We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Linden, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the NYLO for a week (end of June through beginning of July 2014) for work. The desk staff and guys at the door (Jessie, Roberto) were very accomodating and helpful. My room was clean and quiet with nice corner windows. The bed was super comfortable and I had free wifi in my room. In the lobby there is a bar, living room area with computers, another area with couches and chairs for watching the World Cup! People were always hanging out down there relaxing and visiting. The best thing for me was the location, 2 blocks from the subway station and 3 blocks from Central Park on the upper west side. I was a woman traveling alone and always felt safe. There is a CVS right across the way, Westside market across the street and down just a bit. Tons of cafes, stores, etc. just a short walk away and the 1 line subway. They'll store your luggage if you have a late flight as I did. I'll definitely stay at the NYLO again when I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,559
    1,672
    541
    195
    113
See reviews for
1,501
1,639
395
928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Perfect for the young & young at heart (I am 70). Staff were sincerely friendly, helpful. Amenities filled all my needs. Room 803 was the quietest I've ever had in NYC. Mattress comfortable, everything was clean. Room was small but adequate (could walk around bed, no room for easy chair). Decor is clean-cut, walls slightly too dark for the environment, but room is cheerful enough. A/c worked, fan was a bit noisy; windows can be opened if you prefer real air. Only negatives: Rock music in lobby is too loud. Receptionist at arrival needs to improve - tried to serve another guest when it was my turn. Overall a positive experience & I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 803 is quiet, fine for solo traveler, bit small but adequate for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueW946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found the location convenient to markets for grabbing quick meals at all hours of the day. The staff was very helpful (umbrellas, opening doors and helping with just about anything). The lobby and rooms have a comfortable, hip vibe. The floors in the rooms are a laminate grey hardwood and it was easy to see the floors and corners were clean. I liked being able to walk barefoot on the floors and know they are clean. I do not do go barefoot in a carpeted hotel room. Thermostat kept the room nice and cool (it is July!). Keurig coffee maker in the room is nice. The mattresses were the type that do not jiggle when your spouse moves or gets in/out of bed. (Reminded me of the ads for a mattress where they put a glass of water on the mattress and had someone get in/out of the bed and the glass didn't spill.) Very comfortable mattresses with clean white linens. The hotel is near the fire department, but the sirens never woke me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 53sherrieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton,SC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was attending an institute at Columbia University for Teachers and this was the perfect place to stay. I was there for 11 nights. The lobby atmosphere has a very warm and inviting atmosphere. It's like a home away from home. The room was spacious and any request I had was honored. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is in an excellent location with a subway close by. Its walking distance to several shops, restaurants, Central Park, and museums. It was in a clean and relatively quiet area of the city. I would definitely stay there again when I go back to New York.

Room Tip: If you would like a view ask for one. My room faced Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriptalkBluffton_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. Very, very comfy beds! Decor of public areas and the rooms is cool and hip. Very helpful staff as well. Enjoyed the fact that this wasn't the most expensive hotel, but we felt like it was well worth the money. Close to subway and museums too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank V5720GTjennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is excellent. It is located in a very clean area with convenient access to the subway. Lots of great shops, restaurants, and museums within walking distance. It has a very chic modern atmosphere. The rooms were not big, but had everything I needed.When traveling to New York it will be the first place I check.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paulina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights in April. This was our first stay at the NYLO; we found it online as we were searching for something in that part of the City. Turned out to be a perfect location for us: walking distance to many museums and to Central Park, close to a crosstown bus, and even closer to the subway downtown. All the rooms in the hotel have been completely updated and renovated and they've done a nice job. Our room was comfortable, clean and pleasant. The only down side was the mattress on the bed. It was way too soft for us -- an uncomfortable sleep. I mentioned it in the evaluation they sent after our stay. I got a reply from the manager explaining all the mattresses are the same--made especially for the NYLO. Wanting us to stay there again when we return to NYC, he told me to let them know ahead of time and they will put a board under the mattress for us. Now that would be something if they really did that, wouldn't it? I have a feeling we'll take him up on that offer. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear pigeon33,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

As you already discussed with one of our front office managers, please notify us in advance when you decide to return so that we may accomodate you with a firmer bed to ensure comfortability throughout your stay.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
2,381 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 467 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 467 in New York City
3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,626 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#94 of 467 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing