularly meet friends and co-workers under the clock...a loving landmark. Today, fifty years later, it looks and feels exactly the same...what a treat! The room was beautiful. larger than average, and the fittings and furniture first class and as clean as a pin. There was nothing tired or seedy about the room and bathroom whatsoever. The pedestal sink appeared to be brand new. The water was hot immediately. ( I'm beginning to think some of these reviewers stayed somewere else and just thought they were at the Waldorf.) Oddly enough, the only complaint I have, and I'm sure it would be considered petty, is that I was shocked at the inferior quality of the toilet tissue. My grandson would say "It's less than one ply." A few days after my WA stay, I happened to be at a softball tournament in Vero Beah, FL. Don't laugh, but the TP in the public restroom at the ball park was better quaity than the Waldorf. Hmmm. But that's a small thing compared to a wonderful stay at a grand NYC landmark. I will certainly return every chance I get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank miamimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a room in the tower from which you have access to the lounge. Breakfast quite poor, small selection and lounge closes already late afternoon. Room was nice and spacious, but bathroom extremely small. Elevators do not cope with number of guests, specially day guests in the upper conference rooms. You had to wait sometimes a quarter of an hour!
Location very central, you can walk to many places. As diamond HH member you have in this Hotel almost no advantage

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Astoria_NYC, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Ralph W,

Thank you for providing your feedback of your recent stay. We know you have many choices when traveling and we greatly appreciate your loyalty to Hilton Hotels Worldwide. I sincerely apologize for our failure to deliver an unforgettable experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss the quality of your experience further.

Yours in service,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our experience at the Waldorf Astoria was terrific. The hotel was centrally located for our needs. The room was very clean and well appointed. Staff was professional and helpful. While we didn't ask for anything difficult my feeling is the staff would have gone out of their way to make sure all guests would have an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Like so many other comtributors I had decided to put the negative reviews aside & give the hotel a chance. I desperatly wanted to love it, just for the name & the history of the hotel but sad to say it just doesn't live up to the hype.
The reception/lobby area is beautiful but VERY overcrowded, I guess they just let tourists wander in from the streets to take pictures? It severly takes away from the atmosphere when you have hundreds of people slowly milling about taking photo's of everything.
The room was small & although the quality of the furnishings was clear, they did look 'tired'. Also, the rooms are not very soundproof. I could clearly hear a child crying/making noise in one of the neighbouring rooms. Not intrusive enough to warrent a complaint but far from the silent night of sleep I had been hoping for after a long day out exploring the city.
Overall, for this price range there are other much better options.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Social Media Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear IslandDragon,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestrooms and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our offerings. We will use your comments as we continually evolve our guests' experience so we may continue to provide the world class experience you expect and deserve. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Melissa Howard
Social Media Manager - WANYC
Melissa.Howard@WaldorfAstoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for a few nights for our anniversary celebrations. No complaints, its not a cozy homely place, if thats what you seek you may wanna look around, hustle bustle, huge, busy place, did not use much of hotel facilities except room service which was good

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaa2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,341 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing