We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper East Side”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Upper East Side”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Large rooms for a NYC hotel. Good location with close proximity to museums. Renovation of the rooms is long overdue. Ancient single pane windows are quaint, but let in a lot of road noise - it was difficult to sleep in our 3rd floor room. Noise may be a problem for all of the rooms as we specifically asked for a quiet room. Elevator is slow, small and dimly lit. Great place to catch a dust bunny. Restaurant adjacent to hotel lobby has great breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for a room on one of the higher floors that does not face Madison Avenue. We asked for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
I would like to thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies with regard to the street noise that prevented you from getting the best sleep possible. Where possible we will definitely take corrective action to address the problem.

We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the restaurants in the area. Sarabeth's next door to us is a fantastic choice as is Paola's on the corner of 92nd street.

We hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the Upper East Side. Please contact me directly next time you make reservations as I would personally like to ensure that you have a great stay with us.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    269
    120
    55
    38
See reviews for
208
191
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

First time staying in the UES. Hotel Wales is a very good option. Room was spacious, 2nd floor 24/7 complimentary coffee and tea is a very nice touch. Staff was excellent and always willing to help. Special call out to Catherine at the front desk. She did a great job maing us feel like we were regular guests. Would definitely choose Hotel Wales on next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review about your recent stay. We are excited that you chose to stay with us during your first hotel stay in the Upper East Side Jeff. I cant thank Catherine enough for her hard work and dedication. She truly understands how important her role is in ensuring that all our guests feel like they never left home.

We are all as excited as you are at the possibility of having you stay with us in the future. Please contact us at your earliest convenience should there be anything we can assist you with.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locumtoco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A great place to get back to after a busy day. Our room was small but well appointed, the bathroom fresh and spa-like. The staff could not have been nicer. The location on the Upper East Side is perfect for the park, shopping, and lots of restaurants.
Valet parking is a real plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locumtoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It definitely sounds like you were able to make the most of this great neighborhood that we are so fortunate to be a part of. We are in great proximity to Central Park, many great restaurants including Sarabeths which is just next door to us and numerous museums that are located along the Fifth Avenue Museum Mile.

We anxiously await the opportunity to be able to welcome you back as one of our guests.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berskhires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room was perfectly clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. Front desk staff. and bellman were perfect. Location was ideal for us as we needed to be at Mount Sinai. Neighborhood is lovely. This is an older property and like most NYC hotels of this vintage nothing is bigger than it needs to be and the carpets are a bit worn but everything is clean and comfy and our room was nice and quiet. Will be back next week.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We are honored and pleased to read your review. The experience you had with us from the level of service that our front office team offered you to the cleanliness of the rooms from the housekeeping department is exactly what we aim for.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the coming days.

All of us at the Hotel Wales wish you a fun and exciting weekend.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I will keep this brief. The bed was very comfortable. great pillows. The heating unit was loud but , heck,I slept.The staff were pleasant and quick to service.But the star was concierge Catherine.I was in NYC for some medical treatment and she was sincerely concerned with the treatment and my outcome.She remembered the days it was to take place and asked often about the process.it made the stay that much more pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
I sincerely hope that you are fully recovered and doing well after the treatment you had. We are very fortunate to have someone whom can show compassion and empathy towards our guests; Cathy definitely is a superb example of this and we are grateful that she is on our team.

We hope the next time you stay with us is for purely leisurely purposes. From Cathy and the rest of us at the Hotel Wales we thank you much for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I traveled to NY for a three night stay, which turned into four because of a cancelled flight. The welcome was warm and efficient, and having to extend my stay was no problem at all.
Coffee and tea is available free of charge on the mezzanine floor 24h a day, which came in very handy for a jet-lagged traveler with lots of work to get through in her room in preparation for a lecture.
All of the staff very nice and helpful; couldn't be better.
Excellent restaurants, a good food market and a bank with 24h ATMs a few steps from the hotel.
Room on the small side and giving out onto the internal light shaft, so no views, but also no traffic noise. The usual noisy AC unit and a somewhat tired undercarriage of the bed, but the mattress and bedding excellent - slept very well. Low pressure on the shower - might be better on the lower floors.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamotopanayia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and the rest of your fellow travelers on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. It brings us a great deal of satisfaction to know that we were able to offer you the kind of service you've come to expect.

I also hope your lecture went as planned. I can definitely relate as to how difficult it is to get things accomplished after experiencing the effects of jet-lag.

Please come visit us again during your future New York City trips.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I recently were at the Hotel Wales. We were in NYC to attend a museum opening.
Upon check in with Catheryn, smooth check in, warm welcome and upon seeing Khan and later saying hello to Roslyn, we were "home".

When we were in the planning stages of the trip, a number of our friends asked where we were staying and we said Hotel Wales..long story, made short, about 15 of our friends also were at the Hotel Wales. Including the Governor of Dalarna (a province in Sweden), like one of our states.

My husband and I are grateful to these three representatives of the Hotel Wales. They were amazing. When they realized that I was traveling six weeks after having a spinal fusion, they went out of their way to help. Additionally, they truly represent the public face of the Hotel Wales, professional and knowledgable. The welcome was sincere and warm.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Some have a working fireplace. The rooms are clean, comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review regarding your recent stay. We hope that the museum opening turned out to be everything you expected. We are very lucky to be in the Upper East Side as it is so conveniently located to many great museums including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, and the Frick collection just to name a few.

Catherine, Rosalyn and Khan are delighted that you remembered them. They are the face of the Hotel Wales and we are very fortunate to have them on our team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We wish you many safe and exciting travels in the months ahead.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#382 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing