We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of its history. Room comfortable, but starting to show its age. Whilst our stay here was very enjoyable we found it extremely busy and would probably stay somewhere else next time. Some of the prices for some of the services were also exorbitant. For example laundry costs - $9.00 for a pair of socks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jenny K,

Thank you kindly for taking the opportunity to let us know how your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria went. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope for the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to New York City. If you do choose to book with us again, please be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can take care of in advance to make your next stay even more special.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,797 - 4,803 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived late due to a snowstorm, apx 10.00-10.30 pm.
Our first impression was that the hotel lacked a proper entrance, leaving us to find our way to the reception from the parking lot where the taxi dropped us off from through corridors and staircases. No personnel were to be found.

Well in the reception we were met by a beautiful and grand room with lots of character.
Once checked in we fancied something to eat, but were surprised that nothing was open. The only available service was room-service, which was not what we were expecting or preferred. Normally a hotel of this standard have at the least a café open until late hours for a night meal.

The room were rather small, but with a decent sized bathroom, however it all felt a bit run down.

The breakfast buffet was good and the service excellent; however the environment was not fancy and not living up to the expectations of the hotel’s highly reputation.

Waldorf Astoria is a hotel with a great reputation leading to somewhat high expectations, but it simply did not live up to it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mango60,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to let us know how your stay at the Waldorf Astoria went this past winter. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many features of your visit here but dismayed that you weren't completely blown away. It is our highest priority to ensure that each and every one of our guests feels like a Prince or Princess of Park Avenue during their stay here, and we hope you will grant us the opportunity to provide you with the quality and luxury service we are known around the world for providing to our valued guests.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night having booked via Booking.com. We were palmed off with a lower grade of room, the hotel admitted this at checkout but having charged for the higher priced room they refused to put this right by refunding us the difference. They would only offer a voucher for use in the gift shop. The gift shop was shut and appeared to only contain very expensive items. As we only had a few hours to explore New York before flying out we did not want to let this despicable behaviour spoil the trip by spending our time debating this theft and elected to go and see the city. I would not recommend any hotel that rips people off in this fashion.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you paid for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank vix1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear vix1969,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the issues you listed in your TripAdvisor review. I would like to issue a formal apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay here. We will be in touch soon to further address these issues.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I received an offer for a nicer room when I checked in and we would stay in a larger suite in the towers for a 100USD difference. The first night we had to sleep with the lights on as nobody came to fix the problem. The second night the automated black out did not get down and we had three people coming to fix the problem but nothing happened and they promised to fix in the morning. At that nigh the blackout was still opened and we called and a guy came to pull them out on force breaking them. We gave up complaining and having light in the apartment. At the same night the sink had its drain closed and we could not open it again. Someone came and fixed it. I am still here at the unit for 4 more days. I have 2 small kids and it was never an option from the hotel to move us.
They gave us daily a continental breakfast. The room has around 40 seats and around 100 people come at a time. Food is not replaced properly and there is never a 4 table seat available…

Lets see how it goes. The hotel that was a while ago a brand of luxury is now an old place and even the renovated suites have poor maintenance.

The place from the hotel is excellent,

Room Tip: check the unit and functional gadgets when arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Renato N,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your time at the Waldorf Astoria. We will be in touch shortly to address your issues and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked three nights in a 1 bed suite at the end of our two week holiday celebrating my husbands 50th birthday. We even added estandby to try and ensure we got the best possible room we could afford considering this is the most we have ever ever spent on a hotel room. Customer Service was atrocious, after standing in long queue's to be seen we felt that (unless you were staying in the Towers of course) we didn't matter. We love nostalgia but this hotel is trading on it's very grand past reputation and charging us for the previlage. The suite was tired, furniture was tatty and not functional, wall paper was peeling off the walls and generally felt like we were in an old folks home. I would avoid this hotel we have stayed in the Crown Plaza, The Radisson and even The Barclay around the corner and can recommend all of them.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Fergys_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in our service and atmosphere. We strive to provide the exceptional experience you deserve and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may better demonstrate this brand standard.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I used Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" and thankfully only paid $155/night plus taxes and fees and not the Waldorf regular rates of $300-$400/night. The a/c was virtually non-existent during the night, and the room got extremely hot. Not wanting to call maintenance at 1:00 am, we told them at the front desk the next morning. All we got was a "sorry" and nothing else! No attempt was made to make up for our terrible night's sleep. They simply did not care that we were not satisfied. If we had paid the regular rates, we would have been absolutely livid. We use Priceline as a way to stay at a hotel at a reduced rate. If we like our experience, we go back and deal with the hotel directly. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the discomfort you faced with your guestroom's amenities. We have shared your concerns on service and appointment with our teams as we are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction. We value each of our guests' stays and we hope to have another chance to impress should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing hotel that more than lives up to its reputation. I loved the ambience, decor, grandeur and romanticism of this stunning hotel and I certainly won't be staying anywhere else when I visit NYC in the hopefully not too distant future.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Natalie D,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know how your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria went. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are looking to book with us again! If you do book with us in the near future, be sure to reach out in advance with any special requests we can accommodate to ensure that your next stay is even more magical than the last.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#99 of 469 in New York City
2,339 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,495 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £242 - £1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing