We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need, some of what you want.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you need, some of what you want.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

In early Dec I took a school group of teenage boys to NYC from Australia. The Travel Inn was a good choice for a home base whilst there for a week. It's inexpensive, in a great location and the rooms are a decent size. There are no frills but the boys thought it was a cool place. The staff at the front desk consistently looked annoyed whenever you fronted there and paying for wireless was a daily pain in the butt. But really all this wasn't enough for me to not recommend this place when wanting a cheap place to stay. I'd be booked it again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genista71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
I thank you for your recent comments. I am glad to hear the boys enjoyed their stay so much with us. I apologize if the staff seemed in any way to be annoyed with you as we pride ourselves in having great personal and customer service skills towards all guests. We surely hope you choose the Travel Inn on your next venture to the city.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    842
    375
    102
    87
See reviews for
696
315
52
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I booked this Hotel the week of Thanksgiving Novemer 21st - 23th. Price was $125 for the Monday and Tuesday and $225 for Wednesday night. This increase was acceptable/understandable since the next morning was the Macy's parade. We, however, were there camping out for the Justin Bieber Concert at the Today Show!

**It is VERY important to note that the price of this hotel INCLUDES parking. Absolutely unheard of in NYC! All the other hotels were $350 a night plus anywhere from $25-$50 extra per night for parking!

I first was concened a little about the location of the hotel (not knowing the city) but upon arrival found it to be perfectly fine. Actually they are directly across the street from the police station. I took off one star because when we first checked in they did send us to a "back section" of the hotel where the room was sort of like a closet. However, as soon as I called the front desk they immediately had us come back down and gave us a front room.

The rooms are nice and clean. Nothing spectacular but perfectly acceptable.

Nicest of all were the front desk staff. We had occasion to speak with them at all hours as we were coming back and forth at different times as my husband and I took turns camping in the cold and rain at Rockefeller Plaza. Every staff member was polite, cheerful and accomodating!

On our day of check out they even let us leave our car in the garage for the afternoon so that we could go on foot and do a little sightseeing. They are only 3 blocks from Times Square so the location couldnt have been better.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a decent hotel at a fair price. Or you can go 3 blocks down the road and pay twice as much or more for the same thing!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "front view room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moms4Bieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I arrived about 4 hours before check in time. I was allowed to park (great perk, parking is included with the room) and come back to check in. Room was very clean. No complaints at all. Location is fantastic. For any driving to New York, this is THE place to stay. Are there more fancy hotels in the city? Yes, but is the price worth it when the majority of the time is spent outside the room? I go to NYC for NYC not the hotel room, so I was EXTREMELY pleased with the price, location, and quality of the hotel. I will most definitely stay here my next visit to NYC. I found the staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face 42nd street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
I thank you for your recent comments and am so happy that your stay was a success. I think your comment regarding our staff is most important to us. We strive to have the utmost in customer service and a friendly staff goes a long way. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
161 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I was expecting it to be average at best but boy was I wrong. From the great location, to the extremely clean room to lovely LCD tv and of course the free parking! It was all good. I asked for a higher floor and facing the pool and the staff complied willingly. The room I got was a double double, room 625. I don't know if they're all the same quality though, but the one I got was just like the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: Room 625 was very nice indeed, it was facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
I truly thank you for your kind words regarding your last stay with us. We do look forward to your next stay with us. I would point out that our televisions are brand new and we are the only hotel in all of New York that offers free parking so it is a benefit that none should pass up especially if you know parking rates in the city.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Retired couple with son/wife to see Christmas season in NYC-4 days- we had a double double room
1) Reservations & front desk- Ailyn did a great and helpful job in helping us choose the right room for our wants. Last day we had a health set back and staff was VERY helpful working on some details.
2) Some food places we tried - Broadway Bagel , deli next door very convenient and economical and good; two blocks going east Theater Row Diner good at night ; Ovest Pizzoteca (see Yelp reviews) we really enjoyed ; Carnegie Deli, good food - not so good- OVER priced, $12 min. per person no credit cards, I would choose Katz hands down; Laguardia airport- Delta food court hamburger and salad bar reasonable and good.
3) Transportation- M-42 bus right outside door of Hotel, it runs East & West.
To and from Laguardia to Hotel- > M-60 bus to Astoria Boulevard/31 street- ride N or Q subway to Times Square- M-42 to Hotel. Reverse to airport. We left Hotel on Thursday 3:45p and were at airport about 4:50p with rain.
4) Sight seeing- we did Gray Line hop on-off. Son wanted overview of NYC I went into overload with useless extra details. I would agree with other reviews of touring NYC pick out what you want to see and do your own thing , the MTA Trip Planner is great for it.
Personal comment on various reviews- anyone can look for and nitpick almost anything, it boils down to attitude. If you want to have a great time then do it, enjoy the people try to know a little about them, most people want to help out if you don't treat them as a personal slave. Life is too short to always be looking out to something to dog about.
tampatom

Room Tip: Ask reservations for guidance and do your own research beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tampatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel has a great location and everything you need available. We arrived at ten in the morning and they allowed us to park early. It was a great value, we will definitely return again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watertown_NYEmma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

About our 5th stay at T.I. By far our best experience,very clean,updated and spacious and the staff was wonderful.free indoor parking,definately return...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#321 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing