We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay here, will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #339 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for one night so I wouldn't have to drive home after a late night show. Everything was fine. The front desk staff and housekeeping people I came into contact with were all exceptional, friendly and helpful. Of course the location couldn't be beat. Close proximity to buses, subways, and 2 blocks from the heart of Times Square. Room was clean, bathroom was fine. And I didn't have to spend $300+.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNJ08203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I can't say that this hotel was bad but it definitely isn't anything more than average.
The rooms are seriously outdated, but that didn't really matter too much because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

CONS
-Room is lacking an in room safe
-beds only have two pillows each, instead of the standard four, so if your sharing a bed you only have one pillow.
-the blankets on the beds are not comfortable and are very tacky
-parking costs 20$ a day (NOT FREE), and you will pay an extra 10$ if you arrive early.
-some rooms open directly to outside.
-the gym was abysmal, there was one bench and it was broken. Had to be the worse gym I've ever seen in a hotel.
-didn't offer any type of free wifi in the lobby like most hotels do.

PROS
- the water pressure was one of the best
- the location was good
- staff was alright
-price was the best, but it was still very expensive for the type of hotel it was, even considering the fact that its NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodyw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is located perfectly at 42nd street, in Hells Citchen, just a 5 minutes walk to Times Square and Peer 83, where the Circle Line Cruises start. There are lots of nice restaurant in Hells Citchen (on 9th Av.) and all the theatres of Theatre district in walking distance.
The rooms are rather old but clean.
But I have to say that the employees of the hotel seem to be not at all interested in your convenience or well-being. I missed sone kindness there. (At least we payed quite a bit for that stay.)

Thank Bergstr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days in a two double-bed room. It was more than we expected. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great ( only 10 minutes to Time Square) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that there is no free internet ( you have to pay $6 per day) and the street is a little bit noisy with the traffic outside. Other than that, everything is pleasant and enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnRKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I Stayed here for Easter 2014 & unfortunetly only stayed 1 night as i had already booked into somewhere closer to Time Square, was a lovely hotel in a quiet area and not far from Time Square at all, maybe 10 minutes walk, lovely wee cafe right downstairs. Both men at Reception were extremely pleasant, we got a newly renovated room, 2 double beds which were really comfortable. Great shower, bathroom very modern. We also had a fridge & a microwave which our next hotel didn't have either & it was double the cost to stay there..

If you are going to New York, don't mind a 10 Minute walk to time square then i would definetly recommend staying here & i would again. Wifi was only $6 and i found it was fast enough for what i needed it for. Was extremely clean & we were on the 3rd Floor facing the main road.

Will i stay here again, yes i most certainly will..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Travel Inn from 4/30 to 5/3. The check-in was quick with no problems. The staff was friendly. Upon entering my room, I found the temperature was 79 degrees. I turned on the air conditioning to cool the room, but found it just got hotter and hotter. I quickly tracked down a manager who informed me that the air hasn't been turned on yet, but they would send up a fan. Luckily, I found the windows do open which definitely helped cool the room since it was cool outside.

The bathrooms have recently been renovated. It's small with very little shelf space, but very clean. The hot water is plentiful. The beds are comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room, but there is no coffee pot.

The hotel is only two blocks from a subway stop and right across the street from the police station. I'd definitely stay here again (and hope the air was working at that time).

Room Tip: Make sure the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at the Travel Inn recently on a girls weekend in city. The location was perfect, an easy walk to Times Square and all the theatres and restaurants. Also an easy and fairly inexpensive taxi ride to other attractions such as battery park, central park and the 9/11 memorial. The room was nothing fancy but was clean and the staff provided the extras we needed to be comfortable. Negatives included a $6 charge per day for wifi access and charges to use the computer in the lobby. Also, they advertise a concierge service but nobody seemed available to help us. The deli next door was good and provided convenient and inexpensive choices for breakfast and dinner. Overall, a good place to stay in the city and we plan to definitely stay here next time we visit NYC.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back facing the pool for quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#390 of 470 in New York City
697 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 470 in New York City
2,579 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#265 of 470 in New York City
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £85 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing