We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a historic hotel and great for a New York experience. It's important to note that while the valet parking was insanely high, and there was an expectation to tip any staff member who helped you, this is part of NYC high culture.
Bed was great, but no free wifi. Mini fridge was available for free but we had to ask three times.

Great historical atmosphere and lovely NYC experience.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank HZ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear HZ1983,

Thank you for submitting your comments about your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria! We are honored that you chose us as your host here in New York City and delighted that you enjoyed our ambiance, character, and accommodations.

As for the three times you called regarding a mini fridge, that is not the standard of service at the Waldorf Astoria. It is our responsibility to not only respond quickly to any guest needs, but also to anticipate your needs! That is part of the luxury experience, and so we completely understand your frustration with this issue.

Rest assured that we are pursuing an aggressive strategy that will allow us to evolve continuously in all aspects of our operations to better exceed the expectations of our valued guests. That is our commitment, our duty, and our pleasure.

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,741 - 4,747 of 11,540 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Waldorf lives up to its reputation as a first class place to stay. the hotel itself is older style, and quite lovely. it has so much history, told in the photos of celebrities on the walls. the staff are attentive and responsive. The restaurants and bars are great too, particularly the Bull and Bear. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear 2walkabout,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience, and it is a high pleasure to learn that we came through on that promise for you. Next time you are in New York City, we sincerely hope you will choose us as your host again. Not only will we provide the same level of luxury you enjoyed last time, but we are also continuously evolving to anticipate the every need of our valued guests. We hope to welcome you to our beautiful city again in the near future!

My best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Lots of history to this building and the staff was super nice and helpful. We were greeted by a delightful man named Toro. He took our luggage, gave us the run down on how things worked, gave us ideas on where to go until our room was ready and pointed us in the right direction to the lobby. Our room was ready and they brought our luggage up within 15 minutes. The room was clean but did smell a little musty. It is an old hotel so you have to expect some different odors but very clean. The beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff was amazing. Two items to improve on, the cable service. The service kept going out and the picture was awful and after days of walking around it would've been nice to arrive to some clear television watching. I also didn't enjoy fighting the shower curtain every shower. Please make some upgrades and get those shower bars that extend out so the curtain isn't wrapped around my legs. We ate dinner once at the Peacock and enjoyed the $30 hamburger and the cheese plate was amazing! Big chunks of delicious cheese and some flavored almonds that were a wonderful compliment to the plate! Take some time to walk around the hotel and look at some of the antiques on display. Some beautiful pieces with a story. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LittleJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear LittleJude,

Thank you for your review! Our team is thrilled to learn that you had an unforgettable experience here. We will absolutely take your ideas regarding the cable service and extended shower bars into consideration- they are great ideas and we are always looking for ways to learn more about how we can better meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests. I will also be sure to pass your regards onto Toro, as this is just the change in luxury we want to offer each of our guests and it sounds like he did a wonderful job of greeting you!

We look forward to hosting you again, and please let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate in advance of your arrival! We would be more than happy to do so.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Waldorf is steeped in NY history as a luxurious hotel that has kings, queens, presidents and the upper crust as guests. It is not inexpensive to stay there and there is a certain feeling that you are entering a landmark that is filled with many stories. But, the rooms are surprisingly not luxurious, in fact, very tired and kind of run down, if still giving an antique vibe. If you are going for the sheer historical value, you will love it. If you are looking for magnificent luxury, you will not find it, unless maybe you have a suite or other upper-scale type room. The rooms are very expensive - we attend a meeting at the Waldorf every year, but choose to stay at other hotels nearby not because of the expense, but because we want a nicer room. Ballrooms, restaurants, etc. are all beautiful and stunning, and if you are a history buff, you will love the place. We prefer to stay elsewhere and walk to the meeting. Luckily in New York, that is an easy option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Michele V,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as your host during your trip to New York City last December. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and are happy to learn that you enjoyed the ambiance of our historic hotel while you were here.

We have received a number of reviews citing issues with dated rooms and are working hard to continuously evolve and improve our offerings for guests. It is our duty to provide the luxury experience you expect and deserve (and pay for!), and so your comments will be used to further that commitment.

It is our hope that you will stay with us again in the future, as we have a highly dedicated group services staff that can work with you to secure luxurious rooms that fit your budget when you return to the area for your annual meeting. I will be sure to reach out shortly to see if you have any interest in speaking with a suite specialist who can not only recommend a really nice room here at the Waldorf but also work with you on an affordable rate if you are traveling with a group!

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My fiancé and I arrived in New York on the 28th June 2014 for one week which was planned to culminate on the following Thursday by our getting married at the Top of the Rock. Given that this was to be a very special week for us, we selected the Waldorf Astoria as our hotel as we believed that we would be staying in New York's most luxurious hotel. Unfortunately we now only wish that we had checked Trip Advisor before booking as sadly as many of the posts reflect, the Waldorf Astoria is far from being a luxurious hotel.
From the moment we entered the hotel, we found the check-in process tortuously slow. This was then followed by us being put in a basic room when we had actually selected a Junior Suite. We complained and were moved to a Junior Suite the next day but as can be seen from the photos, the room was certainly not luxury.
Added to the above, the room and hotel in general were dated and the décor tired. Despite being on the 25th floor, the noise insulation was poor. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room and when we moved som of the mini-bar contents out of the fridge to cool some of our own drinks, we were still charged for the moved beverages (later refunded only after complaining again). On the day of our wedding, the iron in the room didn't work, it took 3 phone calls and 30 mins wait for a replacement to be provided. The choice of TV channels was poor and the prices of drinks and food in the hotel was extortionate.
As Directors of our own companies who spend significant amounts of time in various hotels around the world in both a business and pleasure capacity, I found the experience of this hotel to be very disappointing and not at the standard that I had expected. In my view, this hotel is resting on its name and historical reputation and requires significant investment and upgrade to bring it up to the standard of other luxury hotels. The only positive aspect was the professionalism of the room cleaning staff who were excellent and managed to keep our dated and drab room clean. The Waldorf Astoria New York webpage claims 'Discover luxury, grandeur and unrivalled service at the internationally-renowned Waldorf Astoria New York'.....Sadly for us, the overall experience of this hotel has had a detrimental impact on our wedding week and general impression of New York. We just feel that we could have spent the considerable sum of money on a better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morrissey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Morrissey2014,

First, let me thank you for choosing our property as your host for your wedding week here in New York City. I wish that I could be posting my response to a review from you that cites excellent service and accommodations that exceeded your needs. To be honest, I am genuinely disappointed that this was not your experience and want to extend my sincerest apologies to you.

We are aware that we have some work and deliberation to do in the areas of our check-in and mini-bar debit systems, and will use your comments on the TV channel selection and noise insulation as we work to continuously evolve our offerings. It is our greatest priority to not only meet the needs of our guests, but to also anticipate them, and so I want to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We will be in touch shortly to talk further about your stay and will address these issues with our upper management to ensure that, as we move forward, our services reflect the luxury experience you expect and deserve from the Waldorf Astoria. I look forward to our correspondence.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this hotel was a great thing to experience, everyone should do it at least once! the location is amazing for shopping and sight seeing, the rooms and decor is so traditional and elegant. the famous 'peacock alley' is the brunch all you can eat that is held in the lobby which we did as a family last year and it was the most extravagant thing but it was just great, a must do!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear JBW_2244,

We are honored that you chose us as your host for your recent trip to new York City! It is great to hear that you were impressed and had an unforgettable time here. We hope you left with a yearning to return and look forward to the opportunity to host you again.

If there is any way we can be of further assistance now or in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out directly. Thank you ever so much for your glowing review.

Best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was not expecting a lot after reading some of the reviews but was happy that the hotel was better than anticipated.
We should have been met from our transfer from the Queen Mary 2 and gone straight to check in leaving our luggage on the coach to be delivered to our rooms by the porters. This did not happen and a coach load of guests were left to struggle to carry cases into the hotel.This may not have been the hotels fault, more probably Cunards, but it didnt start the visit well.
The public areas of the hotel are impressive but the rooms are pretty tired. The plumbing must date back to when the hotel was built, the shower needing 10 minutes notice before delivering hot water!! The Bull and Bear resaurant is excellent as is the breakfast buffet served in Oscars Bistro. Overall we were happy with our stay and would certainly stay here again because, despite its shortcomings, the hotel has real character.

Room Tip: Complain if you are not happy with your room.Reception will try to provide something better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear swiss-mike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the historic character of the hotel and our luxury accommodations.

We so hope you will book with us again in the future, and be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can field before you arrive to ensure that your next stay is nothing short of exceptional!

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 469 in New York City
3,556 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 469 in New York City
754 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#88 of 469 in New York City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £241 - £1,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing