We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #338 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Great value for NYC”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are fine and the parking is free. Not bad for NYC. It's unusual to not have a coffee maker in the room but I lived! The mattress was firmer than I like. It's around the corner from Yotel where I have stayed before so if you want to spend a little more for some pizzazz that would be my pick!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose10172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    855
    378
    105
    89
See reviews for
708
320
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Close to Times Square, clean but not fancy. They have free on site parking. Close to subway system for easy getting around, There is a pool for summer use and a work out area. again nothing fancy but if you are out and about most of the day like we are this perfect. Staff is great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel has always been my favorite in New York for business and pleasure for many reasons. This stay my room was in the North building which I found undesirable for several reasons. First being that it was warm outside so I didn't need heat in the room. (Normally, I am always cold). But even after shutting off the heat, I needed to open the window, which began the problem of noise. the subway train runs outside my window. is extremely noisy, the street so busy and loud, you hear trash trucks and sirens,
which makes it extremely noisy. maybe this would not bother me as much if the window was closed. I never experienced a room when the north side, so I never had this problem.
Now what I love about this hotel, parking is free, the rooms are clean and neat, the bathrooms are very nice, basically the only drawer space is 2 night stands, and 2 tiny drawers one in the TV stand and the other in the desk with mirror. You do have a small closet, chair, and small table and floor lamp next to the chair. The closet has a full size mirrored doors.
The bathrooms are nice, even though they are a small, they are visually attractive.
The hotel location is perfect you can walk to the theater district, and Times Square and walk to the Jacob Javitz Center. The room has a 32 inch flat screen TV.
I would not stay on the North side again, I would request the room on the South side.
There is no coffee maker or refrigerator in the room, there is a small coffee shop located right next door to the hotel, which I believe closes early. The staff is very accommodating.
The hotel has internet access in the lobby for a fee.
I will submit more photos by Sunday March 30th

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila_Friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedsport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel has a great location, especially if you are driving into the city. If you take the Lincoln Tunnel it is just two blocks off the tunnel so you do not have to do much city driving. It has free parking which is an amazing plus! From the hotel you can jump on the subway to get anywhere you want. It is close to the Hudson River where the intrepid is docked and where many cruise ship depart. The Circle Line also departs from the harbor just blocks from the hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms by the outdoor pool if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 982cyndyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Lynn PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stay in the city 2-3 times a year and drive each time. We take our 2 young children every time. The free parking basically equates to a free nights stay. The staff is fine, honestly how often do you deal with them? You check in, you check out. The hotel is always clean and so are the rooms. The hotel is located across from a police station so safety isn't a concern. There is a cafe basically attached to the garage which is super convenient with young ones. The location is great. Your far enough away from the bustle but close enough to get there quickly. You are 3 blocks from Times Square and the theaters. This hotel for the money is perfect for us. We don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigWills79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed a night here on a spur of the moment trip. This was my second time staying there, first time was about 10-11 years ago. The front desk help is a little cold, but the parking attendants are all friendly and helpful, as well are the housekeeping staff. Because I stayed here before, i requested a "quiet side" room, and the room was great. It's no frills, but comfortable. It's not only convenient to Times Square and to the subway, but it's really close to the waterfront. I really can't imagine staying elsewhere else. We paid $19.50 for breakfast for 2 right next door. Parking on site, no surprise fees.

Room Tip: Ask not to be "street front".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family and I stay at the Travel Inn every time we visit NYC. The location is excellent and the Travel Inn offers free parking, which is almost impossible to fine in NYC! The rooms are clean and the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#335 of 467 in New York City
725 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
2,494 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#186 of 467 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#370 of 467 in New York City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing