We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Besides the mouse in my room this place was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #339 of 466 Hotels in New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Besides the mouse in my room this place was fine”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Yes, there was a mouse in my room. But I am still here for one more night. I chalk the mouse up to the fact that we are in NY and well, they outnumber people in the city. Didn't seem like this was a regular occurrence for the staff which reassured me a bit. The place is clean and staff has handled the situation well enough (helped me collect my stuff and moved me to another room on another floor). Unfortunately my new room is not renovated like my first one was, but as long as it is mouse free, I still like it better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lkmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    855
    378
    105
    89
See reviews for
708
320
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very happy with our stay here. You could walk to anywhere in Times Square and the value seems to be unmatched. Room was nothing fancy, but was clean and comfortable. The free parking was a HUGE plus as well. Would easily stay here again. With what we saved we were able to check out a second show, so thanks Travel Inn.
Doorman was very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My daughter and I decided to stay here after finding on Orbitz and the price was good ($199/night) and the reviews were ok.

The GOOD: price, location, cleanliness, free parking

The "NOT SO GOOD": Somewhat noisy, no free Wi-Fi, no coffee maker in room nor in lobby (have to go next door for coffee/food), some staff aren't very friendly (doormen were nice), lighting in bathroom was dim.

There WAS one weird thing that happened....since my daughter and I were traveling alone we had knock at door in late afternoon by man asking to come in to fix something in our bathroom. I could see him from peep hole and he MAY have been hotel employee but I did not know. I did NOT let him in and phoned the main desk. The manager was not aware of anything but said it was probably someone from the hotel and asked if I had complained about a problem, I said I had not. Just weird. I think he should have known if his employee was knocking on our door or if there was a problem that needed fixing. This incident made us uncomfortable.

Otherwise, our stay was comfortable and the price was right and the free parking a real perk. We will probably consider staying there again when in NY.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My party of 4 adults shared a double queen for a whirlwind weekend in NYC. While not roomy, it was adequate. REALLY NEEDS more electrical outlets. Most of the available ones are in use by appliances and light fixtures of the hotel. GREAT LOCATION, in reasonable walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Theatre District, Madison Ave., transit stations. Grand Central station walkable if you only have carry-on luggage on wheels or light backpack. Advertises air conditioning, but we couldn't cool the room to comfortable temp in APRIL...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoxieMamaDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I know it's a budget friendly hotel but it is still a little expensive for what it is . On the positive side, the room was large ,good storage space and had a fridge .However decor is dated and the room was cold. No coffee machine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms family of 4 adults and teenage son for five nights from April 8th . Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated . Very comfortable beds and bathroom facilities good . Located 10 minute walk from Times Square it was close enough but far enough away from any noise so no disturbed sleep . Good reception facilities and helpful friendly staff . Maid service daily . The hotel always smelt clean and fresh . Room service provided by a Diner across the road where we ended up having breakfast daily as great service and prices. Would definitely recommend.Swimming pool not open until May but this would be a welcome facility after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cariow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Started off with them giving away our room that we had booked 6 months ago because "they had a large group". The front desk clerk asked if it was 2 ladies staying in the room (it was) and then decided that it would be fine for us to have to share a sing king sized room. I wondered if we were 2 men, would he had done the same? He insisted the king single was very nice. It wasn't. The room was tiny, the bathroom even smaller, and it was at least 85 degrees in the room with no window to open. The next night we got moved into a room that had 2 double beds like we booked. It was just ok and at least there was a window to open. The beds were a little creaky, the decor a little 70's, bathroom also very small. Smells like an old building. The heat and air is controlled by the staff so they decide if you sweat or freeze...there is no in between. The hot water was scalding hot and the shower knob would get so hot, the metal would burn you when you tried to turn it off unless you run out of hot water 5 minutes after taking a shower which happened multiple times. No coffeemaker....I repeat NO COFFEE MAKER! Front desk was always rude. Didn't inform us that we were being charged for internet until our 4th and final night. Only positive was that the maids were good and friendly in the halls. The price was hard to pass up....but you should pass it up.

Room Tip: All the rooms are noisy, you can hear through the walls. No control over the temp in the room, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#267 of 466 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#336 of 466 in New York City
725 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#351 of 466 in New York City
4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#189 of 466 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 466 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#374 of 466 in New York City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing