We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off-Broadway Hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Off-Broadway Hit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Used to stay in Upper West Side while visiting our daughter at Columbia, and had come upon the Lucerne at that time. Checked it out online for our visit to see our niece's off-Broadway production. Not only was the hotel very convenient to many of our favorite haunts, it was delightful to stay at in all regards. It has a charming ambience of a boutique hotel, with a most friendly and helpful staff. The room was large, comfortable, and clean, with all the expected amenities. The attached restaurant, Nice Matin, proved more than satisfactory for breakfast and dinner. Next time we need to be in the area, we will surely stay again at The Lucerne.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor which has a lot of traffic to the Business Room and the Workout facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laidbackBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    821
    143
    44
    36
See reviews for
747
658
134
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

First of all , I love this place and it is at terrific place to rely on when staying on the Upper West side of NY. Wireless internet for free and Keurig coffee makers in the room ; Shangri-La; these features are a big plus and greatly appreciated.This hotel is always a pleasure to come to and the rooms are beautiful,clean and cozy.I have bee here 4 or 5 times in the past few years and it is a comfortable base of operations when we are here to explore NYC or have business to attend to .
But.....there were no PPV movies available on the cable tv; when we come back from a cold day of shopping or doing our touristy stuff, i have come to expect my hotel to have the latest second release movies available for purchase.They have free on demand but its not the same and we've already seen anything we want to see on that .I had to actually have a conversation with wife tonite because there was nothing to watch on TV.She is beautiful and lovely but after 24 years i'm talked out.(although she isn't).Please help me and get PPV movies back on the Time -Warner system in your hotel. My ears will thyank you.

Room Tip: king suite rules
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racerxj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoner
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

First visit to New York and this hotel made it a memorable one...from the friendly and helpful staff to the fact you could have take away delivered to your room, I liked every bit of it. The speed at which they dealt with repairs or minor twinges was also very good. The location was such a blessing..Two subway stations within a 5 and 15 minute walk and there's a restaurant on every corner. The added plus for me? The Duane Reade directly opposite! The only downside...the works to the main entrance which shut it downfor a few days. Will visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank searcherLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here based on the recommendation of a friend and I was not disappointed. Beautifully presented hotel, with all the amenities you would need, immaculately clean, and friendly, helpful staff. Our room had two double beds and was very spacious. It was only a minutes walk from the subway and very close to Central Park. The Upper West Side has lots of great shopping and restaurants that we might have missed if we had stayed further downtown.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with two beds. We had two windows which made it light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyThompsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for four nights and enjoyed every minute. The room was a tad small (it is Manhattan), but exceptionally clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the linens were fresh. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Complimentary WiFi. Close to the subway. If you stay at The Lucerne but sure to visit Insomnia Cookie (across the street) - fabulous! Avoid the sports' bar called Blondie's across from The Lucerne - horrible food and horrible service.

Room Tip: My company paid $150.00 a night for my single room; however, my view consisted of a brick wall. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIFamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked the room through Expedia for a one night stay in NYC. I called the hotel prior to arriving, and was advised that they had a discount parking partnership with a local garage who, with validation cost only $38 dollars instead of $60.
Our room was cozy, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was quite nice, with a great shower. We slept in, because the bed was so comfortable, and the room was extremely quiet! The staff we encountered were professional, and friendly. We ordered room service, and were pleasantly suprised with the quality of the food!
We look forward to our next opportunity to come back. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Lucerne while at a Teachers College conference. The hotel has an excellent location. It is located bout 150 yards from a subway station, which runs the 1 and 2 lines. Very safe residential neighborhood. There is a drug store/grocery across the street, open 24/7--great for stopping for snacks and drinks. The hotel has very friendly and helpful desk staff. Very clean rooms that are up-to-date. Numerous restaurants within walking distance. I will stay at this hotel again on future trips.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the 11th floor. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing