We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“felt like home at end of long days of sightseeing”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“felt like home at end of long days of sightseeing”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The price was very reasonable for NYC and a great location. So quiet at night which was nice to return to after touring busy Manhattan all day...no neon lights, honking taxis or crowded streets. A block from the #1 train and about 3 blocks from the B, C trains, close to Central Park and Riverside Park (a quieter park on the Hudson River). There are many restaurants close by on Amsterdam Ave. Concierge, doormen and front desk were all friendly and helpful. We had 2 adults and 2 kids in the room, though a bit on the small side, once unpacked it met our needs and we really didn't spend much time in there so it wasn't an issue for us. We requested a mini fridge when we booked and it was ready and waiting for us on check in. We drove into NYC, the doorman promptly helped unload our luggage and directed us to the parking garage (2 blocks away) that they have an agreement with. Once you check out, they hotel will stamp your parking ticket and we got a reasonable parking rate (again, for NYC). All in all, we would return here for the location, the quiet atmosphere and the friendly service. The beds weren't bad either!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taf75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    832
    144
    45
    37
See reviews for
756
663
134
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel recommended by a client of mine. We go to Manhattan every year because my brother lives there and that was why I looked at that location. It was close to his home. The location is very close to Broadway where you can get public transportation to anywhere. The area is full of nice restaurants. A Starbucks is 2 blocks away. And the hotel is lovely. Very neat doorman are available at all hours. A small lobby but very nice and bright. The rooms are not large but big enough. The furniture is older elegance. There is a safe in the closet, an ironing board and iron. They also have an umbrella to use. They have some kind of a "dream machine" which I never figured out how to use but I most have done something because the alarm kept ringing so we unplugged it. They do offer a 15% discount on breakfast in their restaurant, which I understand is very nice. Unfortunately we never used it because we were always with my brother. They do offer a AAA discount which helps. But the No 1 subway is one block away and it takes you to the main part of Manhattan. You are only about 2 blocks to Central Park,. AND, if you are flying into or leaving from Laguardia, you take the 104 bus, right there on Broadway, to Columbia College at 104th st, the the No 60 bus right to the airport, All for $2.25. But we really loved the hotel. It was quiet, very clean, elegant, and we had no problems whatsoever. They also have a business center to do your boarding passes -- or whatever.

Room Tip: Not a clue, really. We were on the 4th floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed here on my own on business and would highly recommend both the hotel and the location. The room price is excellent value for money for New York. The hotel design is constrained by it being in an old brownstone building but this adds to the atmosphere. The room was not large but was quite adequate and was clean and quiet. There is no minibar in the room but there is an ice machine and plenty of stores nearby. Free wifi throughout the hotel complete with a helpdesk service was very convenient.

The surrounding area is a wonderful introduction to New York - very residential and feels perfectly safe at night. There are lots of good restaurants and the subway station is very close by. The helpful reception staff at the hotel recommended Big Nick's diner round the corner on Broadway and the incredible deli Zabars ( one of the best food shops I have ever seen ) is only a block further north on Broadway. The diner is almost worth the trip to New York on its own for the atmosphere and excellent food. Central Park is an easy walk away. For knitters, there is a great shop Knitty City just across the road from the hotel.

This hotel will be my first choice for my next trip to New York.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannetteMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

It was expensive but that is to be expected in NYC. We had a 5th floor, corner room with two full size beds. Full bath and amenities were very nice. Hard to get the temperature we wanted on the older heater/AC unit in the room. A fan would have possibly worked even better just to stir the air. Breakfast twice at the Nice/Matin. Meals, there even with the discount from The Lucerne, were very expensive but the portions were very large. All staff members we had contact with were very polite, professional and helpful. Will be return and/or recommend The Lucerne? Yes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We chose the Lucerne because it was one of the few affordable hotels in the Upper West Side towards Central Park. It is nice enough but the room is very small (which may well be the norm in New York) - the queen bed we had dominated the room, there was almost no floor space apart from a narrow strip around the bed which made it difficult to manoeuvre our suitcases. My wife was woken up quite early (approx 7am?) by room service starting their rounds in other rooms on our level. Breakfast was a discount coupon (15% from memory?) at the cafe next door - the food there was nice enough. The subway (on the same line to Time Square) was within walking distance, Central Park is about a 10 minute walk. Overall not a bad hotel but we wouldn't go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

A excellent hotel. The rooms are of a good size and lovely and clean. The hotel is in a good neighbourhood. The staff here are both professional and courteous. If you don't want to stay in the middle of the city, this is for you. Subway station close by so travelling into the city is no problem. Ideal location for central park. We loved our stay here and definitely recommend The Lucerne.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a27fre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel had it all: location one block from the #1 subway line, three blocks from Central Park, lots of good restaurants all around, very QUIET, spotless and very comfortable rooms, and efficient and professional staff. The concierges and bellmen were most helpful in getting us cabs, suggesting activities and restaurants, and giving us all kinds of tips. This was a great find, and the price was definitely right for the caliber of hotel this is. I would absolutely return in no time flat; I can't rate it highly enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall; they're bigger than the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suelhallmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,444 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing