We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel great! Amenities- not so hot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The historic and beautifully restored Waldorf is wonderful! The lobby is Art Deco at its finest and our room on the 17th floor was spacious and well appointed. We booked the trip through an airline and got a deal that was totally worth it.
However, our experiences at the lobby Peacock Lounge and the Bear and Bull bar were unsatisfactory. Even with several waiters at the Peacock, we had trouble attracting their attention, with a long wait for water, menus and food. The Bull and Bear not only took forever to clear the previous patrons' mess from the table to which they directed us, but overcharged us for our drinks. When we complained, we were told that we'd have to take it up with the waiter who never returned.
We took the historic tour, which was excellent! Karen, the guide was knowledgeable, charming and fun. We highly recommend the tour of this magnificent property, and Karen! However, the hotel didn't seem to know anything about it. We saw the sign at check-in: Historic tour with lunch $65. We were told to book it with the tour desk, but the tour guy said his computer was down, and to check with the maître d. She said it wasn't necessary to make a reservation, just meet by the clock at 10;30.
We met at the clock at 10:30, and found out that we did need to make a reservation, but it was OK, come on.
The tour was great, and we asked about lunch - and we're told that we could order whatever we wanted, no set menu - in the Peacock Lounge. We were given a soiled paper menu with a set menu- Waldorf salad, soup and sandwich, a cookie-$58. The hotel should do better. Advice: stay here, take the tour (although you can take the tour while not a guest), but do your dining elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room on the 17th floor was excellent. Note: few hotels in NYC have rooms with two beds, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ndegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear ndegan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay at our property. We are excited that you were pleased with your stay here but disappointed that you weren't pleased with our restaurant service. We will use your comments on your dining experience in mind as we continue to evolve our services and offerings moving forward.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,699 - 4,705 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having read some previous reviews of the hotel i had certain misgivings as to the state of the building and the service we would recieve. Thankfully they were totally misplaced. The interiors of the hotel are timelessly elegant, and though the rooms may be considered by some to be dated - it's because they ARE, people! this is not a pastiche of an old hotel - its the real thing - with aged mirrors and bakelite light switches. And the service we had was impeccable - the staff could have been faceless and corporate, but were charming (even down to the fact that a member of the bar staff remembered the drink one of party had on the first night, on our fifth - night (not drink!) ) Special recommendation must go to Cameron and Austin for their attentive service. the hotel is ideally situated for walking the city too. I certainly look forward to returning . My only minor gripe would be that the windows need a good clean - but there are about a billion of them , so it must be a job and a half ! In conclusion , i heartily recommend that you pull up a chair and cocktail and listen to some Cole Porter in the art deco lobby, played expertly on his own piano. It's the tops ...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JersJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear JersJay,

Reading your review, I am quite delighted at how much you enjoyed your experience at the Waldorf Astoria. We consider it an honor to be a top choice of travelers from around the world, and we sincerely hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to New York City if you return to the area in the future. The same standard of service and luxury accommodations you enjoyed last time will be here, awaiting your return!

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Perfect location and property for any incentive or meeting program. Maid service was outstanding , bell staff couldn't be nicer and the hotel is iconic. The ballroom is amazing. Very little decor has to be arranged for this room, it's like meeting in a museum. Beautiful all around. Food was over the top!

Room Tip: Tower Rooms are first class as are all the rooms, can't get a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insurqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear insurqueen,

Your review was such a pleasure to read! We are so happy that you were pleased with your experience, and that everything from the housekeeping service to the food and overall ambiance of our property was in line with your expectations.

We hope for the opportunity to host you again in the near future, and please let us know if there is anything special we can do for you during your next stay to ensure that your time spent here is nothing short of magical!

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful historic property. The property is older not modern but charming. Impressive entry as you enter Lobby from Park Ave. The rooms are average and older. The staff was really nice, helpful and welcoming. The property is perfectly situated for any tourist activities most within walking distance. The subway is also 2 blocks away. We were in walking distance to Times Square and Fifth Ave shopping. LGA airport is about a 30 minute taxi ride.

A must see is the Women's restroom in the main lobby. WOW! Lots of history and photos throughout the property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Travellingguyz,

Thank you for your great review! Our team is thrilled to hear about how you enjoyed your recent stay here, and we would love to learn how we can help make your next stay even more exceptional.

We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to New York City.

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A magnificent place from the moment you walk in the decor and overall ambience is enchanting.
The rooms although feel somewhat old (and bathrooms in particular a little tired) they are beautifully furnished and nicely appointed.
One of those hotels that you have to stay in once in your life.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Thebarclay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Thebarclay4,

It is wonderful to learn that you were enchanted by the ambiance and atmosphere we foster here at the Waldorf Astoria. This is part of what sets us apart from any other hotel in the world- the history, the grandeur, the undefinable feeling of regal luxury one gets when they walk through our doors.

Thank you for choosing us as your host for your recent trip to New York City. We appreciate your comments and sincerely hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

My best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Due to age of building, some rooms are much better than others--keep asking. It doesn't matter which room you get (except Tower), you will still hear the garbage trucks. Everything is pricy, just know that going in. Service is decent, pretension is high. Great meeting location and good access to midtown. Nice place to stay on expense account.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are always looking for ways to balance fair pricing with the luxury accommodations and service we offer, and so your comments are very important to us as we move forward.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel, and I am happy to report that we are currently pursuing an aggressive strategy to give our historic building the care it needs to better meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our hotel on Priceline.com. We were shocked that this was our unknown hotel. We checked trip advisor and saw that there was only a 66% approval rating. We were worried. I soon found out why the hotel's rating was so low.
Upon the entrance, the hotel is beautiful. The lobby and restrooms were very classy. However, my problems began as I checked into the hotel. The front desk clerk was very arrogant. He told me that since I booked my room on Priceline, I would only be allowed a queen bed. There were three people in our party. He then suggested I upgraded to the $599.00 rate or pay $50.00 extra a day for an upgrade or a rollaway bed. Extremely frustrated, I decided to choose the $50.00 upgrade. This made our room a $150.00 more for the entire stay. I was not happy.
When we entered the room, it was dated, small and dirty. There was a dirty sock on the floor, hair on the window seat, a key card left by the previous guest, a box of cereal and a bottle of vitamin water left in the room. The curtains were dirty and from the year 1950. The wallpaper was dated and peeling. There was a black substance around the fire alarm (mold/rust?). I IMMEDIATELY called downstairs and requested a new room. We were moved.
This room was spacious, clean, and had a home like feeling. The bathroom was MUCH larger and nicer. The front desk clerk added a roll away bed and upgraded the king bed for free. The gentleman from housekeeping also brought us a refrigerator. He was such a wonderful person. We were also given drink coupons for the bars throughout the hotel. The drinks were yummy, however, the bar menu needs to be changed. The bartenders were very nice and entertaining. After we changed our room, we had a very nice stay.
Upon checkout, I experienced a very rude front desk clerk. I was charged the $150.00 which took 15 minutes to remove. The desk clerk would not put my money in my hand after I asked several times, which is very offensive.

Pros: Service staff are extremely polite and helpful.
Cons:THE HOTEL ROOMS NEED TO BE REMODELD ASAP. The front desk staff needs professional development on etiquette. The hotel sells rooms on priceline and then makes people pay to upgrade.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Shaundrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Shaundrie J,

Thank you kindly for your comments. While we are glad that we were able to move your reservation to a room that better met our standard of luxury than the room you originally checked in to, which sounds like it was not ready for one of our valued guests, we regret that this was not the room you were placed in originally.

The issue you experienced and listed regarding the less-than-stellar service you received is certainly not standard at the Waldorf, and we will look into this once we reach out to you privately for more information. Until then, have a wonderful evening, Shaundrie, and thank you for your patience!

Looking forward to speaking with you further,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#102 of 469 in New York City
2,331 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#80 of 469 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £240 - £1,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing