We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wales
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Franklin(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Marmara Manhattan(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Third Ave House(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    The Mark(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    The Surrey(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Excelsior Hotel(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Astor on the Park(New York City)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
      • Free Internet
      Reviews (847)
      Filter reviews
      847 results
      Traveller rating
      305
      312
      132
      58
      40
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      305
      312
      132
      58
      40
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsupper east sidemadison avenuemuseum milecentral parksinai hospitalcooper hewittrooftop terracenew yorkhour coffeefree coffee and teametropolitan museum of artboutique hotelking suitesitting roomfront desk staffgreat boutiquelarge bathroom
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      450 - 455 of 847 reviews
      Reviewed 1 June 2014

      Attended wedding about 4 blocks away. Central Park one block away. Don't miss Gina La Forina's Bistro with wine bar and Sarabeth's for breakfast. Free Wi Fi nice and roof top has view of Central Park though buildings. Nice staff. Room was dinky, bathroom nice. Get a room that has exterior window if possible -- ours did not. Count on window air conditioners that are bit noisy. Price was quite reasonable for location. No pillow top bed for us -- had plastic mattress pad.

      • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank SawyerMacDougle
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

      Good morning,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We all hope you had a great time at the wedding.

      We look forward to the possibility of being able to serve you again. Please contact me directly during your next visit and I will personally ensure that your experience with our accommodations exceed your expectations.

      Sincerely,

      Nestor Teran
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 May 2014

      Very nice little boutique hotel. Rooms are small but nicely appointed. Roof top garden is a nice touch. Excellent location to museums and subway. Upper East side with many great restaurants and shopping on Madison Avenue. Staff friendly and helpful.

      Room Tip: You can request a larger room which provides a little more space. But all rooms are small.
      • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Doug N
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

      Good afternoon Doug,

      Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. In a few words you managed to encapsulate some of the great features of the neighborhood which we are fortunate to be a part of. This includes many of the museums along the 5th avenue Museum Mile which is walking distance from the Hotel Wales.

      Our entire team is delighted that they were able to offer you friendly advise and recommendations. We are all looking forward to the possibility of having you stay with us again in the near future.

      Sincerely,

      Nestor Teran
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 May 2014

      Hotel was pleasant; clean, but just o.k. Little amenities. Fitness room has two pieces of equipment; wi fi is sporadic at best; no vcr (child with our group). A bit dated, dark. Not really great value for price.

      Room Tip: We stayed in 'Carnegie Suite', small suite area. No refrigerator; no safe; Just fair.
      • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank algedneil
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

      Good afternoon,

      I thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay with us.

      It definitely is concerning to us that we were not able to offer you the level of service you are accustomed to.

      Next time you are in New York please contact me directly as I would personally like to ensure that you receive an experience that you will want to tell all your friends and family about.

      nteran@waleshotel.com
      212-876-6000

      Sincerely,

      Nestor Teran
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

      Clean, friendly personnel, many bistros in vicinity, museums, great shopping and quiet. Charming penthouse balcony for the guests' use was a bonus! Room service not available and not missed since there are quaint eateries right outside hotel!

      Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      Thank Susan L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

      Good afternoon Susan,

      Thank you for choosing us during your stay in New York. We are glad that you enjoyed everything the neighborhood has to offer including the many museums in the area like you mentioned.

      Please note that although the Hotel Wales does not have a restaurant, the famous Sarabeths restaurant next door to us provides us with room service for all our guests.

      We are thrilled that you enjoyed the rooftop deck. It truly is an oasis for escaping the busy New York City streets after a long day of sight seeing.

      We look forward to having you as our guest during your next New York City trip.

      Sincerely,

      Nestor Teran
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 May 2014

      The rooms are small but well appointed. The bathroom was updated. An extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. The second floor has a great room for relaxing with complementary coffee and tea.

      • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Fred R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

      Good evening Fred,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Every member of our team is looking forward to having you as our guest again so that together we can offer you the level of service you have come to expect.

      We wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

      Sincerely,

      Nestor Teran
      General Manager

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews