We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreary, drab, and depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreary, drab, and depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The pictures on their hotel website vastly overestimated how chic this hotel is. It is NOT chic, nor elegant. Everything looks worn out and old, from the dirty drapes in the lobby, to the poor quality furnishings in the hotel rooms, to the faux leather walls of the elevators. The staff were pleasant enough, but they were ill-informed about the bedroom options - they told us we had a double queen room, but in fact the hotel does not have rooms with two queen beds. The bedrooms are small, and stale smelling, and there isn't even a kettle in the room. I will not be staying again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Paula C,

Sorry to hear that we failed to meet your experxtations and that you felt the hotel was depressing.

We strive on equipping our associates with all of the knowledge they need to provide to guests; I do apologize that you were inadvertently mis-lead regarding the bed types in the guestrooms.

Sorry as well to hear that The Bentley will not be in your future travel plans to New York and we wish you all of the best for 2014.,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    1,081
    571
    231
    133
See reviews for
936
1,023
246
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very nice hotel at a very good price. Nice area, walking distance to the train station. Room was large, comfortable and clean. I would only wish they had ice machines on the floors and coffe machines in the room. We had to call every single night to have the ice delivered to the room.
( It was always delievered to the room by the staff ) But my point is that I should not have to be calling every time I need it. Diner in the corner plus many other restaurants. Amazing view from the 21st floor. Overall, it was a great stay, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamiguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Miamiguy10,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page, we appreciate your feedback and are hopeful that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Indeed, not having ice machines on each guest floor can be perceived as inconvenient, but I am happy to hear that we delivered the ice each day in a prompt and efficient manner. If we had the space on our floors to accommodate ice machines, that would be the very next project I would approve!

Wishing you all the best for 2014 and look forward to your next arrival!

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel staff was friendly, professional and very accommodating. Our room had a great view of the East River and the famed 59th Street bridge (Very romantic at night!) We were delighted that the top level of the hotel was a kosher (meat) restaurant. A block away there are a variety of places to eat offering all types of cuisines.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Annyse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello Annyse G,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us, on our Trip Advisor page. We are thrilled that you were able to thoroughly enjoy the views that many of our rooms have to offer. In addition, we are very happy that you were able to enjoy Prime at The Bentley on the 21st floor, of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley and us being your hotel-of-choice for future stays here in New York.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

King size suite was a decent size for Manhattan and at a very reasonable price for what I would consider a four star hotel. Staff was courteous, bed very comfortable, the hotel was clean, and decor was sophisticated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. Although many of our associates are not fluent in English and it is not their primary language; they do their very best day in and day out to communicate effectively. Over my short time here, their development has been absolutely amazing.

Although Prime is operated separately, we completely accept the responsibility of being fully associated with them. An experience in the restaurant is an experience at The Bentley, and we understand this. I will by all means be following up with them.

We remain confident that if we have the opportunity to welcome you back, it will be a great experience.

Wishing you all the best for 2014!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was was really a wonderfull experience,I stayed already in a lot of hotels all over the world,this one, quality price is exellent. Good location,friendly staff overall a hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello marieke1963,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience on our Trip Advisor page. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a positive experience and look forward to your next stay with us! We look forward to obtaining your loyalty and The Bentley becoming your hotel-of-choice for your future trips to New York.

Wishing you all the best for 2014!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre,Pa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The staff was very helpful except for non Enlish speaking housekeeper. For the qulity of this prperty guests should not have to have any staff tell us "My English not good" Later that evening we had to go orders from the restaraunt on the 21st floor. The prices led me to think the food was very good but it was poor and some inenible. Your front desk staff apologized and told us that was not opperated by the Hotel but since it was on hotel property it still reflects on this hotel. This was filled out by Stephen Stone (Debbie Stone is my wife.) None of these catagories fit my reason for being in NYC. I am a cancer patient at Sloan-Kittering.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Good Morning Stephen and Deborah,

Thank you for your honest feedback and for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page.

Once again, sorry about the language barriers you experienced with the associates. It is unfortunate your Room Attendant and/or her Supervisor did not engage someone on our management team who is fluent in English to assist with the situation.

Please know that we truly appreciate your candidness and hope that The Bentley is in your future travel plans, to New York.

Thank you.

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmond, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is well located to explore NYC (East of Central Park - about 15 minutes walk). We walked everywhere. If you're fit it's possible to see all the sites on foot. The hotel was disappointing - lack of facilities and rather dated rooms. We ate breakfast in the city every morning. The hotel doesn't offer much for breakfast. The rooms were average - they needed a face lift. We had two rooms. the air-conditioning broke in one and didn't warm the other room above 17 Celsius. The fitness is basic, although I used it each morning. Internet is very expensive. You get nothing for free :(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello MichaelBentley,

Please accept our sincere apology that your experience fell below your expectations.

It is too bad you didn't bring your concerns to our attention when we were arranging to get an abundance of your sons clothing dried, prior to your international flight, later that day. We much prefer resolving less than ideal guest experiences while the guests are still on property, rather than having to respond, over social media.

We wish you all the best for 2014.

John S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,680 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing