We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation spot in West Manhattan”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation spot in West Manhattan”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were so pleased with our stay here. The hotel staff is very courteous and eager to please. Our rooms were comfortable, cool, and had good hot water. The location is perfect to anything you need. We
will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor (905) on the back side and did not hear any construction noise going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear katherine s,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your overall stay and the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC! The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,375
    1,548
    501
    175
    101
See reviews for
1,359
1,545
368
856
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed a long weekend and this was a good choice. The location puts you in a neighborhood with real people, not the tourist herd. Staff was great, as was the bar, hi to Roberto. The building will not ever change, so do not expect plush, the elevators do work. We had a loft room which I would recommend, not a big room or bath, but big enough for two, the outside area was not cramped and seats and table made a nice space, the large windows made for a larger feel, and they opened. The noise on the 15th floor was ok, if you do not get a loft, the 16th floor has bar from 5 to 9 with outdoor seating. A little more attention to details on room would have probably got to a five. Book with the hotel, the only problems we noticed were people who used third parties, and could not decipher there billing, it was never the hotels fault. We were comped the Wi-Fi, and were given drink tickets for bar (the bar had just closed), after a difficult day of travel. If you prefer smaller hotels in converted buildings, i.e. Kimptons, you like NYLO.

Room Tip: Get a loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear IHScout,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay! I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our daughter has lived on West 81st Street for several months now, so when we visit we've made a point of trying out different affordable hotels on the Upper West Side. We've hit some good ones and some not so good. NYLO definitely falls into the "good" category.

We were delighted by the very trendy urban industrial look of the NYLO, which carries over from the lobby and bar to the guest rooms. Our room (a superior queen) was lovely, sparkling clean, and certainly had ample room for the two of us. The bathroom was nicely appointed and very clean as well and included high-quality toiletries and a good hairdryer. 2 bottles of water were free and the Keurig coffee maker was a welcome site.

The staff at the check-in desk was very friendly and helpful and we were able to get into our room at 1 pm, even though official check-in time is 3 pm.

We enjoyed going up to the 16th floor rooftop terrace to have a snack and enjoy the view. There's lots of comfy seating up there and a bar that offers beer and wine (limited selection). We brought our own libations, which is suggested as the prices are quite high.

The area where NYLO is located is quite nice, with plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Parking in area garages overnight is a bit steep ($50-$55) but certainly not unexpected in that part of the city.

We booked through hotels.com, where we found a slightly lower price than on the hotel's website. The cost was excellent for the area and we would certainly come back to NYLO for another stay.

Room Tip: Don't buy the drinks at the rooftop terrace. A glass of white sangria was being offered at $12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear pat221,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration!

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have stayed at the NYLO Hotel in New York City several times, last time being last week and have always been very well treated and have been upgraded to a better and bigger room because I have stayed there several times and the staff is so very friendly and the rooms are comfortable, though the bathroom is slightly small. The A/C is very affective and the shower head is good and strong and the maid service was very exceptional. Because I have family living on the upper West Side of Manhattan this hotel is a natural for me and close to everything including the bus and subway. A nice touch that they do is to leave two bottles of water every night in the room which is very much appreciated. I would stay here again every time I come to New York City.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and stay away from the Broadway corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Linda S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved this hotel - beautifully designed, it's a small room but so well detailed that it doesn't bother you. You don't feel cramped. Kind of nice the bathroom is spacious so that helps you feel like you're not in cramped quarters. I was just a little creeped out by the glass in the door of the bathroom. Yes, it's frosted but you can see in very clearly - just a bit fuzzy. I prefer more privacy than that. But it let in light, I see why the designer made that choice but sometimes form needs to follow function. Everything else was perfect. Comfy beds, clean, quiet, great location. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ThisandThatToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ThisandThatToronto,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely stay. The neighbourhood is lovely, the metro is 1 minute away. Central Park in 2 blocks, as well as the west Riverside Park. Lots of cafes and restaurants around. Spacious room and beautiful rooftop terrace. Go there!

Room Tip: Reserve an basic room, they will offer you an upgrade for a very convenient price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vv89793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear vv89793,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay! Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We love the NYLO, especially in summer when the door to the bar area is open. Room is extremely well designed for a small space, especially the bathroom, which was light, clean and had great storage. Only two minor complaints----1) I know the hotel is small, but the housekeeping cart always seemed to be in the hallway opposite the elevator and 2) what's with that brick contact paper on the walls? really tacky!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Martha H,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services. Your comments and feedback will be passed onto the appropriate departments so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#309 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing