We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar and lobby.”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #183 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms
Great location
Big flat screen
Comfortable bed
Cvs open 24 hours directly across the street
Serafina resutant had great breakfast
Staff was efficient
They have a balcony with seating and bar on the 15 floor with a view

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Ewperez,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our great location, amenities, and especially our 16th floor terrace. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!

Warm Regards,
Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,490 - 4,496 of 5,558 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was not my first visit to the city, but it was the first visit with my girlfriend. I had booked this hotel in hopes of showing her what it is like to wake up in the city. Every morning we would grab a beagle and some coffee, and start the day in central park. The location was perfect for our needs with museums and attractions just a stroll through the park. After a long day of urban exploration the bar in the lobby was a welcome distraction. Good service and good drinks. The room was more then adequate, and we enjoyed the full sized bathroom. Would go back on my next trip.

Room Tip: Not much of a view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miwinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Miwinhart,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel was very nice except for the fact that the you can hear everything next door. we heard their TV and their conversations as if we were in the room. reason is because the adjoining room door is not insolated. so thsi made our stay not enjoyable. the rooms are very clean and the hotel facility is nice. for price we pay you would assume the simpleness of privacy would at least be included.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Diana C,

First and Foremost, I would like to extend a sincere apology for the inconvenience you had while staying with us.

Please be assured that I have updated your guest profile to include preferences for a quiet room, with no connecting door.

I hope to have the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. After booking your next reservation, please reach out to our Front Office team at FDManagers@nylo-nyc.com. We would be more than happy to ensure that you recieve a more quiet experience the next time around.

All The Best,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a location near the Met, this is a good if rather funky choice, on Broadway and 77th. Recently rebranded as part of the Nylo chain, this hotel continues their aesthetic which I would describe as "eclectic industrial chic on a budget". The lobby bar is somewhat dark and not particularly inviting. For those wishing to take their drinks to a more attractive location, there is a small rooftop terrace with view over part of the city. The restaurant, Serafina, that is adjacent to the hotel, was good. Our upgraded corner room was large by New York standards, comfortable, and surprisingly quiet. Recommended.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Architectandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Architectandmusician,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

After having made a booking with NYLO I started to read the rewievs and got a bit nervous reading it about shady people riding the elevators and loud noise in the middle of the night etc but I am glad we decided to keep the reservation. Clean room. Nice Tv. Pretty small bathroom but its NY. No construction noise whatsoever. Close to Central Park. Very close to the subway. Great friendly helpful staff. Ok so the elevators aren´t the fastest I´ve ridden but they worked. Most negative for me was the incredibly soft beds that made my back hurt like heck, not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Anna O,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Located in a wonderful part of New York, Upper west side, close to restaurants, stores, walking distance to central park and a wonderful hotel to stay at. You can walk to the museum of natural history and just steps away from Columbus avenue where you will find great shops and restaurants. We stayed with our four year old child and it was an easy kid friendly experience, with no kick ups.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Jo Anne P,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our first time at the NYLO NYC, and we completely recommend it. All the staff was courteous and professional. Rooms were clean and well maintained. The upper west side is awesome and the location is very convenient for a short subway ride to Columbia University. We will stay again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Steven V,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#141 of 470 in New York City
2,448 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#61 of 470 in New York City
3,775 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#229 of 470 in New York City
3,777 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 470 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £132 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing