We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Cheap (for NYC) Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Cheap (for NYC) Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good reasonably priced (for NYC) hotel. They have changed their parking, it's now $20/night. Since we booked our stay before they made the change, we weren't charged for parking.

Staff were nice and friendly. We had to change rooms because our air conditioning didn't work and it was no problem at all.

Great location, right next to the Lincoln Tunnel so easy to get in and out of the city. Walk to Times Square and theaters. Room Service from the Theatre Row Diner, huge menu and prices aren't too high. Broadway Deli right next door has good cheap food for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkrobot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    846
    376
    104
    87
See reviews for
700
315
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for one night so I wouldn't have to drive home after a late night show. Everything was fine. The front desk staff and housekeeping people I came into contact with were all exceptional, friendly and helpful. Of course the location couldn't be beat. Close proximity to buses, subways, and 2 blocks from the heart of Times Square. Room was clean, bathroom was fine. And I didn't have to spend $300+.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNJ08203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I can't say that this hotel was bad but it definitely isn't anything more than average.
The rooms are seriously outdated, but that didn't really matter too much because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

CONS
-Room is lacking an in room safe
-beds only have two pillows each, instead of the standard four, so if your sharing a bed you only have one pillow.
-the blankets on the beds are not comfortable and are very tacky
-parking costs 20$ a day (NOT FREE), and you will pay an extra 10$ if you arrive early.
-some rooms open directly to outside.
-the gym was abysmal, there was one bench and it was broken. Had to be the worse gym I've ever seen in a hotel.
-didn't offer any type of free wifi in the lobby like most hotels do.

PROS
- the water pressure was one of the best
- the location was good
- staff was alright
-price was the best, but it was still very expensive for the type of hotel it was, even considering the fact that its NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodyw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensheim, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is located perfectly at 42nd street, in Hells Citchen, just a 5 minutes walk to Times Square and Peer 83, where the Circle Line Cruises start. There are lots of nice restaurant in Hells Citchen (on 9th Av.) and all the theatres of Theatre district in walking distance.
The rooms are rather old but clean.
But I have to say that the employees of the hotel seem to be not at all interested in your convenience or well-being. I missed sone kindness there. (At least we payed quite a bit for that stay.)

Helpful?
Thank Bergstr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days in a two double-bed room. It was more than we expected. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great ( only 10 minutes to Time Square) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that there is no free internet ( you have to pay $6 per day) and the street is a little bit noisy with the traffic outside. Other than that, everything is pleasant and enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnRKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I Stayed here for Easter 2014 & unfortunetly only stayed 1 night as i had already booked into somewhere closer to Time Square, was a lovely hotel in a quiet area and not far from Time Square at all, maybe 10 minutes walk, lovely wee cafe right downstairs. Both men at Reception were extremely pleasant, we got a newly renovated room, 2 double beds which were really comfortable. Great shower, bathroom very modern. We also had a fridge & a microwave which our next hotel didn't have either & it was double the cost to stay there..

If you are going to New York, don't mind a 10 Minute walk to time square then i would definetly recommend staying here & i would again. Wifi was only $6 and i found it was fast enough for what i needed it for. Was extremely clean & we were on the 3rd Floor facing the main road.

Will i stay here again, yes i most certainly will..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Travel Inn from 4/30 to 5/3. The check-in was quick with no problems. The staff was friendly. Upon entering my room, I found the temperature was 79 degrees. I turned on the air conditioning to cool the room, but found it just got hotter and hotter. I quickly tracked down a manager who informed me that the air hasn't been turned on yet, but they would send up a fan. Luckily, I found the windows do open which definitely helped cool the room since it was cool outside.

The bathrooms have recently been renovated. It's small with very little shelf space, but very clean. The hot water is plentiful. The beds are comfortable. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room, but there is no coffee pot.

The hotel is only two blocks from a subway stop and right across the street from the police station. I'd definitely stay here again (and hope the air was working at that time).

Room Tip: Make sure the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#337 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing