We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wales
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Franklin(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Marmara Manhattan(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Third Ave House(New York City)
View Hotel
The Mark(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Surrey(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Excelsior Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Astor on the Park(New York City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
305
312
132
58
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
312
132
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidemadison avenuemuseum milecentral parksinai hospitalcooper hewittrooftop terracenew yorkhour coffeefree coffee and teametropolitan museum of artboutique hotelking suitesitting roomfront desk staffgreat boutiquelarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Wales this April. Rooms are very nice, rates are reasonable. The common areas are very comfortable with plenty of natural light. Sarabeth's restaurant is downstairs, a great place for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsmith500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review Mr. Smith. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a chance to sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee on our Carnegie Lounge space located on the Mezzanine level.

We hope that you will consider us again during your future trips to New York. It will be a true delight for us to be able to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I think this is a very quaint, fun place to stay with helpful staff that do a great job of serving clients. I will come back. The location, just 2 blocks from an entrance to Central park, is great and easy to pick up cabs from, yet a little removed the hustle/bustle of other locations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hello Alan,

We all hope you made it back home safely as you read our response to your great comment. Our entire team is thrilled that they were able to serve all your needs. We are even more excited that you will give us another chance to do an even better job in the near future.

We hope you have a chance to come to New York between the Spring and Summer months. New York, and especially Central park and many other outdoor locations are much more enjoyed when the weather is just a little warmer.

We wish you many safe travels in the coming months.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a nice hotel if you need to be in the upper east area. There are not many other places around there. The rooms are OK but nothing too fancy. Some rooms are very small. We had to get a suite to have some space. Rooms on Madison are also a bit noisy so be careful.
They have coffee on the second floor instead of coffee makers in the room.
Nice staff. Good restaurants nearby.
I think there are better deals around for apartment places, but this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italytouristItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Good evening,

we sincerely hope that you made it home safely. Thank you so much for staying with us at the Wales. It sounds like initially you were in one of our classic standard rooms. In the event that you want more space we do recommend our suites as they offer a living room area and are much more spacious. Some of our suites even offer a kitchenette which is suitable in the event that you would prefer to cook your own meals. We are thrilled that you were able to venture out into the neighborhood and explore the many fine restaurants in the area.

From our entire team at the Wales we wish you many safe and exciting future travels. We look forward at the possibility of receiving your visit during your next trip to New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great service, the front desk can get you anything you want ; cars, newspaper, reservations, suggestions for restaurants. Nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch right in the hotel ground floor and many good restaurants within walking distance. Near many museums and galleries. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Will go back again on the next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Christine thank you so much for your kind words. The level of service that you received is exactly what our entire team at the Wales strives to offer. It also makes it that much easier and rewarding for us when our guests take a minute of their time to acknowledge and share their experience with the rest of the world.

We look forward to your next visit. In the meantime we wish you many safe and exciting travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Large rooms for a NYC hotel. Good location with close proximity to museums. Renovation of the rooms is long overdue. Ancient single pane windows are quaint, but let in a lot of road noise - it was difficult to sleep in our 3rd floor room. Noise may be a problem for all of the rooms as we specifically asked for a quiet room. Elevator is slow, small and dimly lit. Great place to catch a dust bunny. Restaurant adjacent to hotel lobby has great breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for a room on one of the higher floors that does not face Madison Avenue. We asked for a quiet room and were placed on third floor facing Madison Avenue. Windows rattled all night as the trucks, cars and busses past just feet below our room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

I would like to thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies with regard to the street noise that prevented you from getting the best sleep possible. Where possible we will definitely take corrective action to address the problem.

We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the restaurants in the area. Sarabeth's next door to us is a fantastic choice as is Paola's on the corner of 92nd street.

We hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the Upper East Side. Please contact me directly next time you make reservations as I would personally like to ensure that you have a great stay with us.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews