We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but no heating ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #343 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel has a good value - it is cheap (considering NYC prices), well located (walking distance to Times Square, metro station and Bus Authority Terminal), has free parking. Service from front desk is good, not so much in the check-in, but was ok.

The rooms are not big, but normally you don't plan to go to New York to stay at your hotel room ! But they are clean and no bugs were found. Wireless internet is available, but you have to pay it. Some of the rooms (including ours) in the 3rd floor and above must be accessed using 2 elevators - one from front desk to 3rd floor, then you walk across the pool and get the another one to other floors.

One thing disappointed us during the stay - the room was pretty cold during the evening and no heating system in the room. There was such a air conditioning system, but only for cooling. By asking the front desk, we got the answer - no heating ! I can imagine the rooms during winter. Maybe the exchange the air conditioning fluid into heating oil, maybe.

But in overall is a very good choice for NYC, you really get a good hotel, well located, clean, not luxurious, but cheap and FREE parking (saves you about $60 per day).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdolfoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our first trip to New York and found the location wonderful! Close to Times Square and the subway is only a 5 minute walk as well. You can get to most, if not all, major tourist attractions in Manhattan from the 42nd street subway station on the 1,2, or 3 train with no transferring. The express trains all stop at the station so no matter where you go, getting back to the hotel at night was always very easy! The area was very safe, with lots going on and a police station right across the road. The closeness to the Lincoln Tunnel was an unexpected blessing...very easy to find with minimal crazy NYC driving. We had a double double room and found it large enough for us and probably a family. Everything was very clean, no bugs! The parking garage was not tight on parking at all either, we drive a minivan and had no trouble fitting into a space. We had a good sleep and our room was very quiet. The only negatives are the elevators, they do have a heavy perfume odour and we found them to be painfully slow at times. We had no need for the staff really but they were pleasent when we spoke to them. I will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyface99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Really close to Time Square and many attractions, cheaper than other hotel nearby, room is not small if choose the double double room, nice pool, best of all, free parking.

Grocery store and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank washington_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This hotel is nothing special in terms of style, comfort or luxery. It was however a great value. FREE parking was what pushed me to take a chance on this hotel. It also offered a clean place to sleep, close location to subway station and Times Sq.
Some problems are the heating system. We were there in April when the heat was blaring! Our room had no way to control the temprature. We slept with the window open. I would suggest you ask for a room facing the pool where you could open the window and still avoid the street noise since the police station is across the street.
We would defintily stay again based upon the value though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at The Travel Inn this week. The rooms were clean and there were no bed bugs! The location is convenient - within walking distance to theaters, restaurants and Time Square. It is also easy to drive to and the parking is a plus. I have stayed here several times and it is great for a weekend or overnight visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is actually a good hotel , the room that we stayed in was simple yet comfortable. its location was perfect for us. we were very close to so many ammenities. i would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami-serah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had a great stay at the Travel Inn. The rooms are simple, but the location is fantastic. Within easy walking distance to everything. Times Square only 5 minutes away. Room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Staff were helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#392 of 471 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#271 of 471 in New York City
1,028 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 471 in New York City
4,493 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 471 in New York City
2,603 reviews
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £81 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing