We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper West Side Neighborhood Experience”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #176 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great neighborhood, super friendly and professional staff (from the bellman to the front desk). Bed was comfortable, rooms were a nice size. Clean and new. We brought our 3 year old son and there was a great playground very close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Rebecca S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed!

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,248)
There are newer reviews for NYLO New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,399 - 4,405 of 5,248 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

There was a clump of someone else's hair in our shower when we arrived. The bed was too soft. The decor is a bit run down and the bathroom fixtures are made of cheap drab plastic. The room was small and was facing the ice maker room which was very loud. It would all be OK if I was paying $150 a night but I was paying nearly $350. I know this is NYC but it was the upper west side not the Meatpacking district or the Village. If they at least included internet in the room rate. Overall poor value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esrubilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear esrubilsky,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with the substandard housekeeping service and the allocation of your room near the ice machine. Your feedback will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and loved it, especially the beautiful terrace lounge with a great view. When we came, the lobby was under construction (they were transitioning from the old hotel - On the Ave) so we got a fantastic price. The service was good, friendly staff and the location was close to everything. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Laurie N,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed!

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and could not have liked it more. Compared to my last stay in NYC - well - there is NO comparison. This is what all hotels here SHOULD be like! Trendy, but with a local vibe and a super friendly staff. Great bar and a super view from the 16th floor balcony. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: stay away from 12th floor ice/vending area...super loud.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Joseph S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Couldn't have been better, the friendly staff, the rooms were bright, and larger than I expected. The mattress are worth a 'brag'. Outdoor patio on the 14th was a great hang. Loved the bar and the people that work it! . . and it's in a great neighborhood!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel for a reasonable rate in NYC. Front desk and bell service were excellent. The entry area inlcudes a friendly, comfortable bar and sitting areas. Close to subways and a nice walk to Central Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our daughter lives in NYC and recently moved to the upper west side near NYLO. We loved the location and were also very happy with the price. We have been to NYC many times and have spent a fortune for hotel rooms. I took a very early train from D.C. and arrived at NYLO around 11:30. They stored my luggage and called me about an hour later to tell me my room was ready. The hotel lobby is nice and there is a hip bar where we had drinks late that evening. Our room was very clean, small like most hotel rooms in NY. The lighting in the bathroom was very good and I was able to put make-up on and see what I was doing. We found the staff very polite and helpful. The hotel is very close to the subway and Central Park. There are lots of great restaurants in the neighborhood and it's not touristy which I really like.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear montanamom,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#134 of 468 in New York City
2,412 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#75 of 468 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 468 in New York City
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,101 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £150 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing