We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place made our stay perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #335 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This place made our stay perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is walking distance to just about anything you want to do or see. The area is great, at no point did I feel uneasy or unsafe. The room was decent size for New York. We slept 2 adults 2 teens comfortably. Parking on site for a cost, but it's cheaper then the lots in the city. They also shut the garage door at night, so I felt my car was safe parked there. The hotel itself and our room were both clean. The staff were all friendly. They do have a pool, but we didn't visit it. It sits right over the tracks but was too tired to notice if it ran through the night. We plan on visiting the City again an we WILL stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenspen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    842
    376
    102
    87
See reviews for
696
315
52
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well,

Stay here in 2008 with my mum dad and sister.
We stayed in February 2008 for 5 days.
Upon arrival, we were greeting by friendly reception staff they helped us with our luggage and to our room.

The hotel is situated around 5/10 minutes walk from times square a very good location.

The rooms at the time of year were very cold and may have contributed to my sister and i's illness. We put on the radiators did not seem to work all. The rooms were a little out dated and you could hear the trains as they went past but did not impact on sleep.

The bathroom was neat, clean.

If you want a basic room for a reasonable price near to attractions then i would recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoM683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

2nd time we have stayed ... And will certainly come again. Rooms and pool are clean and updated, great rates and location...try to find all these amenities within 5 blocks of Times Square ( good luck ). The people are better than great, very helpful and accommodating in every way!! My only wish is for a big jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinmaysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Travel Inn. We found it very comfortable and clean. The staff was courteous. Though its walking distance to Times Square, it is quiet, with delis, markets, and CVS near. The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. There is a swimming pool. I liked that it has fewer rooms than some of the larger hotels, but I prefer that for a more personalized feel. The only drawback is that to walk in the direction of Grand Central, or towards Midtown you have to go through Times Square, and it can get a little crowded. On the plus side, it's closer to Central Park (which is a nice walk). I recommend the Travel Inn, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is totally worn out. It's ugly, the rooms, beds, restrooms - everything is small. There's a lot of noise from inside and outside of the hotel, especially from Amtrak below, and the carpets are probably older than Pres. Carter.

BUT this hotel is located fantastic. Five minutes walk from both Times Square and Hudson River. It can hardly be any better.

AND there's a pool. Kids love pools and where else do you find a hotel pool in central Manhattan? Waldorf Astoria maybe.

AND the price is fair, the rooms are clean & the deli down below ain't that bad. Internet is fast and cheap?! That is really unique in the US.

I can highly recommend this hotel for families visiting NY without the wish to go bankrupt on this city's extremely expensive hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Located 3 blocks from Times Square, You can't beat this hotel. Good rates, great location, and the staff is the best. Very polite, helpful, and you will NEVER have a bad experience here. They have a pool, weight room. I've been there 5 times, and nothing but praises to the hotel, and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of my wife's friend. It was a good , clean room, king sized shower and king size bed. The fact that is was on 42th street was a bonus. Walking distance to Times Square and the theatres. The only con was that they now charge for parking, but the parking was good because we drove in and never moved the car until we left. An guy at the front desk helped us get out of the city with ease. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing