We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #207 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a gem of an older hotel on the Upper East Side. The place feels like a quiet, private residence. Our room was clean, well lit, and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly. The common room has good coffee and tea 24/7. It is a large, inviting space with lots of windows, tables and chairs, and sofas for lounging. The rooftop garden is not to be missed. Museum mile is within easy walking. Highly recommend. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Your review of the Hotel Wales is wonderful. We are glad that you enjoyed the neighborhood which we are so fortunate to be a part of. The overall experience with us is that much more rewarding when you are able to take advantage of all the amenities and public spaces that the Wales Hotel has to offer including the items that you mentioned such as our rooftop deck and the complimentary coffee and tea that we serve in our Carnegie Lounge.

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience with the world via Tripadvisor and we very much look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed 7 days at Hotel Wales. Staff was exceptional. Hotel is updated but still has the historical feel. Great showers. I loved it. It is within easy walking distance of shopping, site seeing, etc. . .. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtnSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for recommending us. All members of our team have read your review and could not be happier to know that we offered you the kind of service that you have come to expect.

We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting New York City. We would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Wales while on a business trip. I traveled alone and wanted to be in a more residential area. I felt very safe at the hotel and in the neighborhood. The area is surrounded by lovely brownstone apartments and staying at Hotel Wales felt like staying with a friend in a historic home with a lot of unique flair. Lots of little restaurants near by too, try the Paris Bistro right across the street for a great fixed price menu from 5-7pm.

The bed was comfortable and the linens were soft. Gilchrist & Soames toiletries are provided, showers have been updated with waterfall heads. Plenty of space in the suite, each area separated by wooden doors. It was a bit warm and the AC units hadn't been installed for the season but I just opened my windows and let some fresh air in. Enjoyed some calamari in the bustling restaurant on the first floor. The Penthouse level has a great rooftop view and plenty of seating.

The hotel hasn't been renovated or "boutiqued" allowing it to preserve the historic charm although guests looking for a more updated or brand new quality may be slightly disappointed. It's not new but it's not run down either. I would absolutely stay here again, it felt like home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSugarPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you were able to experience the Upper East Side. Your description of it all is very accurate. The Paris Bistro is a great restaurant. Be sure to try Island restaurant and also Paola's if you haven't already done so. They both offer excellent dinner options.

We are excited to welcome you back to New York during your future visits. In the meantime we would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Wales this April. Rooms are very nice, rates are reasonable. The common areas are very comfortable with plenty of natural light. Sarabeth's restaurant is downstairs, a great place for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsmith500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review Mr. Smith. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a chance to sit down and enjoy a cup of coffee on our Carnegie Lounge space located on the Mezzanine level.

We hope that you will consider us again during your future trips to New York. It will be a true delight for us to be able to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I think this is a very quaint, fun place to stay with helpful staff that do a great job of serving clients. I will come back. The location, just 2 blocks from an entrance to Central park, is great and easy to pick up cabs from, yet a little removed the hustle/bustle of other locations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hello Alan,

We all hope you made it back home safely as you read our response to your great comment. Our entire team is thrilled that they were able to serve all your needs. We are even more excited that you will give us another chance to do an even better job in the near future.

We hope you have a chance to come to New York between the Spring and Summer months. New York, and especially Central park and many other outdoor locations are much more enjoyed when the weather is just a little warmer.

We wish you many safe travels in the coming months.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a nice hotel if you need to be in the upper east area. There are not many other places around there. The rooms are OK but nothing too fancy. Some rooms are very small. We had to get a suite to have some space. Rooms on Madison are also a bit noisy so be careful.
They have coffee on the second floor instead of coffee makers in the room.
Nice staff. Good restaurants nearby.
I think there are better deals around for apartment places, but this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italytouristItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Good evening,

we sincerely hope that you made it home safely. Thank you so much for staying with us at the Wales. It sounds like initially you were in one of our classic standard rooms. In the event that you want more space we do recommend our suites as they offer a living room area and are much more spacious. Some of our suites even offer a kitchenette which is suitable in the event that you would prefer to cook your own meals. We are thrilled that you were able to venture out into the neighborhood and explore the many fine restaurants in the area.

From our entire team at the Wales we wish you many safe and exciting future travels. We look forward at the possibility of receiving your visit during your next trip to New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great service, the front desk can get you anything you want ; cars, newspaper, reservations, suggestions for restaurants. Nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch right in the hotel ground floor and many good restaurants within walking distance. Near many museums and galleries. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Will go back again on the next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Christine thank you so much for your kind words. The level of service that you received is exactly what our entire team at the Wales strives to offer. It also makes it that much easier and rewarding for us when our guests take a minute of their time to acknowledge and share their experience with the rest of the world.

We look forward to your next visit. In the meantime we wish you many safe and exciting travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#404 of 471 in New York City
744 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#155 of 471 in New York City
936 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#301 of 471 in New York City
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#95 of 471 in New York City
1,926 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#88 of 471 in New York City
1,949 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 471 in New York City
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £124 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing