We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbeatable location, just what I needed”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #260 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An unbeatable location, just what I needed”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I needed a hotel that was walking distance from my destination on the upper east side. Hotel Wales has an excellent location. It is a bit dated, but the price is lower than the other options in the area and, when in Manhattan, I spend as little time as possible in the hotel. What it doesn't have I don't need. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the water hot, towels not too scratchy, the wifi signal strong, the plumbing worked, and there was coffee in the morning when I needed it. Total time combined checking in and out was around 6 minutes, including wait. It is noisy outside, as is every other hotel in NYC. If I return to the same area I'll go back to Hotel Wales without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We hope this response finds you well back at home. We are glad that everything in the accommodation was up to your standard including the cleanliness of the room and strong Wi-Fi connection.

Thank you for sharing your review with other like-minded travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Wales during your future trips.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    273
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
211
194
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My friend and I were in town for our high school reunion a block away from the Hotel Wales, so the location was particularly important to us. The price was very reasonable for a NYC hotel, so I was expecting a tiny room with two twin beds. What a pleasant surprise to walk in to find two DOUBLE beds in a reasonably sized room PLUS a separate sitting area! The beds were wonderful with, as has been mentioned in other reviews, very high quality bedding. The bathroom had been updated, but still has that prewar feeling. The whole place was very clean and well cared for and the front desk staff were polite and gracious. The reason I am giving four instead of five stars is the noise. The room faced Madison Ave, which is very noisy at night, and it would be nice if the hotel updated the windows to make the rooms a bit more noise proof. All in all, I would definitely stay here again,though.

Room Tip: I could not reserve this room online. If you are looking for a room with two beds, you need to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilstar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We all hope your high school reunion brought back a lot of great memories. Our Carnegie suites with two double beds definitely have ample space ensuring a pleasant experience with the accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed it!

We are excited at the possibility of being able to serve you again during your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm not familiar with this section of the City so it would have been helpful if the hotel had its street number somewhere on its building. When I addressed the front desk about this, he agreed there was no number and told me they were getting a new awning and it has their street number. That will be helpful for those who stay here post awning delivery.

It was a nice day and it was daylight so after walking past the hotel, I doubled back. At night or in a cold rain I might not have been so affable. C'mon, you're a hotel and street numbers matter.

The hotel is charming and clean, the room and bathroom comfortably sized. TV had good reception. Was pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was; no street or elevator noise. Wish the bathroom had a fan because after a shower (nice water pressure and temperature), the entire room was hot and humid.

In the process of clearing the steam I discovered that the windows open but at that time discovered that the bathroom window and one (of two) in the bedroom didn't have screens and didn't lock. On higher floors that's fine, but in room 310, there is access from the roof of the adjacent building as evidenced by paint and plaster buckets left by workers that are sitting directly outside said bedroom window. At checkout I advised front desk and the woman, who showed concern, said she'd tell maintenance immediately.

They take a photocopy of drivers license and credit card and store copy in portfolio which they shred after guest leaves. I'm always uncomfortable with these documents being on paper, though that opens the discussion whether computers are more secure.

I'd stay here again, but would verify that windows lock securely before I accepted the room.

Room Tip: If on lower floor, check whether possible access from outside and if yes, that windows lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of your fellow travelers Sam. Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulty in locating us. Rest assured that we are working to have this matter resolved as soon as possible.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the accommodations. We are glad that you found it to be clean and charming. The Wales has many unique characteristics that definitely set it apart from many other boutique hotels.

We hope to be able to open our doors to you in the near future as it would be our pleasure to be able to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent several days here in April for a meeting. Location perfect...can walk to the Jewish Museum, Central Park, Mt Sinai and a whole host of other museums. On Sunday morning, less than15min to Laguardia! The hotel is old, quaint but with character. My room was a mini suite with a sitting room and large comfy bed and a beautiful fireplace. No restaurant on site but there is a nice place next door and lots of places in the neighborhood. Staff friendly. Would consider staying there again, especially if I am planning to explore the museums and central park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review! I hope your meeting was highly productive. We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything the neighborhood has to offer. Our proximity to many museums including the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim is what makes our location so central just like you mentioned.

All of us here at the Wales look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have always enjoyed our stays here. This last room was the best we've ever had. Will continue to book here.
Very friendly and accommodating staff.
The updated mezzanine lounge is bright and comfortable. A nice area in which to relax after checkout and time to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coronster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
It is a true pleasure having read your review, thank you for posting it. We are all thrilled that you stayed with us again. We also look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

On your next visit be sure to spend some time on our rooftop deck. It is a great place to relax while enjoying the view of the reservoir in Central Park.

Every member of our team wishes you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The price can be a little less than the average Manhattan Hotel if you get one of their deals but BEWARE, you get what you pay for (or less than that) with this hotel. The rooms are tiny! A queen sized room literally fits only the bed. There is no space to put luggage or move with out climbing over the bed. The bathrooms are equally cramped with only small coffin like shower stalls instead of a bath. Apparently only the suites have windows that actually allow for some air and light while and the queen rooms all face a shaft.

In addition to the small rooms the service is horrible. The management is never around or available. Good luck trying to fins someone to talk to if you have a problem because no one here seems to ever pick up their phone or reply to an e-mail - not only in a non-timely fashion -- but ever. I have called multiple times and left messages but was never able to reach anyone.

Why was I trying to reach management? Because after I had found more charges made on my card regarding. If you stay here make sure you're someone who checks their credit statement regularly because you may find small charges popping up unexpectedly from Hotel Wales later on. This place has the worst business practices I've ever seen and is the most unpleasant business to deal with - which for a company who's "product" is hospitality is pretty horrifying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1972014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am highly concerned that we missed the mark and were not able to offer you the level of service that we strive for.

Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience so that we can further discuss your experience.

By email at: nteran@waleshotel.com or by phone at 212-876-6000.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a gem of an older hotel on the Upper East Side. The place feels like a quiet, private residence. Our room was clean, well lit, and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly. The common room has good coffee and tea 24/7. It is a large, inviting space with lots of windows, tables and chairs, and sofas for lounging. The rooftop garden is not to be missed. Museum mile is within easy walking. Highly recommend. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Your review of the Hotel Wales is wonderful. We are glad that you enjoyed the neighborhood which we are so fortunate to be a part of. The overall experience with us is that much more rewarding when you are able to take advantage of all the amenities and public spaces that the Wales Hotel has to offer including the items that you mentioned such as our rooftop deck and the complimentary coffee and tea that we serve in our Carnegie Lounge.

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience with the world via Tripadvisor and we very much look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#174 of 468 in New York City
869 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 468 in New York City
820 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#384 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#35 of 468 in New York City
705 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing