We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complan's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #118 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Complan's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a very good hotel to stay in, Staff are fantastic the place is keep looking graet and its in an area that you can easly walk to Midtwon. Its the best hotel I've stayed in while in the city. Wort every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipperarydarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    821
    141
    44
    36
See reviews for
747
657
134
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We will be back! This is a very comfortable hotel, close to central park and most importantly, just short walk to the subway. We arrived late, and were efficiently checked in. Our room was quiet, and although not huge, very comfortable with air conditioning available. The bathroom was clean and the complimentary shampoos etc were good quality. The staff were helpful and organised a car for us to the airport on departure. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great location on upper West Side, only 2 blocks from Central Park. After a slight hiccup regarding our bags when we arrived, the staff then bent over backwards to accommodate us with fabulous service. The hotel was a lovely oasis of comfort after fun days exploring New York. The staff was excellent, the rooms spacious and clean, the neighborhood quiet (for NY) with lots of restaurants and pubs. Easy access to the subway. A perfectly lovely home base to explore New York City. I would recommend The Lucerne to friends and family and will happily stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FluffyRedPurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
My staff and I would like to thank you very much for your comments. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate the referrals. This is what we strive to achieve and we're glad that we did. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from 2nd trip to New York and stayed at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and has the most comfortable beds ever! Staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is lovely building also. Fab location.

Room Tip: Previous reviews said ask to be on higher floors due to noisiness which I did. I asked to be on 8th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been to NYC many times and stayed all over the city. This was our first venture into the West Side and it will be the spot we choose from now on. Perfect location. Easy access to Central Park and all the museums. The hotel is lovely and the room was spacious and well appointed. All personnel were courteous and knowledgeable. We highly recommend The Lucerne.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

"GREAT OLDER HOTEL RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE UPPER WEST SIDE" Spotless and very nicely decorated. Wish the rooms had bigger closets, but that"s the only con i can think of. Our extended family stayed there to attend a wedding in town in town and everyone loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank originalstano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Congratulations to you and your family! We're so glad that The Lucerne could be part of your special weekend. We hope you come back to visit us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My second visit to the Lucerne, this is rapidly becoming my favourite hotel in NYC, it is reminiscent of a London club or an Oxford college. An oasis of peace and tranquility. Staff exceedingly helpful and pleasant, ideal location within walking distance of the Natural History Museum and Central Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmet_gallois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
This is what we strive to achieve. We're so pleased that you came back to visit us, and we hope you keep coming back! Have a great summer, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing