We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waldorf Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“waldorf Astoria”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Such a beautiful hotel with an awesome history. Rooms were not overly clean and the service was very disappointing including the front desk, waiters at the Peacock, and even the doorman. The beauty is still there but the impeccable service of yesterday is long gone. It was fine overall but not didn't even come close to meeting my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayHawk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear JayHawk_8,

Thank you for giving us some feedback regarding your experience at the Waldorf Astoria. I regret that the service you received from our team members was disappointing- this is not the standard here and we hope for the opportunity to show you what True Waldorf Service really means in the future.

As we move forward to improve our service offerings, I hope for the chance to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria. You can expect the same luxurious accommodations, but, next time, with impeccable service to go along with it as well should you be willing to grant us the opportunity to host you again. We will be in touch shortly to address the inconveniences you experienced further and look forward to your correspondence. In the meantime, have a wonderful day!

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,624
    3,139
    2,071
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,074
3,939
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is extra-ordinary, luxurious, well-priced for the Mid-town/Upper East Side of NYC. The rooms are elegant, with beautiful furniture, spacious rooms, BIG windows and bathrooms, lots of sunlight streaming in through those windows, outstanding service from the bell staff to the registration folks to the cleaning staff. This is the BEST hotel experience I've ever had -- comparable to the Mauna Kea in Kona, Hawaii. I look forward to going back soon and often! I would rate my experience at the Waldorf Astoria as a 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Maureen,

Reading your review makes me so proud of our team and our property! Providing this caliber of luxury for our valued guests is our highest priority, and so we are delighted to learn that you had a pleasurable time here.

We can't wait to have you back when you are next in the area. Be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate to ensure that your next stay is even more magical than the last!

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently stayed at the world famous Waldorf Astoria in the original hotel over looking Park Avenue. The Park Avenue Entrance Lobby has been restored beautifully but clearly they ran out of money to do the rooms. The Adams Family home comes to mind when you walk through the hallways (also similar to the hotel hallways from The Shining).... the room I was given had a terrible odour and the blinds and sheers were grey and brown from years of pollution. The gym is the most depressing place to spend anytime in - terrible. The furniture and en suite were from another era - and not a good era. This is tired hotel getting by on its historic reputation and brand..... not for much longer if they don't wake up and sort these issues out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Chris,

We appreciate your candid account of your recent visit to our classic property. We regret that our guestroom appointment hindered your comfort and have alerted our facilities team so we may keep your comments in mind moving forward. We do our best to provide world class service in line with our value and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future for business or leisure.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was below the standards in regards to smell and age of the room. It was told to me with a specific phone call I made to the hotel before I booked that this room category was newly renovated. The bed was really the only thing renovated. We actually did not even stay the night . We checked in fast and went to our show and when we returned to the room we decided to drive back home rather than stay the night in the room. The window treatments and rug really need to be changed. The musty smell was a concern as well. I mentioned my displeasure during checkout and she told me there was nothing she could do for me. Then I waited 40 minutes for my car in Valet even though we were the only ones waiting for a car. Its not like they were busy. We wanted to stay there because of the Magic show and the Iconic reputation of the hotel. It really could be beautiful if you truly renovated the hotel. O yeah , the vomit smell at the elevator lobby really gave off a bad vibe. So I was only in the room for 10 minutes to determine this review. Not really good !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Jared,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing guestroom conditions of our classic property. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered. Should you return to the city in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall the service and location of the hotel is perfect for NYC. We walked to most places we wanted to see and the staff outside always helped get cabs if we needed it. Rooms are spacious (bigger than most hotel rooms in this area) and very clean and well kept. Very happy with this hotel and will stay there again next year for our girls weekend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Rachel2014123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and True Waldorf Service!

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to New York City in the near future, and please be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate to make sure that your next stay is even more special than the last.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friend and I went to New York for a girls trip at the start of July. This was my third time and I have stayed at the Marriott in Times Square the last two times. We stayed at the Waldorf because it was an iconic hotel that was in the right area. Check in was quick and the front desk clerk was pleasant. We found the concierge staff to be hit and miss. The men seemed to be much more friendly and informative than the two women we encountered over the five days we were there. We enjoyed a drink in the Bull and Bear and planned to go back again, but it was closed too early so we only went the one time. One evening when we returned just after 11 PM a section of the carpet was being replaced in the lobby. We went to the Bull and Bear for a nightcap and although we only wanted a glass of wine and a beer we were told they were closing down and that we should go to the Peacock Room in the lobby. We thought that perhaps due to the loud noise they might have kept this bar open because it was impossible to sit in the lobby that evening. Our beds were very comfortable and we heard very little noise from the street. It was a fair size for the age of the hotel and for New York. The room was fairly clean, but does show its age for sure. Room service dishes were left in the hallways for over 24 hours consistently. We had lunch in the Peacock Room one afternoon and found the food okay, but as my friend said "It is a good salad, but not a $32 salad." If you are staying in the hotel, I would recommend eating elsewhere. The Peacock Room is a nice way to see the hotel if you are not staying there, but not worth the money. I am heading back to New York again this summer, but will try a different hotel and probably would not come back to this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear MKLong,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable beds in your room and slept soundly. While this is true, we would like to apologize for any unfriendly service you experienced while here. We are currently pursuing a strategy that will better allow us to provide the luxury service you deserve at every step of the way from our team members.

We hope that you will reconsider our property and stay with us in the future so that we may show you how far we've come. The same friendliness at the front desk, comfortable beds, and close proximity to popular New York City hotspots will be here waiting for you!

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at The Waldorf Towers several times and each experience has been great. The rooms have been spacious and the staff have been very welcoming. This hotel is always first on my list when traveling to New York. The only faults I have indentified are with the price (room rate and mini bar snacks are very expensive) and work colleagues have mentioned that their experiences have not been so good ( outdated rooms with some facilities not working).

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Alexander,

Thank you for your great review! It is wonderful to learn that you have had an enjoyable experience every time you come to New York City and stay at the Waldorf Astoria.

We hope that you will return and stay with us again next time you are in the area. We welcome you to reach out with any special requests we can accommodate in advance of your arrival next time so that we can be sure that your next visit is nothing short of exceptional!

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#88 of 467 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 467 in New York City
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 467 in New York City
929 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing