We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nylo is a must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nylo is a must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great New York boutique hotel! We were able to walk to Central Park, many museums, a Broadway show, fabulous brunch locations and many other wonderful spots! The concierge was attentive and spot- on with recommendations - and the rooftop bar was a lovely place to watch the sunset.We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car0linatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear car0linatraveler,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recogntion of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,283
    1,489
    481
    168
    99
See reviews for
1,288
1,495
353
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Normally I do not choose "boutique" hotels, but for a number of reasons I wanted to stay on the Upper West Side, and this was one of two hotels recommended by people I trust. Overall I enjoyed the experience, the location was excellent, 5 blocks from the 72nd St subway; the lobby vibe was good, and the staff was amazing. While I liked the room, it did have a cheap "dorm" decor. The furniture was backless, with metal doors. I did not appreciate cutting my knuckles (drawing blood) whenever I was trying to get to the safe. There were no towel racks in the bathroom, and the hotel provided 2 plastics cups on the first day, and never provided new ones. Two complimentary bottles of water were provided on the first day, and when we asked for water on the second day we were told the hotel would not provide any more water, Wifi was only available with a surcharge. We stayed 4 nights and had to ask the front desk to get the linen changed; we were provided with minimal towels (Yes we asked for extras but let's not go there.) The beds were so high that we finally asked for a step stool. Beds are soft but linens were excellent and while the a/c was loud it did the job. Overall I would stay again, but this hotel charges premium prices and it is beneath them to be cheap about small room amenities that would make guests more comfortable.

Room Tip: I was advised to ask for a room high up, on the quiet side of the hotel, not facing Broadway. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowtree155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear willowtree155019,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Checked into a "penthouse suite"--never have I seen a room with decor so dissimilar from the lobby--the lobby is a cool dark sophisticated space --the room was like a semi furnished college dorm in need of renovation complete with milk crate furniture and fake brick wallpaper. There was unremitting construction noise from next door which lasted through Saturday afternoon even though the front desk assured me there would be no work on the weekend. AC did not work room was above 80 all night. We reported it to the front desk around 8 am --by 230 when we returned to the hotel the front desk told me the AC was fixed only to then call and say the work was delayed and someone was on their way to look at it. The room was now 81, unattended to by housekeeping and jackhammers were blazing away. We checked out and salvaged the rest of the weekend elsewhere. Uninformative indifferent staff in tee shirts did not add. I'm still awaiting my full refund.

Room Tip: The Crosby street hotel is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sak3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sak3md,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encountered throughout your stay. Let me assure you that we take all of our guest's concerns seriously and this issue will be handled with the utmost importance.

Please contact our team at customerrelations@nylo-nyc.com or at 212-362-1100 so that we may invite you back and make up for this inconvenience.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

If your a bit younger or just a more laid back person you should defiantly check this place out!

It's got a really funky vibe with cool rooms, and really nice staff I really enjoyed my stay here, staff were very helpful and friendly. They even let me check in 3 hours early even though I said I was happy to wait and drop my bags off.

When I checked in it was a little confusing as to where to go because they were having a photoshops in there trendy bar/lounge area, but after it finished everything was fine and that kinda cool to be honest haha.

The area is really nice and quiet unlike most of the other places that can be a little overwhelming; the other side to that is that it is a little bit of a walk to most of the main attractions but there is a subway station a block away and plenty of buses around so doesn't matter that much.

The only thing I would have liked is if there was a fridge/microwave unit in the room but in saying that it wasn't that much of a problem anyway.

Anyway, after staying in 3 different hotels around New York during my stay this was defiantly let the best one, DEFINTELY recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 6continentstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 6continentstraveller,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

Please be advised if and when you decide to return to NYLO NYC, you may ask the front desk or operator for a refrigerator and microwave. Since we do not charge for these appliances, we do offer them complimentary on a first come first serve basis.

Thank you for recommending NYLO NYC to others! The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in a double-double room on the 8th floor. The construction noise was loud in the morning so don't expect to sleep in (there is always construction in NY). The shower drain was running very slowly but the maintenance guy fixed it within an hour. The beds have a pillowtop which I liked but may be too soft for others. The AC can be loud when it turns on though it cooled the room quite nicely on those hot days. The bathroom did not have a lot of counter space to put your stuff on. CVS, Zabar's, and the subway are all just steps away making this place a convenient place to stay, and felt especially safe for families. Wifi is free for the asking.

Room Tip: Ask for free wifi or else they will charge you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdrblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear jdrblue,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hip hotel with excellent service at a great price. I recently stayed at the NYLO hotel and had a great experience. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. Especially the bellhop staff. They were fantastic! Always greeted me with a smile and an offer of assistance. They also provided excellent recommendations and directions. The room was simple and clean. The lobby area was funky and comfy with the overstuffed couches and bar. Also loved the decor with the library and quiet seating areas. Don't bother with the restaurant that's connected, but not part of the hotel. There is way better food not far away. Just download a food delivery app and order whatever you like. They'll deliver it to your room. All in all I really enjoyed NYLO. It was quiet and comfortable at a good rate for NYC. I learned that there is a city ordinance that prohibits cars from honking in that part of the city after dark which was nice when trying to sleep. The CVS across the street was convenient for cold drinks, snacks, toothpaste, etc. The hotel provides two complimentary bottles of water every day, which was a nice added touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Heidi S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire staff so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location is perfect; it´s a clean and quiet neighborhood with everything you need just around the corner (great coffee and breakfast at Irving Farm, manicure, restaurants etc), and close to the park. Very friendly staff. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear luna w,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that you enjoyed your overall stay and the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services, the product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing