We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upper West side location, solid 3-4 star, voted be 4-5 star with some attention to detail ”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #180 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I'm originally from the upper West side so love this location when coming back to visit instead of the touristy areas. Still very convenient to transport and minutes walk from central park West.

Nice, new and trendy boutique hotel. Very good attention to customer service which is great.

In my opinion a very good hotel and I'll stay there again for sure. A few items to nit pick which if corrected would push this to a high 4 star instead of a middle or low 4 star in my opinion. So perhaps it was just when I was there but the elevators are painfully slow do wait times were annoying, and you end up sharing with hotel, cleaning and maintenance staff. No fridge in the room I was in which was inconvenient and the white walls were scuffed pretty badly which took away from the otherwise trendy modern decor.

Overall though a nice hotel in a great neighbourhood. Nice lobby bar and lounge area too..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Edward L,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your review with our housekeeping and engineering team and they are being addressed properly.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,257 - 5,263 of 5,756 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. I absolutely love everything about this place. The staff is friendly and professional. Everyone smiles... it's contagious. The room was spotless, and comfortable. The Location is perfect as well. I live in NJ, but I like staying in Manhattan for special events. I'm already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andiamo0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Andiamo0210,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for the taking the time to share with us your feedback. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the service of our staff, the hotel's product and services. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My sisters and I were visiting the city for only one day (we live only an hour outside the city) and decided to try this newly renovated boutique hotel. We had tickets to Kelly and Michael and it's only a mile from the hotel to where the studio is located. Love the location of this hotel. Its location is perfect. Just a block away from the subway to Times Square and a few blocks from Central Park. When we checked in the doorman helped us with our bags and took them to our room. The man checking us in went on and on about how amazing the outdoor terrace was and we just "had" to go see it before dinner. We changed our clothes, asked about the subway and received amazing directions and headed to Times Square. After returning we wanted to view this amazing terrace. We went to the correct floor and took our cameras for pictures. However, when we got there, the doors were locked. We went to the lobby and told them it was locked and they said they would send someone up to unlock them. After about 30 minutes we tried again. Again, no luck, it was locked so we called back down. The front desk said they would unlock it but again, nothing. We never got to see this amazing terrace view we were so looking forward to seeing :( The room however was spectacular. We stayed in a king room and it was more than enough room for 3 girls. The bed was so comfy and the tv was large. We heard absolutely no street noise thru the night. I have stayed at the Kimberly in MIdtown and it was SO loud outside it was hard to sleep but not at Nylo. Overall, this was a great hotel and we will be staying again. I just hope this time we are able to view the terrace. Also, we received cute scratch off's for the bar and won a free glass of wine, so you should ask the doorman for some of those :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor and heard no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear sgtema,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your generous comments on the hotel's facilities and services. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced accessing the 16th floor balcony. We hope next time you visit, there will not be any discrepancy and you will be able to enjoy the balcony!

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at hotel for two nights. We took two rooms.
1: Deluxe King
1: Superior King
The Deluxe was a good sized room, superior is good for sleeping. Rooms are well appointed.

Some tips:
Keep checking websites for best rates, we were able to get great rates just by watching various travel sites.
If you are renting a car in the city and staying here you should consider renting from National or Alamo they are right across the street.

Hotel offers in room internet for a fee, however if you are staying multiple nights or if you are pleasant to the front desk staff they will give you a code for free.
Free wifi in Lobby and computers and printer available for free use to print out boarding passes or tickets for events.
Nice bar area in lobby. Staff was helpful.

Location is great in the upper westside with easy access to the subway. Big market across the street. East walk to all sorts of great places to eat. Staying here is really like staying in a neighborhood away from the hustle of midtown

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about which rooms are the quietest, Rooms with inside views are quiet but do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LASurfGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear LASurfGuy,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services, and amenities.They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had one day to spend in NY in between family events. Weather was supposed to be bad so we stayed at NYLO and spent the afternoon at the Museum of Natural Sciences. Loved the hotel. Staff were great. Their recommendations were right on. I wish my house looked as cool as the hotel decor. Beds were totally comfortable. THanks for a great night.

Room Tip: Steer clear of Serafina. Had an aweful breakfast there. Do stop by Chirping Chicken. Great close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelShust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear MelShust,

It is lovely to hear from you. Thank you for your feedback of your stay. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your generous comments on the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be passed onto my team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Was at this hotel for two days from 12/24-12/26. Excellent front desk service. The room was better than I expected for me and spouse, considering the price. It's on W 77th street just off of Broadway with many restaurants in the area. Hi def TV, free wifi, comfortable. Taxis immediately available and also not far from subways. The walking/jogging/bike path that runs along the Hudson River is just a few blocks west of the hotel and is wonderful, even in winter if you're dressed for it.
Check out the observation deck on the 16th floor.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor facing 77th street but the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear iosilver,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your comments on the hotel's product, services and recognition of staff. Your comments will be passed onto my team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a beautifully renovated boutique hotel in a great area of the city (upper West side). We were so impressed by the lobby and the bar area and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating (thank you to Jessie from the front-desk).We switched over to this hotel after staying at one of the chain hotels by the Empire State Building that was cramped and not very clean. The room that we got was bright, very clean, and the furniture was stylish - we felt as if we were in a loft apartment. There is an excellent diner nearby called the "Viand cafe". It was very family-friendly, but we could imagine it being great as a romantic get-away for couples, or for anyone. Overall, we had a great experience and it completely changed our trip and enjoyment of the city!

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, be sure to request this, as I have heard that some rooms face a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Shannon S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's facilities and recognition of staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,470 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 473 in New York City
3,873 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,181 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing