We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location close to central park/museums”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #140 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lucerne is a great place to stay in Manhattan. Extremely clean great room excellent value. Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful... Short walk to the park/museums/and most of central Manhattan. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My new favorite hotel in NYC - My first time and don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else in the City - First of all, the location is perfect - 1 block from Central park - and surrounded by many great resturants, mueseums, shopping, subway stop, cafes, etc, etc, etc. We had a great time just walking around with nowhere in particular to go and no particular agend - try heading down Amsterdam to 72, cut over to Columbus and head back in a loop - and beyond (must stop at Freida's for a margarita)

Secondly, the hotel is comfortable, clean and quiet - we took advanatage of the Suite Special since there were three of us - nicely appointed and great mattress for a comfortable night sleep

Thirdly, the staff was great - always happy to see and knowledgeable of the area -

Seriously, the best hotel experience from top to bottom I've had in NY

Room Tip: get a high floor - my view was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Migrant10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of one of our specials. I'm especially pleased that you found our staff to be happy and helpful. We hope you come back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed there with a friend in early June and it was terrific. It was located close to the subway, places to eat and shop. It was beautiful and we had lots of space in our room. It was pretty challenging to find a hotel with two double beds. This location is only 3 subway stops away from Times Square. There is also a street market on Sunday only one block away. Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History are within walking distance.Broadway (the street) is very close as well.

The concierge is helpful but she will recommend using Skyline Tours. This tour is okay but the buses come very rarely. Greyline , Big Bus and Go NYC seems to offer more frequent service.

If you want a hotel that is very clean, well located and in a quiet safe area, the Lucerne is a great choice for you.

Room Tip: We had a view of a brick wall but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our neighborhood. We will immediately speak with the concierge regarding your recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a very good hotel to stay in, Staff are fantastic the place is keep looking graet and its in an area that you can easly walk to Midtwon. Its the best hotel I've stayed in while in the city. Wort every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipperarydarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We will be back! This is a very comfortable hotel, close to central park and most importantly, just short walk to the subway. We arrived late, and were efficiently checked in. Our room was quiet, and although not huge, very comfortable with air conditioning available. The bathroom was clean and the complimentary shampoos etc were good quality. The staff were helpful and organised a car for us to the airport on departure. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location on upper West Side, only 2 blocks from Central Park. After a slight hiccup regarding our bags when we arrived, the staff then bent over backwards to accommodate us with fabulous service. The hotel was a lovely oasis of comfort after fun days exploring New York. The staff was excellent, the rooms spacious and clean, the neighborhood quiet (for NY) with lots of restaurants and pubs. Easy access to the subway. A perfectly lovely home base to explore New York City. I would recommend The Lucerne to friends and family and will happily stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank FluffyRedPurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

My staff and I would like to thank you very much for your comments. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate the referrals. This is what we strive to achieve and we're glad that we did. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from 2nd trip to New York and stayed at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and has the most comfortable beds ever! Staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is lovely building also. Fab location.

Room Tip: Previous reviews said ask to be on higher floors due to noisiness which I did. I asked to be on 8th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,569 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 470 in New York City
3,782 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#111 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 470 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 470 in New York City
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £139 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing