We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Upper West Side Gem”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #259 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Upper West Side Gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are small but well appointed. The bathroom was updated. An extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. The second floor has a great room for relaxing with complementary coffee and tea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Good evening Fred,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Every member of our team is looking forward to having you as our guest again so that together we can offer you the level of service you have come to expect.

We wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    269
    120
    55
    38
See reviews for
208
191
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I travel a lot and this hotel is probably the worst ever. The decor is old, rooms are small, no air conditioner in the living room, the shower besides being small had no hot water, the faucet leaked, check in was slow with only one person at the desk and a long line, the key didn't work and the desk clerk said I demagnetized it however it was a broken lock. The lock still wasn't fixed 2 hours later and the manager had to let us in, one elevator was broken ( there are only two and they hold only 5 people therefore it took quite a wait to get to the 8th floor) One good point we left on the second night and got a refund for the second night. This room was cheap so it isn't a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Upkeep of a hotel is the key and professional management
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 653James_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Good afternoon James,

We hope you arrived safely back at home. It is very disappointing to read your review as we clearly missed the mark in offering you the outstanding service that we are know for at the Wales as is evident in the many reviews left by most of our guests.

Please note that it was a very busy weekend for us at the Wales as we had numerous wedding groups stay with us. Unfortunately we did loose one elevator for approximately two hours which delayed the amount of time that it took for you to get to your room. Rest assured that we are operating very efficiently as of this writing.

At times, and especially during early morning hours, it is advisable to let the water run for a period of time until the desired temperature is reached as prolonged inactivity during the night can cause only cold water to circulate initially.

I would like to wish you many safe and future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arranged around a NYU graduation, our stay was nothing less than delightful. Hotel Wales is charming, well-run, beautifully appointed and has the sophisticated un-fussy style that one rarely finds. Every request, from room service to replacing a broken hair dryer, was met with enthusiasm and competence. The period finishes gave us the feel of the locale. Conveniently located, there was an awesome juice bar across the street plus, within view of our fourth floor room, a tiny French restaurant (Table d'Hote) with cuisine and ambience that matches that of any neighborhood restaurant in the 7th or St. Germain, Paris.

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed the fourth floor Madison Avenue Suite. Roomy, comfortable, excellent and commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaVentureLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay. Every member of our team takes great pride in ensuring that the level of service received is the level of service that our guests expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We came here just this week for a 2 night stay as we were getting married in central park, we loved it! We had a king suite, and we just loved the rooftop terrace, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the complimentry tea and coffee on the 2nd floor is a bonus. If we were to stay in new york again it would definitely be here...we also had a bottle of wine sent up to us on our wedding night, the 2 restaurant's that are a part of this hotel were great too..we had our wedding meal in the italian..and it was delicious..try it folks it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for choosing us as the hotel of choice during your New York City trip. All of us at the Wales hope everything went exactly as planned for your wedding.

CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR WEDDING!!!

We look forward to the possibility of serving you again during your next trip to the big apple.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I needed a hotel that was walking distance from my destination on the upper east side. Hotel Wales has an excellent location. It is a bit dated, but the price is lower than the other options in the area and, when in Manhattan, I spend as little time as possible in the hotel. What it doesn't have I don't need. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the water hot, towels not too scratchy, the wifi signal strong, the plumbing worked, and there was coffee in the morning when I needed it. Total time combined checking in and out was around 6 minutes, including wait. It is noisy outside, as is every other hotel in NYC. If I return to the same area I'll go back to Hotel Wales without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We hope this response finds you well back at home. We are glad that everything in the accommodation was up to your standard including the cleanliness of the room and strong Wi-Fi connection.

Thank you for sharing your review with other like-minded travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Wales during your future trips.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My friend and I were in town for our high school reunion a block away from the Hotel Wales, so the location was particularly important to us. The price was very reasonable for a NYC hotel, so I was expecting a tiny room with two twin beds. What a pleasant surprise to walk in to find two DOUBLE beds in a reasonably sized room PLUS a separate sitting area! The beds were wonderful with, as has been mentioned in other reviews, very high quality bedding. The bathroom had been updated, but still has that prewar feeling. The whole place was very clean and well cared for and the front desk staff were polite and gracious. The reason I am giving four instead of five stars is the noise. The room faced Madison Ave, which is very noisy at night, and it would be nice if the hotel updated the windows to make the rooms a bit more noise proof. All in all, I would definitely stay here again,though.

Room Tip: I could not reserve this room online. If you are looking for a room with two beds, you need to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilstar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We all hope your high school reunion brought back a lot of great memories. Our Carnegie suites with two double beds definitely have ample space ensuring a pleasant experience with the accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed it!

We are excited at the possibility of being able to serve you again during your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm not familiar with this section of the City so it would have been helpful if the hotel had its street number somewhere on its building. When I addressed the front desk about this, he agreed there was no number and told me they were getting a new awning and it has their street number. That will be helpful for those who stay here post awning delivery.

It was a nice day and it was daylight so after walking past the hotel, I doubled back. At night or in a cold rain I might not have been so affable. C'mon, you're a hotel and street numbers matter.

The hotel is charming and clean, the room and bathroom comfortably sized. TV had good reception. Was pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was; no street or elevator noise. Wish the bathroom had a fan because after a shower (nice water pressure and temperature), the entire room was hot and humid.

In the process of clearing the steam I discovered that the windows open but at that time discovered that the bathroom window and one (of two) in the bedroom didn't have screens and didn't lock. On higher floors that's fine, but in room 310, there is access from the roof of the adjacent building as evidenced by paint and plaster buckets left by workers that are sitting directly outside said bedroom window. At checkout I advised front desk and the woman, who showed concern, said she'd tell maintenance immediately.

They take a photocopy of drivers license and credit card and store copy in portfolio which they shred after guest leaves. I'm always uncomfortable with these documents being on paper, though that opens the discussion whether computers are more secure.

I'd stay here again, but would verify that windows lock securely before I accepted the room.

Room Tip: If on lower floor, check whether possible access from outside and if yes, that windows lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of your fellow travelers Sam. Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulty in locating us. Rest assured that we are working to have this matter resolved as soon as possible.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the accommodations. We are glad that you found it to be clean and charming. The Wales has many unique characteristics that definitely set it apart from many other boutique hotels.

We hope to be able to open our doors to you in the near future as it would be our pleasure to be able to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#382 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing