We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location.”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #180 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel when it was On The Avenue and during the renovations and it's quite an improvement. Stayed there last just before Christmas. The only thing I don't like is the new locker type furniture in the rooms. I don't like putting my clothes in something that has an open back. A piece with drawers would be better but that won't stop me from staying here again. #1 subway is close by also.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear BTL2010,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. We appreciate your continued business and loyalty with the hotel. Thank you for your compliments and feedback regarding the drawers in the rooms. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,214 - 5,220 of 5,748 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions before it was sold and changed. Unfortunately the change was not for the better. The previous quiet and inviting lobby has now been turned into a bar and "pick up" lounge. Over all the hotel is poorly maintained. Dirty halls, an elevator that sounds as if it will collapse at any moment, and room service that knocks on the door at 2 am even though you are sound asleep and did not order any room service. Also, the new "decor" is atrocious. Gym lockers for your clothes, and beds on high roller platforms? The only thing still good about this hotel is the location and pricing. But, I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear fordodges,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your review with our housekeeping and engineering team and they are being addressed properly.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at NYLO right before Christmas and was impressed with the level of helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. Alberto was especially accommodating and my husband and I enjoyed ending our evenings at the bar laughing with Charles; best bartender ever! The lobby was tastefully decorated for the holidays and made for a romantic setting. Location was excellent, close to Central Park and museums, subway, and 72nd street bagel. And, you can not say enough about a hotel that has a comfortable bed...NYLO certainly exceeded expectations there. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikepdx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear bikepdx18,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good Hotel, nice room but a little small. This hotel is good for a 2 or 3 night stay by yourself. I went with my husband and there was just not enough space for the two of us. However the bathroom is huge, I think a little to big . I would stay here again as long as I didn't have to share a room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishiTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear TrishiTrish,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you sharing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments. Your comments will be passed onto my entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay in Nylo NYC!!

We were there for NYE and hotel was buzzing

Staff so helpful and friendly

Room spotless and huge comfortable bed !

Hotel close to fab restaurants and diners and a quick hop to the 72nd subway stop.

Great for shopping, Central Park and all sights on UWS

We will be back
Jason & Colette

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Raffrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Jason & Collette,

Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic feedback with us!! It makes me so happy to read of your experience with us, especially our newly renovated rooms, ideal location, and our amazing staff. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My partner and I usually stay in Midtown during our frequent trips to NYC so that we can be close to the Theatre District. But this trip, one of our shows was at Lincoln Center and we decided to try a property uptown.

Our weekend at NYLO was excellent. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet but restaurants (superb meals at Calle Ocho and Boulud Sud) and shopping are plentiful. We were very impressed when we walked into the hotel as we immediately liked its modern, urban feel. But the great impression didn't end with the warm and cozy lobby and bar area--it also extended all the way up to--and into our king room. Slightly funky and urban decor stood out over the generic rooms of many other NYC hotels and we knew we were going to love our stay. We found lots of places to store the contents of our suitcases (which when emptied, fit nicely under the bed) and we loved the modern bathroom and walk-in shower.

We had unseasonably warm weather this January weekend and enjoyed the long--but very doable--walks back and forth to our other Broadway shows. We opted not to use the NYLO's fitness center. It's very limited (some cardio machines, a few free weights with a bench, and a dual adjustable pulley machine) and didn't meet our needs. We knew about New York Sports Club's 30 Days for $30 offer and since there was a location right around the corner, we signed up on-line, printed our passes in the hotel lobby, then headed over. It's not a new nor spacious facility but it met our needs perfectly.

We'd love to stay at NYLO again (although we can't do NYSC's 30/30 offer again in the next 12 months). The friendly, helpful staff and the property's warm, inviting vibe made it a standout stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxandmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear jaxandmci,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This new boutique hotel in NY is in an excellent location - quiet but close to everything New York has to offer - great bars and restaurants within the hotel and a big room - perfect for our 11 day stay ..only complaint is that the sheets weren't changed during our stay

Stayed: January 2014
Thank katkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Katkat22,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this great feedback with us!! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our ideal and convenient location. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned, they will certainly be addressed with our Housekeeping team to ensure that this does not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 473 in New York City
2,469 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 473 in New York City
3,923 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 473 in New York City
3,868 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,178 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing