We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on the Upper West Side”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the Upper West Side”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second time staying at the Lucerne. We chose it the first time because of the location but returned because of the quality of the experience. The room was small (apparently you need to know to ask for a larger room) none were available when we checked in but was fine and very clean with Wi-Fi and one of the best showers ever. The staff is attentive and very professional. Very good fitness and business centers and again exceptional location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    841
    147
    45
    38
See reviews for
765
668
135
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and the staff are generally friendly and helpful. This time I had a smaller room (basic queen) but in the past have stayed in a mini-suite that has a kitchenette and sofa in a separate (but small) room off the bedroom. Disappointing that the basic queen didn't even have a coffeemaker; had to request one from the front desk. Convenient to subway and the upper West Side, as well as the Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Room service from Nice Matin is excellent; only surprise was that they cannot deliver wine (or champagne) to rooms--only beer! Strange legal limitation, apparently. Wine shop across the street was pricey but accessible.

Room Tip: Room off of main hallway from elevator that faces inside of the building away from the street won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanofTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
As a frequent guest, your opinion matters a great deal to us. We want to thank you for taking the time to articulate your recent visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Nice Matin exceeded your expectations. We will certainly address your concerns regarding wine and champagne delivery. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recently, our family rented two rooms for 4 nights for a family gathering of 8 persons, 3 of which were small children. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and would return again. Staff was exceptional, rooms were comfortable, beds wonderful. Be sure and request a larger room because, for the same price, there seem to be 3 different sizes. The smallest of these is really small. We enjoyed the location on 79th and Amsterdam, close proximity to Central Park, American Museum of Natural History, Children's Museum of Manhattan, uptown and downtown subway entrances within a block. Very near the hotel were any number of small of delicious restaurants. To mention a few that we tried: Nice Matin, hotel ground floor, Blondie's (across the street, great for hot wings), Coppola's across the street (easy to miss, delightful inside), Vai, in the next block of Amsterdam. Never disappointed. Also, across the street: Duane Reade's pharmacy, and a small deli with great breakfast and lunch sandwiches and snacks to purchase. Very reasonable. Loved our stay!

Room Tip: Question room size. For the same price, there are a possibility of 3 sizes, depending on location i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

At ~5:30 pm, leaving for dinner, asked front desk for pillows to be placed under head of mattress, to elevate head of bed. Returned 3 1/2 hrs later, tired, ready for bedtime. Nothing done :( Called desk; an attendant brought pillows, REFUSED to help me (79 yo) lift head of mattress, to insert pillows under, despite my telling I had back sx. Rudely refused, walked out! VERY UPSETTING! Next morning, front desk mgr, Mr. Ross (?), offered a limpid "sorry", offered no amends ...his cold, cavalier "sorry" rang hollow & disingenuous! We, who travel extensively, had NEVER felt such indifference from a hotel management. I asked that mgr for someone in exec position to contact us. 3 1/2 week later....still waiting!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaroldSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the proximity to the Beacon Theatre and several of New Yorks best museums and restaurants too numerous to mention. The staff were welcoming and personable and great concierge. I will go back. Restaurant next door was excellent also.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

February in ice-cold NYC, what a great way to spend a holiday while based a block away from the museum of natural history, Central Park with its snow ladden fields and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Great hotel, charm and excellent service, with an excellent adjacent restaurant. Cańt beat price/value/comfort. If worried about noise, just ask for a quiet room!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emile2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Lucerne March 2-6 while I was in NYC for a conference at Columbia University. It's just lovely! It's tucked away in what seems like a residential area, with easy access to awesome restaurants, the subway and some excellent shopping. It's only a few subway stops to some of the main attractions (Times Square, etc). It's an excellent value for what they offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Can_travel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4,968 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 467 in New York City
3,608 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,149 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#100 of 467 in New York City
4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing