We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #339 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I was expecting it to be average at best but boy was I wrong. From the great location, to the extremely clean room to lovely LCD tv and of course the free parking! It was all good. I asked for a higher floor and facing the pool and the staff complied willingly. The room I got was a double double, room 625. I don't know if they're all the same quality though, but the one I got was just like the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: Room 625 was very nice indeed, it was facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
I truly thank you for your kind words regarding your last stay with us. We do look forward to your next stay with us. I would point out that our televisions are brand new and we are the only hotel in all of New York that offers free parking so it is a benefit that none should pass up especially if you know parking rates in the city.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    848
    376
    104
    87
See reviews for
700
316
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Retired couple with son/wife to see Christmas season in NYC-4 days- we had a double double room
1) Reservations & front desk- Ailyn did a great and helpful job in helping us choose the right room for our wants. Last day we had a health set back and staff was VERY helpful working on some details.
2) Some food places we tried - Broadway Bagel , deli next door very convenient and economical and good; two blocks going east Theater Row Diner good at night ; Ovest Pizzoteca (see Yelp reviews) we really enjoyed ; Carnegie Deli, good food - not so good- OVER priced, $12 min. per person no credit cards, I would choose Katz hands down; Laguardia airport- Delta food court hamburger and salad bar reasonable and good.
3) Transportation- M-42 bus right outside door of Hotel, it runs East & West.
To and from Laguardia to Hotel- > M-60 bus to Astoria Boulevard/31 street- ride N or Q subway to Times Square- M-42 to Hotel. Reverse to airport. We left Hotel on Thursday 3:45p and were at airport about 4:50p with rain.
4) Sight seeing- we did Gray Line hop on-off. Son wanted overview of NYC I went into overload with useless extra details. I would agree with other reviews of touring NYC pick out what you want to see and do your own thing , the MTA Trip Planner is great for it.
Personal comment on various reviews- anyone can look for and nitpick almost anything, it boils down to attitude. If you want to have a great time then do it, enjoy the people try to know a little about them, most people want to help out if you don't treat them as a personal slave. Life is too short to always be looking out to something to dog about.
tampatom

Room Tip: Ask reservations for guidance and do your own research beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tampatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel has a great location and everything you need available. We arrived at ten in the morning and they allowed us to park early. It was a great value, we will definitely return again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watertown_NYEmma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

About our 5th stay at T.I. By far our best experience,very clean,updated and spacious and the staff was wonderful.free indoor parking,definately return...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

One more thing I did not like when you shower the water does not go down fast so you are standing in s pool of water which is nasty and the sink water also would go down very slow too

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here for the weekend of dec4 to dec5... It was one of the cheaper hotel in NYC, we got to our hotel the front person was nice. The rooms were small but clean! But it was too hot we turned the heater off but still was hot!!! That's the only thing i didnt like about it. The hotel was close to great restaurant and 8 min walk to time square close to great shopping stores!! Next time I go to NYC again I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed here recently and have nothing but good things to say about it. Saleem was at the front desk when we checked in early and gave us a great room and was very curtious. The room was standard but we only needed it to sleep. For the price and the free parking, which we were able to leave our car there after checkout, it was great. The hotel is a very close to the Lincoln Tunnel, Times Square, MSG, Restaurant Row, etc. There is a market, deli, wine/beer store within a 2 minute walk. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over-looking the pool. Less noice in the fall/winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#340 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing