We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After reading the reviews we booked a suite in the Towers.
The Towers has it's own foyer & staff & is rather special.
Room 34F2 was fantastic it had an entry foyer a separate lounge room, a very spacious separate bedroom with 2 x double beds with a dressing room adjoining plus a huge marble bathroom.
Ok the hotel is not new but has a lot of old world grandeur which we loved.
Location was excellent. The staff were discreet & very friendly.
This is one of the best stays we have had in our extensive world travels & was slightly more than staying at a Hilton in a standard room.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Towers suites are great value, compare with other similar hotels & you will be surprised .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobw58au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear BobwSydney_Australia,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate it amongst your top hotel visits ever. It is especially nice to read that you appreciate the "old world grandeur," as you put it, that our hotel exemplifies. This is something we hear time and time again that guests love, and we hope that you left with a yearning to return in the future.

We hope that you will book with us during your next trip to New York City. Please be sure to reach out and let us know if you have any special requests that could make your next visit even more stellar.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,609
    3,131
    2,068
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,065
3,931
399
1,882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The simple elegance of this hotel,far outweighs any modern hotel. Upon arrival parking and check-in are covered so you are not out on Park Ave getting your car door blown off. Location is great, easy access to everything and in walking distance of Rockerfella Center, Top of the Rock, and Empire State Bldg.

Lobby restrooms were well appointed and nothing can compare with the history that lives inside the walls of this hotel. We took a quick tour of the banquet facilities and I felt like a little girl going to a ball. We took our two children and they were in awe of the hotel as we were.

Our favorite staff member was Toro who retrieved our car and shared many stories of the Waldorf's history. The hotel made for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Lisa Z,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review for your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our old world charm and historic ambiance. It is our highest priority to ensure that every guest enjoys his or her stay here, and it sounds like you did. We hope that we can provide you with an utterly unforgettable experience during your next trip to New York City and look forward to the opportunity to do so. Please don't hesitate to reach out and let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more special.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Waldorf Astoria...it's one of those iconic places to stay in New York. So, we splurged on Hilton points and booked one night so we could make that dream come true.

Stepping into the lobby, with its elegance and history is a wonderful experience. It's rich and gives every person a sense of glamour. It's got location, location, location; it was perfect for our weekend's activities.

We arrived at the hotel early, and weren't surprised that our room wasn't ready, so we left our bags with bell services after an easy and efficient (and pleasant) check in. The receptionist asked if I'd like a text message to let me know that the room was ready (I was never texted about the room before we showed up and picked up the keys).

We were given a disabled access room so it was very spacious. Yes, the furnishings are dated but I didn't really mind because I don't want a classic iconic hotel to be completely modernized.

However, I think that current hotel guests are generally not looking for rooms with double beds; queens are now the standard for two-bedded rooms. (To be fair, the hotel did not advertise queen beds and the doubles were as described).

I never use a hotel's internet when I travel, because I don't want to enconter fees; I just use my phone's hot spot and avoid that issue.

One amenity that I expect in a hotel room is a coffeemaker. It does not have to be a Nespresso or Keurig machine (as I've enjoyed in Fairmonts on recent stays), but I expect something to make hot water for coffee or tea. Not at the Waldorf Astoria. This was a big negative for me. If a hotel can install a pressure-sensitive minibar, they can put in a coffee maker. Hiltons have this; it should be in the upscale Waldorf Astoria.

When we first stepped into our room, the smell of bleach was very strong. When we returned to our room after seeing a play, we did not smell bleach; the room smelled like marijuana smoke, and we smelled it again after getting coffee the next morning. Not good. Was the bleach smell to overwhelm the smoke smell from a previous guest? Hmm.

When bell services brought our luggage, one of the bags was missing, and it took awhile before it was retrieved and delivered. That was not comfortable, but what was MUCH MUCH WORSE was when we departed the hotel, we took our bags to bell services to store for a few hours before we departed New York.

When we returned, our bags were still in the same place on the curb where they'd been given to the bellman. They hadn't been stored at all, and were on the curb where people are dropped off and picked up. ANYone could have taken our bags at any time while they were sitting there.

To prove that point, we picked up our luggage and left. We did not give the bellman our claim check and NOBODY asked us about taking the bags. I was absolutely horrified at the lack of security with guests' baggage.

As a travel consultant, this is inexcusable. I can overlook the double beds, shrug off having no coffeemaker as an antiquated oversight, but NEVER EVER should a guest's luggage be vulnerable when given to bell services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mkraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear mkraemer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We want to apologize profusely for the oversight with your luggage and will be in contact shortly.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clonmel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed in the Waldorf for 2 nights.. Big queue at check in after a long flight ... could of done with more staff ... Eventually got to our room and had to call looking for our bags, after 45 minutes they arrived ..... Was late for Dinner meeting friends of ours... Sorry we didnt dine in Waldorf as we felt it was VERY expensive to eat there....
When room was cleaned the following day ... the shampoo, shower gel or body cream hadnt been replaced.... Called reception 3 times ( at 10 o clock at night ), Eventually they arrived at 11.30!!!

There was 3 of us in the room and i must say the beds were very small . The room could do with a face lift for the money we were paying to stay there . But i have to say the lobby is well worth visiting. Doubt we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recycleclonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear recycleclonmel,

Thank you for giving us some feedback about your recent visit at the Waldorf Astoria. Comments such as yours go a long way in helping us understand more about what we can do to better serve our loyal guests. We want to apologize sincerely for any and all inconveniences you experienced and hope for the opportunity to show you our true Waldorf service in the future.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location if you like to walk to almost all popular attractions. Very clean in lobby and rooms, but didn't like the smell leading to our room (hallway). The fitness center was very nice as was the service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Laura T,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave some comments about your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York City and that we were able to provide you with an unforgettable experience. We hope for the opportunity to care for your needs again in the future during your next trip to New York City.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great stay at the Waldorf, lovely family room with separate dressing area which worked great for us.
Originally they put us in a smoking room I asked at the time of check in if we would be able to smell the smoke but assured we would not as rooms are throughly cleaned, however spent one night and could actually found the smell horrible so asked to be moved the following day which they accommodated.

Overall a lovely hotel a bit tired in places but you look past that and enjoy the art deco features, good service with pleasant staff throughout.

Room Tip: just use the waldorf site they are explained in detail so you can choose what you want to suit your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Eggo1,

Thank you kindly for your thoughtfulness in leaving a review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your needs. Apologies for putting you in a smoking room initially, but I am very glad that we were able to move you into a more comfortable (and less odorous) room.

Overall, thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our art deco style and traditional, classic feel of our features. It is these things, along with the standard of service we are able to provide, that keep our guests coming back, and we hope that you will also become a lifelong fan and repeat guest at the Waldorf Astoria. Next time you come to New York City, please be sure to reach out and let us know how we can make your next visit even more unforgettable.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in the Waldorf for 3 nights. Location was perfect. Walked to Rockerfella Center in 7 minutes. First impressions of the hotel - wow!! the lobby is so impressive. Long queue for check in but plenty of managers on duty to make sure everyone was dealt with as quickly as possible. Found reception staff very attentive and pleasant.

Bedrooms were an ok size. Had booked one room with 2 double beds for 2 adults and 1 child. Bed size are bit on the small size for 2 adults. Wallpaper starting to peel from the walls. Television only worked manually as remote did not work and tv reception so poor we could only watch news channel or weather channel - our child was highly educated about all aspects of weather during our stay in New York!! Handles came off drawers. Bathroom very old fashioned. Water temperature was very tempermental. Went from hot to cold to hot.

The Waldorf is probably the Grand Dame of New York. It is world famous. And yes the lobby and surrounding area live up to every expectation you might have of the hotel. But the rooms a such a let down. They need to updated floor by floor. Money needs to be spent on restoring the hotel. During our visit there seemed to be a large conference on where delegets were staying in hotel. The hotels business probably works for business men checking in for 1 to 2 nights single rooms but for ordinary travelling tourists - no. From most of the other reviews on here I hope that the owners take note. Upgrade your bedrooms if you wish to sustain your tourist business. As mentioned we found staff excellent - from the luggage guy to the managers. We did not eat in the hotel - at $45 per person for an egg breakfast we politely declined.

New York is a fantastic city - forgot how noisy it is but thats what gives it a buzz. If lost or unsure of something just ask a cop. They are friendly and will give advice on anything. you might laugh but if you are in need of a toilet go to any starbucks. Order any item and use their facilities. We found this out travelling with our child. Starbucks has become our best friend.
Also shop in the Waldorf on the ground level sell umbrellas $8. Saved us from being soaked on one morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear kerry16,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria went. It is our highest priority to provide unforgettable experiences for our guests, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the historic nature of our hotel. That being said, we want to issue an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as a result of the state of your rooms. It is very important that our guests experience the standard of luxury that the Waldorf Astoria was founded on, and so your comments are extremely helpful in helping us to understand more about our areas of improvement.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again during a future visit to New York City and look forward to the opportunity to give you that true level of Waldorf service and luxury you expect and deserve from our staff and property.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,335 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing