We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

I'm sure the Lucerne will be my regular hotel for business travel (and personal travel when the price is right) in New York City. The Lucerne provides everything one would want in a hotel of its class -- comfort, cleanliness, safety, friendly service, convenience -- but with an understated/matter-of-fact/professional elegance and charm in a historic building that the big chains really can't recreate. All the staff (desk clerks, housekeeping, doormen and elevator attendant) were simply professional and courteous.

I was so pleasantly surprised when I arrived around noon just to leave my suitcase before check-in time and the desk clerk told me my room was ready! That was certainly unexpected and I'm sure it isn't something they can always do. But it was such a nice gesture that felt perfectly old-fashioned and considerate! I really felt taken care of. It was so nice to acquaint myself with my room and freshen up in my room (rather than the public w.c.) before quickly leaving for a meeting. As the workday turned out, I didn't get back to the hotel until after 9pm. How nice it was to simply return "home" to the hotel and head directly to my room! The walls might be a bit thin (I could hear my neighbor talking on the phone) and I had absolutely no view (just the shaftway -- but with a window that opens for fresh air!), but honestly this did not affect my positive experience at the Lucerne.

The location is simply perfect. I hate staying in midtown and, as an ex-New Yorker, always want a neighborhood-y feel. The Upper West Side is convenient for my work visits (which usually run the gamut from the Upper East Side and midtown to Village/Chelsea and Brooklyn -- and friends in all of the above), and a breeze for subway access to Penn Station. I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    821
    141
    44
    36
See reviews for
747
657
134
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I loved this hotel. A bit on the expensive side, but classy. The rooms are elegantly furnished.
The reception and the bell boys very helpful.
Subway just around the corner: Good restaurants, winebars, breakfast places in walking distance. Riverside Park. Lincoln Centre. Five minutes to beautiful Central Park.

Will come back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journalistOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

A colleague recommended the Lucerne after a recent stay. The staff was most helpful, the lobby and the rooms are very nicely appointed and the bed was fabulous. I will go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSMedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The hotel is well located nearby subway station in amazing Upper West Side, just a block off Broadway. Nearby amazing American Museum of Natural History.

The room was clean, small (not a big problem) but very comfortable, good view from window. Sometimes at night we heard noise from hallway.

Service was very good and helpful.

Had some problems with wireless internet connection.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Lovely old building with largeish, spotless (and bed-bug free!) rooms . Friendly and helpful staff. Lots of great restaurants nearby (Dovetail,Telepan and plenty of cheaper options along Amsterdam Ave). Very handy for the subway , Central Park and the Met and Nat History Museums. Air-con worked fine and windows opened fully (always a bonus). Will be our first choice next time we visit New York..

Room Tip: Ask for higher level rooms to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llamasontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. We really loved our stay here. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. We are observant (shomer shabbat) Jews and the hotel staff was very understanding of our needs.

The hotel has very good amenities - decent sized workout room, business center (not free), free wifi and other standard hotel stuff.

The best is the location and the value. We stayed on frequent flyer miles, so we actually didn't pay anything directly. The hotel is in the heart of Manhattan - Upper West Side. There's everything you need right around the corner including the subway. Rooms were nice, and much bigger than I thought they'd be. Furnishings were good. Bedrooms and bathrooms were clean.

Parking, of course, is problematic. They offer a discount at a garage nearby but with no in-out privileges. Cost is $35/day.

Negatives: Noise at night like horns and trash trucks (but what do you expect for being in the middle of NYC); drapes that didn't fully block out sunlight; parking rates; dogs are allowed (saw several but didn't hear them at night).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I have been traveling to NYC for years. And have stayed at more hotels then I can even remember but this one has topped them all. The price for NYC at double room for $286 was impressive. But the hotel was off the charts. This is an "old school" hotel. From the facade to the room...it reeks of the old days. But it as clean as could be and more than comfortable.

My room was a corner one on the 4th floor facing Amesterdam and 79th Street. For the person who mentioned the sounds of honking horns...I didn't hear a thing. But even if I did...it's a city! What would you expect. The room was luscious. Very well appointed from foyer (with wood floor) to the drapes and valances to the bed. The bed with matress and pillows you just sink into -- and that was a great thing. I also appreciated the CD player and the free WIFI both were used.

The location is great. I drove into the city. The valet parking was steep $54/nite...but with the subway on the corner. I took no cabs. Plus there's so much that you can walk too.

As you can tell I've got my new favorite hotel in Manhattan and already plotting my next trip back.

Room Tip: The Lucerne Hotel has a AAA discount program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbenjamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing