We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd (but not last) time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Saint Louis
1 review
“Our 2nd (but not last) time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

European style lodgings in NYC. Unfortunately, in room WiFi is extra $. This was our second stay at this property. We will stay here again when we next visit NYC. Walls are a bit thin - but that's NYC

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear G B,

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back soon. This review will be shared with my team. Thanks again and have a wonderful 2014.

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,381
    1,084
    573
    231
    134
See reviews for
939
1,026
247
651
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Afton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at the Bentley Hotel in NYC for the third time. I am a cancer patient at Sloan Kettering Memorial Hospital. It is conveniently located a few blocks away.

I was there for same day surgery. Upon checking in I was greeted by Chelsea at the front desk. Chelsea was pleasant and professional. She was kind enough to give us an upgrade, which really helped, since I was ill in bed after surgery. With the upgrade my husband was able to watch TV in the living room, while I rested in bed, without disturbing me. These little things really help when you are dealing with cancer.

I highly recommend the hotel and dealing with Chelsea. It makes a big difference for your stay when you are greeted by a smiling face and treated with respect, as I was with Chelsea. The hotel has a beautiful view of the 59th St. bridge. The restaurant on the roof was excellent. The doorman is nice enough to hail a cab for you. The coffee downstairs and the fruit salad was the highlight of my mornings. And the price can't be beat, compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Helen R,

I am very happy and pleased to read that you had a great stay with us . Chelsea is one of our best stars at the front desk as we are proud to have her be part of our team. Please know that I will be sharing this review with the team as they will be thrilled by your praises . Thank you again and happy new year! and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Housekeeping didn't get to our room until after 4PM, when we had just returned to rest and get ready to go to dinner. Standard items like coffee and Internet cost extra and there was no cream or half and half in the room. The bar had neither Budweiser or port, when we ordered an after dinner drink. The shower stall had an attractive but not very functional half-glass immovable door that did little to keep the water in the tub. Also, the hotel is undergoing outside renovation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear snowden06039,

Thank you for providing feedback and I am sorry to read that you may not consider returning. Please know that we do take our guests feedback seriously and take all into consideration. We are currently working on ways to improve our product to better accommodate our guest. We hope that you would change your mind and give us another shot. Thanks again and we hope that you will have a great new year. Happy Holidays

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Clean hotel. Friendly staff. Aim to please. When we checked in, we requested a higher floor due to the street noise we had on our last visit. They were very accommodating and gave us the 19 th floor. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Armymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bentley, We do our very best to provide genuine services to our guests to make them feel comfortable and at home . I will be sharing this review with the team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Happy Holidays!

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was my second stay at the Bentley. Considering the price, internet access should be free (at least in public areas). Our room on the 5th floor was directly across from building construction and facing a busy intersection. From 6AM-9PM it was difficult to carry on a conversation in the room because of outside noise. From 11PM-3AM, the people in next room were talking so loud, sleep was difficult. I requested a higher floor on check-in & was offered the top floor at a VERY expensive rate. At check out I was told that I must request a DELUXE king room next time (probably also a much higher rate). This is a desirable location for me (being 8 blocks from family) but I may have to sacrifice location to avoid the noise at a reasonable rate. Also, the bed in 507 dips in the middle & needs to be replaced as well as the 2 bedside lamps that still turn on but are falling apart. Bring some if you have Keurig KCUP pods because the inroom price is $2.50 for 10 oz or Starbucks is available in lobby bar at usual price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MsVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear MsVB,

Thank you for providing fair feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. I would like to let you know that we take feedback from our guests very seriously . I see that you were concerned in regards to the construction noise, please know that we do not have control over surrounding construction sites around our hotel as of course NYC is developing with many construction projects but with that said, we do over very best to accommodate all of our guests in regards. Please know that were are currently working on ways to improve our hotel to better accommodate our guest. Thank you

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were in New York for the Christmas holiday as our two year old grand daughter was at Sloan-Kettering. The Bentley was very gracious to us and made our time there as wonderful considering the circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Scott W,

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at The Bentley. I am please to read that you did indeed enjoy your stay with us. We hope that all is well with you and your family and we hope that you will have have a wonderful new year for 2014! I will share this review with the team. Thank you again.

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here at th enjoy of November.what a fab location. 10 mins walk to bloomingdales for great shopping, 15 min walk to central park. 20mins walk to Times square down 5th avenue. Deck have to visit all above and Rockefeller centre an statue of liberty. Broadway show was excellent and a deck must whilst in NY. Easy to navigate but a good street map is essential. Fab little shopping malls dotted about all over the place. The Bentley hotel is fab. Lovely hotel staff, great view outside the window and a 24hour diner just at the end of the street. Good size rooms and ours had 2 double beds in which were very comfy. Would defo recommend this hotel no bad points it was amazeballs :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Director of Front Office at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Steph A,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bentley! We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope that you will return soon. I will be sharing this review with the team as they will be humbled and pleased by your praises . Thank you again and we hope that you will an amazing new year!

Best,

Jerome Collins
Director of Front Office
The Bentley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,699 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing