We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel.”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family of 4 just spent a week at the Lucerne Hotel and had a wonderful stay. We have no complaints about the hotel. The location is great and the staff was great, too. We booked a double deluxe. We were fortunate that the hotel was ready when my husband arrived early in the morning and that they hotel was able to grant our request for a mini-fridge. Trader Joe's and Zaybars are nearby making it easy to save money by purchasing a few groceries. There is also a great coffee shop down the street (Irving Street). I stumbled across a lovely farmers' market on Sunday morning as well.

My husband was here for work and our kids and I tagged along. The location in the city was great for both business and pleasure. The subway station is at the end of the street, making it very convenient. The other line is a few blocks away at the Natural History Museum, so the rest of the city is very easy to access.

We had a corner room and found it to be very quiet, with the exception of the plumbing (often woke us up when one of our neighbors showered or flushed). We would definitely recommend the hotel and stay there again. Our only regret is that we were too busy playing tourists in other parts of Manhattan to enjoy the food and stores around the hotel. Next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We pride ourselves on being a family hotel and your comments certainly make all of us at The Lucerne feel very proud. We're happy that we made your family trip that much more memorable and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    832
    144
    45
    37
See reviews for
755
661
134
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Loved the location of the hotel, close to subway, Central Park etc... Wonderful area to explore the city from. Wlak to great section of Broadway, cant say enough about the location.

Very accomodating staff, friendly and attentive. Did not try the restaurant so no comment on that.

Try Copolla's Italian Restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrp6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I'm happy to hear that you tried Copolla's Italian Restaurant, it's one of my favorite restaurants. I hope that you come back very soon and try Nice Matin. Their French Mediterranean cuisine is out of this world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The stay at this hotel was comfortable, as there was no much things beyond what is essential: spacy room (even a bit dark towards the backyard), friendly and enough staff around, very helpful at all times. Breakfast not in the hotel but at the french-like café next door (has to be paid directly, so take your money with you). As there were many families at the hotel, this shows that it is no sterile business hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 19nights and had a great time. Very nicely located in a family area with many good eateries around. Slightly expensive for the quality and size of room. Kitchette was non-existent with little to use. Good housekeeping and cleaning staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodieno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything runs smoothly here, from the desk to the housekeeping. Accomodations are pleasant and more than adequate for the price. Location is perfect for visiting the American Museum of Natural History, Central Park, Riverside Avenue, etc. Nice staff at all times of day, too.

Room Tip: We had a 10th floor room facing 79th Street - no problems there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having had a personal recommendation for The Lucerne I was confident that it would be nice, but it exceeded my expectations. The deluxe 2 bed room was spacious and very clean; a corner room with views looking out to the river and Central Park. The staff was accommodating and the location was excellent; a very nice neighbourhood just a couple of blocks from Central Park, one block from the subway with many choices of restaurants, bars and retail establishments close by. I will definitely stay at The Lucerne when I next visit NYC.

Room Tip: I called the reservations at the hotel directly and they not only gave me good advice on choosing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so pleased to hear that you were referred to us, and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We're glad that you enjoyed our accommodations, your view, and the neighborhood. We hope to see you on your next trip to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Lucerne Hotel for 5 nights. It was great! Everybody was friendly and helpful. It is very well located; many nice restaurant around the corner and on the other block shops and the subway station!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-Viajera1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lucerne. My staff was really pleased to hear that you found them friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,678 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing