We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #335 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Kankaanpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel was very conveniently located a short distance from Times Square. We were at the hotel during Christmas 2012. The hotel room was clean and adequate for our use. The hotel room was for us important issues, refrigerator and microwave. Heating device not found the kind of control that the temperature would have been appropriate. There was always either hot or cold. Otherwise, the hotel was very good. Across the street was a shop and a small walk from a variety of places to eat. I can recommend this hotel for a trip to New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    842
    376
    102
    87
See reviews for
696
315
52
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location is a long walk to Time Square but doable if you are a walker. The price was good compared to other hotels in the area. I learned that if you want a reasonable quiet room you must stay on the inside by the pool. We had such a room and it was OK even though you can practically carry on a conversation with the room next to you. The 2nd night of our stay the heater started smoking. They said we will need to pack up and move to another room - we had no help with this and the room we were put in was across from a police station and was ridiculously noisy. They were not willing to discount our stay. What happened to all the great staff we have heard about in other reviews?

Room Tip: inside by overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guccigrandma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Travel Inn. Like all of our previous visits, we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is staffed by very friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is spotless. Where can you find a hotel in New York City with a fridge, microwave and free parking?. Oh yes, only two blocks to Times Square. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012musicman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,312 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,562 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and if you plan your stay at the right time, it can be a real bargain. Their prices are listed on a calendar and if you are flexible with your dates, you can get a very good rate. Our rate originally was $175 per night, but when I checked the rate a week before our arrival, it had dropped to $140 per night. This rate includes parking, which is unheard of in New York City. Internet costs an additional $6 per day - which is not a great deal.

We have never had a propblem with noise before, but this time we were on the "wings" of the main building, on the top floor and we had very inconsiderate neighbors. The floors in the main building are carpeted. In the "wing" they are tile floors. The two nights we stayed at the hotel, our neighbors came back to their room at about midnight and stomped up and down the tile floor with what sounded like tap dance shoes - forever. Then they had loud laughing, screaming conversations until 3 a.m. It was impossible to sleep either night after they returned to their room. The walls on the "wing" seem to be much thinner than the walls in the main part of the hotel. We were not in the detached annex.

We will stay here again but I will be sure to specify that we do not want to stay in this "wing" or in the annex. It is a terrific location and the rooms, though outdated, are clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The location is awesome right in the center of it all and easy access to subways. The staff are just as awesome! And there's free parking! Great deal all around. I always recommend this place to friends and I've stayed here on several occasions!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank missmonkeypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Great location. Don't get a room by the street, noisy. Thin walls could here people next door. Free parking, hard to find in NY. Bathroom was small. Small fitness center. The needs were more comfortable than I thought, but they were double beds. Wish there was free Wi-Fi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Muri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to taking a cruise. The rooms were very clean, especially the bathrooms. The desk staff were polite and efficient. The deli right next door had excellent food and we felt very safe with the police station right across the street. We had no trouble flagging a cab the next morning to get us to the cruise terminal which was very close.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quiet. We heard no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGranny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing