We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable UWS lodging”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable UWS lodging”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After staying in the more frenetic midtown, we decided to try a hotel in
the more residential Upper West Side. We could not have been more pleased
with the staff and location of The Lucerne. Even before our arrival,
we contacted the concierge for Broadway tickets. Ron could not have been more helpful.
On arrival, we found the staff and the lobby area welcoming (unlike our
previous midtown hotel lobby). Our 8th Floor Superior Deluxe Double
Room, with a view of UWS rooftops, was just the right size for the two
of us. The hotel is conveniently located a one-block walk from the #1
subway, which includes stops at Columbus Circle and 50th Street (close
to Broadway), which we easily and inexpensively rode to midtown. It is
also within walking distance from many eating places. The ones we
especially liked were Le Pain Quotidien, Alice's Tea Cup, Spice, and Pinkberry
for a frozen-yogurt dessert. Just a heads up if you want to use the
breakfast coupons the hotel provides for the attached Nice Matin
restaurant, you need to arrive before 10 a.m. on weekends. Not noticing
that, we arrived closer to 10:30 am, and our coupons were not honored.
For that reason, and since we found great breakfast meals at Sugar & Plumm and
Le Pain Quotidien, we never returned to the hotel restaurant. Great discount shopping
at Marshall's was about 2 blocks away. The hotel is also within walking distance of
Central Park, the Natural History Museum, and Riverside Park, a quieter neighborhood
park with a beautiful river view. Upon our departure, Elvin could not have been more helpful. We would definitely stay at The Lucerne Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    843
    147
    45
    38
See reviews for
768
668
135
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in August, 2014. Upon arrival (early) our room was not quite ready. No problem! We got acquainted with the neighborhood and received a call about 2 hours later that our room was ready. Charming room on the 10th floor. Would have liked a view of the Hudson, but we knew we wouldn't spend much time in the room anyway so it was not a big deal. The staff was friendly and accommodating at all times. We enjoyed breakfast at the Nice Matin one morning, and also grabbed a bite at nearby pub one afternoon. Lovely area and found it very easy to get everywhere with the subway a block away. Central Park is very close as well. We would definitely stay at The Lucerne again!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed at the Lucerne several times and each experience has been an extremely positive one. Location is perfect, the staff is friendly and eager to assist, the rooms are lovely and very clean. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had some trepidations about the location but could not ignore all the positive comments and price. Glad we booked the Lucerne and with subway stops one block and another two and a half block it was easy to get anywhere. A 24 hour drug store across the street and some very nice restaurants within easy walking distance. We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

spent 5 night
nice and quite
safe neighborhood
close to Central Park and subways
rooms where very clean very large
beds where extremely comfortable
lots of great restaurants in the area and shopping
I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
My aunt say the restaurant excellent. Not sure if they have room service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abercrombie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed there for a week in July and enjoyed it thoroughly. The location is perfect, walking distance to many attractions and the subway. The room we stayed in was beautiful, large by New York standards and very comfortable, and the staff was excellent for anything we needed. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent a week here in July. Since we arrived early, we got the first large room available (4 of us), but they had no problem changing us to a different room (higher floor) the following day when one became availalable for no cost. They even moved our bags. From the 8th floor we had a great view right out to the Hudson. Wifi was good which kept the kids happy. The rooms were very clean and tidy, but the lift was a little small. The location is perfect, just one block from the subway and the Museam. We did not eat in the attached restaurant, but did enjoy some of the other restaurants just around the corner. Overall very happy with the stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryO234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,973 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,612 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
1,149 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing