We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Historic Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I remember having tea with my Grandmother at the Waldorf many years ago and loved it so.....We decided to visit New York, my home town, for 5 days and reserved a room in the Towers at the Waldorf. The Towers has its own Lobby and feels as if it is not part of the Waldorf. It has a much more serene feeling, less noisy and very pleasant. We had reserved a one bedroom suite which was very lovely however had a disctinct odor of smoke. After the first night I went to the front desk and inquired as to why the room had such a smell and was told that it is a smoking hotel!! I was in total shock as we travel quite frequently and have not encountered this in a number of years. She made it clear that the rooms are permitted smoking but not the public areas.....thank goodness. She was very nice and asked me to meet her on the 34th floor to look at another room. It happened to be a Presidential Suite and was absolutely beautiful. It was totally smoke free so we naturally accepted the suite. It contained a living room area, large bedroom and ensuite bath, elegant dining room and butlers pantry and an extremely large entryway. The view was wonderful and the suite had so many windows so it made it easy to enjoy looking out on to Park Ave. Everyone was very nice and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable. However, if and when we do return I now will know to request a nonsmoking room. The hotel is a rare treasure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    288
    126
    77
    33
See reviews for
689
720
72
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed at the Waldorf=Astoria many times. The older it gets, the more dated it gets. On a recent trip, I had the opportunity to stay in the towers. I was hopeful and optimistic, this would be a diamond in the rough. It was not. It was a more more expensive version of the same thing.

My room was dated, really dated, and the amenities were lacking. I did enjoy the twice daily housekeeping service, but it didn't make up for the concierge lounge that was overcrowded and had a very basic offering.

Also, to my surprise, there were no unique public spaces, so for meals I was relegated to the very small (for the size of the hotel) lobby lounge, or the bull and bear, with its limited hours. On my most recent trip I even learned the starbucks in the lobby was gone.

The Waldorf remains iconic. If you are looking for the grande dame of hoteling this is your place. If you are looking for a hotel that was recently upgraded, or catered to modern tastes, I'd look elsewhere.

And don't get my started with the complicated check-in procedure...three different people to handle my luggage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pasag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous place, not sure I could bring myself to stay anywhere else if I'm ever in NY city again! The rooms are great and the staff really know how to make you feel special. They are also very knowledgeable and always eager to help. The location is perfect and it's easy to get anywhere fairly quickly. The spa is also well worth a visit and the room service the best I've ever had, if a little pricey. The bar is friendly even if your on your own and you must try the red velvet cake during your stay.

Would definitely recommend to a friend and would definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fabulous service that you would expect from the Waldorf Astoria. Upgraded to two bedroom suite for a nominal fee which made for a luxurious stay. Solid Brass fixtures and silver-plate mirrors and marble floors in the bathroom add to luxury feel of the suite. Old World elegance at its finest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank ARegan427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Arrived from JFK at about 10 pm. and the room did not have the extra bed as requested. Our luggage then took two hours to be delivered to the room. The next day we were upgraded to a magnificent two bedroom suite as a way of apology. From this point on the service was first class and all staff could not do enough to help. Breakfast in the towers lounge more than adequate and it is great to be able to help yourself to complimentary drinks and pastries during the day. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I had a lovely time at the towers....... The hotel is full of history, the concierge and reception staff are extremely helpful and courteous........ We had a suite which was elegant and well apportioned. In retrospect I just wished I had requested a room with a view of the Chrysler building...... Next time maybe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just got home from New York and stayed at the Waldorf Astoria. It was an incredible hotel. Staff and facilities were both AMAZING. Hotel was spotless and clean. Staff was friendly. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 100 E 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria New York is currently closed while undergoing an exciting renovation. Please visit Conrad New York or additional Hilton hotels for availability. --- Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing