We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place of comfort and quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A place of comfort and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Always stay at the Towers as the hotel is so well located and provides quality service and comfort. I stayed in room 39A which faced away from the traffic noise and this made for four nights of good uninterrupted sleep.
Breakfast at Peacock Alley was first class with excellent food and service. What I liked was that every member of the staff was attentive, not just the assigned server.
All the staff in the Towers are well-trained and look after their guests so well--long may that standard continue. The Front Desk crew were especially helpful and efficient. Will certainly choose the Towers for my hotel on the next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    288
    126
    77
    33
See reviews for
689
720
72
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Cannot think of anywhere better to stay in New York. Comfortable room, excellent service from well-trained staff and prime location. Always stay here and will continue to do so. I stayed in Room 39A which faced away from the noise of New York's traffic thus making for a good night's sleep. Breakfast in Peacock Alley was first class with prompt and efficient service. What I liked was that everyone on duty was helpful, not just the assigned server. The Waldorf staff are trained to be polite and attentive to the guest's needs and this was true with everyone I came across. Long may this standard continue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is everything right about NYC. The staff and service here are top notch, and very personal. As a guest of The Towers, you are given access to private entrances, and elevators, which may sound a bit stuck up, but is actually quite nice once you see the mad house the main lobby can be become.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBpsu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontvieille, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed with my two children last week and we all agreed the hotel was fantastic. The lobby is big and very old style American; we were checked in straight away with no wait whatsoever. I had read some previous reviews and was a little worried about what to expect however I couldn't speak more highly of the hotel.
We eat a light supper a couple of times at Peacock Alley, a great place to people watch. We stayed in the Towers section of the Hotel. The bedroom was a good size and although the bathroom was small compared to modern hotels everything was clean and worked well. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
All of the staff we met were efficient and friendly. A great stay in New York partly made by staying in such a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

great location. rooms are at times a bit dated. you know what to expect and by and large get what you expected. Only problems were with weather. Public sopaces are great. some rooms need a freshening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed four nights with my family - wife and two kids. We had a wonderful time. Excellent location, lovely old style hotel. Great staff. But please avoid the in room dining. The quality of the food is poor and the prices will make you faint!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiscardo, Greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I was caught in a snowstorm and the Benjamin Hotel where I was staying tried to double my rate when I needed to extend a night. Walked across the street to the Waldorf was greeted warmly and given a room at a fair rate. No gouging. Bartender was funny and made a bad night a delight. Dan at front desk was charming and helpful. Doorman bravely went out in blinding snow to get me a cab. Great if not very short stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank esemmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 100 E 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria New York is currently closed while undergoing an exciting renovation. Please visit Conrad New York or additional Hilton hotels for availability. --- Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing