We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Quite Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our stay in the towers was a birthday treat for me. Check-in took a while because some of the guests had problems with their reservations and there wasn't a manager to take them aside (Sunday). Our suite was lovely, the bedding perfection, nice little kitchenette/bar and an amazing bathroom. We had cocktails in our room but had to wait 45 minutes for ice....In the morning we were unable to take advantage of the free breakfast because the line was out the door and there were no available tables. Having stayed in the Waldorf before, I must say the towers are a more special place but the service was not good and something needs to be done about the hospitality suite and slow room service.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Kimberly,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your special birthday trip to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, though I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced with a long wait time for room service and for admission to our Astoria Lounge. We take feedback from our guests very seriously, and we will look into these areas of our hotel as an opportunity to improve our offerings.

I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    288
    126
    77
    33
See reviews for
689
720
72
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Ok so I know a lot of people would be negative on the appearance of this place. It's not remodeled, not high tech. But that's exactly what makes this place so un forgetful. The charm, the elegance, this place takes you back in time. The interior decor is amazing. You don't see anymore. The best most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The shower had such great water pressure as if you were taking a warm shower in Niagara falls. Staff very helpful and nice. I stayed on concierge floor. The complimentary continental breakfast was very nice. I fell in love with the charm and character this hotel has. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissbesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Kissbesos,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your gracious remarks and recommendation of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. Our team is thrilled to learn that you were impressed with our service and your room appointment, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to our iconic property in the near future.

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

we had a lovely stay, great service and very clean and tidy room with good views over New York
staff very willing to help at all times. the food was very good and afternoon tea (free) was very good idea

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireworkjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear fireworkjon,

It is wonderful to read your review as to what all guests can expect from the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria- exceptional service and room appointments that meet the highest standard of luxury. We are delighted that we provided the perfect setting for you and your family to create unforgettable moments.

We hope you will consider our property your hotel of choice in the future!

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Have not felt this pampered in a long time. I love the old school charm of this hotel. I felt like royalty for a day. The restaurant Seafire grill was recommended by concierge and was a perfect suggestion for seafood. One of teh best restaurants I have been to in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Nicole,

The title of your review- "Perfection and luxury"- says it all. This is what each and every guest can expect from the Towers of the Waldorf Astoira, and I am so happy to read that this was the impression we made in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area. You can expect more of the same luxury treatment, as well as anticipated offerings that perhaps you didn't know you wanted or needed but that you will enjoy all the same.

Thank you kindly,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

if you want to feel like royalty go have a drink at the Waldorf bar make sure Cameron Green is at the bar that night he makes the whole experience amazing. The ambiance is incredible the food is outstanding and the drinks are like sweet water!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Wendy,

What an excellent review! We are so glad that you felt like a queen during your recent trip to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with travelers from all over the world on TripAdvisor; we are sure that future guests of our iconic hotel will find your gracious remarks to be helpful as they plan their visit to New York City.

Yours in service,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

From the time we arrived until we left the staff bent over backwards to accommodate every wish. The dinner we had at the Peacock Bar was excellent and the drinks were not watered down. I will be sending my clients to the Tower Suites because of the high value of the suites. Bruce Oliver

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Bruce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Bruce,

It is so wonderful to read your great review citing our commitment to exceptional service! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your visit to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future, and we will surely extend the same luxury service and room appointments to your clients. Please let us know if you or they have any special requests we can accommodate.

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for one week, in a suite. Perfect location. Beautiful hotel, old and charming. Decorated with lots of mirrors and photographs of the celebrities that stayed at the Waldorf. Restaurant: The waldorf salad was up to our expectations !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear FamilleVoyages,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. As a Senior Reviewer, we are sure that many potential guests will find your feedback regarding your week spent here at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria quite helpful.

Furthermore, we are delighted that you not only enjoyed our charming ambiance, but that you were also impressed with our Waldorf Salad! Indeed, this menu offering is a quintessential example of the historical significance of the Waldorf.

We hope you will return to our iconic property in the future when you visit New York City!

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 100 E 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria New York is currently closed while undergoing an exciting renovation. Please visit Conrad New York or additional Hilton hotels for availability. --- Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing