We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #180 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Simply put...The NYLO is a great place to stay. I just a finished a Three day stay that was perfect for us. My wife and my 5 year old Daughter. The hotel has a hip feel and look, with an extremely professional and courteous staff, which made it that much more enjoyable. We really appreciate it. We will be Back! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Eric S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,194
    1,448
    468
    164
    95
See reviews for
1,219
1,464
342
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking for a firm bed to sleep in for a great night sleep this is not the place to stay!

I would have given this hotel a 4 stars except that they have very soft beds and don't offer any form of back support!

When I initially laid on the bed upon check in I called and asked the receptionist at the front desk if they had any firmer beds and they told me all the beds are the same and they couldn't accommodate my request.

Every morning I woke up with a stiff back!

Besides the very soft bed, the accommodations, location, bar at the hotel, room, cleaning service was great!

If the hotel offered a couple of floors with firmer beds and not huge 4 inch pillow top mattress to sleep on that would be great!

Dont assume everyone likes very soft beds...

By the way, skip Serafina restaurant and walk two blocks south to 75th and Broadway and goto the Fairway Market on the second floor...

They have an awesome cafe serving healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner that doesn't cost and arm and a leg...

By the way, if you like soft beds then I would highly recommend this hotel for the price and location...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Nicholas O,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay with the soft bed in your guestroom. We have shared your review with our housekeeping team and they are being addressed properly. On the other hand, I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall!

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!


Warm Reagrds,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times when visiting our kids. Love the location and the guest terrace on 16 is amazing. This last visit was over Mother's day and Jessie was helpful from the moment we checked in. We were offered an upgrade online before our check-in but didn't take it. My boys wanted to give it to me for Mother's day after we had already been there a few days and she had to do some maneuvering and worked to get it okayed. Jessie got us a wonderful room with a terrace and a beautiful view - for the same upgrade rate we were offered online.
Granted we are frequent guests but this was above and beyond. I am going back at the end of August for a girls trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Rooms clean - some with great views of UWS - terrace views spectacular -elevators a pain - staff friendly and smiling - especially Jessie.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Loved this hotel, great staff, always smiling and accommodating, great location and very clean, will stay here over and over again! Restaurant attached to hotel lobby,SERAFINA, was delightful. Walking distance to Museum of Natural History and Riverside Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our second time staying at this property. The first time it was called "On The Avenue", but has since been taken over and made over. The new look is excellent, and a combination of modern, and industrial that seems to just work. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and you're always greeted with a smile. There's a walkthrough into Serafina restaurant, and many other fine restaurants nearby. 2 blocks away from the subway, 3 blocks from Central Park. Try to avoid adjoined rooms if possible, since the sound from each can be clearly heard from the other.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 464mitchella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear 464mitchella,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the NYLO on the upper west side. The place is large but has the feel of trendy boutique hotel with rather fun vibe in the lobby bar area. If you need to be on upper west side then this is nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed here four times in the past two years. We stayed here when it was "On The Avenue" and through the transition to "NYLO". We are not supremely impressed. We live in LA and travel to NYC at least four times per year but will not call this hotel home for a while now while we try out a few others in the area.

The service: not four star. There has never EVER been one mention of the construction. It has been a LLLLLOOOONNNNGGGG and sad remodel of the hotel.

If you get in late in the evening, you are screwed. Even if you call ahead. They are great about moving rooms the next day - but who wants to deal with that????

Otherwise, great location, but again, they have to get their feet on the ground here in this location..... We hope to revisit on our next trip, but have scheduled another hotel at this point... Look elsewhere until 2015 or 2016 when they get things right!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brivid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing