We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“near all”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Good value good location good parking older but renovated, go to hotel web site they also have other,s if this is not available, book in advance, do not eat at hotel go to 9th ave lots of choice, walking distance to time square

Room Tip: choose faceing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    848
    376
    104
    87
See reviews for
700
316
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

If you're driving into the city from the Lincoln Tunnel, this place is ideal. Within walking distance to the Theater District and tons of great restaurants. The prices have gone up over the years but it's still fair considering parking is included and you can pull in and out at your leisure. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom is small and older but we had a fridge which was handy. There was no thermostat control in the room, only for the blower which I guess blows hot or cold depending on the weather. If you do have to open the window, it's a little noisy as there's a club and a police station right across the street. There's also a convenient little coffee shop right next door. Overall, not the best but far from the worst. If you can get it for a decent price, it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr1st1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Hotel is centrally located and well positioned for all the usual tourist traps - The room was clean but antiquated. Bathroom is very small and WiFi did not work for 1 of the 3 nights I stayed. It's probably worth mentioning to the management that the bandwidth sucks - I was unable to make any skype calls during the stay. The heating was poor and the maid did not refresh the shampoo / shower gel meaning I had to wash my hair in a bar of soap on the last day.

Will not be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

While nothing fancy, I decided to give this place a try based on the price so I wouldn't have to drive close to 3 hours after a concert. Was a little leery after reading some reviews, but I must say, I am glad I stayed here. The location was fine, the room was clean. The heating system could use some updating, it was tough to adjust it for an overnight sleep and had to get up to turn it off after a couple of hours. The TV remote didn't work, but since I was just there to sleep I didn't bother reporting it to the front desk. All in all a positive experience for the price, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNJ08203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on Saturday night. The location is great, just off Time Square and the included parking is a nice benefit. Our room had two queen beds and was quite comfortable. Not a five start hotel but certainly not a dump. When in New York the room is the last place and was comfortable at the end of a long day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJLease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a college trip to New York. It was very clean and spacious (this is taking into consideration that there was 4 teenage girls sharing a double double room). The Diner downstairs was amazing, i loved it, really nice food and very cheap. The staff are very nice and extremely helpful.

My only issue with this hotel was the fact that we had a very drippy tap and had to keep a towel under it to stop the noise. Other than that it was a very nice hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We loved our room with two double beds, very spacious and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbiSixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay. On your next stay, please always let us know about plumbing issues or problems as we can fix this pretty quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, QC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

There are many worse hotels in New York, and of course many far better ones, but Travel Inn is an acceptable choice if you find a very good rate online and want to save your travel budget for entertainment. This is a drab and dispiriting hotel, in need of renovation, but overall clean and minimally comfortable.
Room: not overly small for NY; bed is old style hard with poorish linens. Furnishings are average, but new flat TV has sufficient channels. The worst element is the total lack of control over heat/cooling (minimum fan control) and I was glad to be able to open the window.
Bathroom: very small but new enough; hot water always available; lighting good.
Location: Not bad on 42nd/10th Ave., easy walk to several theaters, good subway access within two blocks, several breakfast choices in easy range.
Summary: This is a bargain-hunter's hotel, and acceptable at a low price. I will add that I was travelling alone and felt safe and secure in the hotel and vicinity.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for an interior room facing in on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#334 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing