We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service and a Great surprise!”
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Customer Service and a Great surprise!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I found this hotel through Amex. It was a pleasant surprise. My room had a great view and the decor was impeccable. The trip was a gift to my seven year-old son. We had a marvelous time because of the hotel's proximity to Dylan's Candy Bar, the ice-skating rink in Central Park and Serendipity. I will be recommending this hotel to friends not just because of their views or location but because of Roopesh at the front desk. Roopesh made us feel welcomed, he is very knowledgable of what the city has to offer and he is the reason why I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khovde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello Khovde1,

We are absolutley thrilled that you had such a positive experience with us and that your son was equally thrilled with our accommodations and location!

Just as happy to see that Roopesh went above and beyond and made a positive experience for you. It certainly is rewarding for Roopesh, his colleagues and myself to read such comments on such a popular travel site.

We look forward to your next visit to New York and specifically, The Bentley Hotel. Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, this is invaluable to our success.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    1,097
    579
    237
    139
See reviews for
955
1,042
253
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Needed to be on the upper east side for just one night and needed a room. The Bentley turned out to be a pretty good hotel for the dollar. The room was unique in that, although small, it was set up as a little suite with the bed being in a separate room. The bathroom was nicely appointed and fairly clean. The room was very affordable although the in room charges for items were a little ridiculous. $7 US for a litter of water. Really? Although the hotel has a restaurant, I opted not to go up for a $30 hamburger. Too many good and reasonable restaurants nearby. The only problem we had was that the heat in the room would not go above 63 fahrenheit. When we mentioned this at checkout, they offered to comp our overnight parking. Shows that they want to make things right. I would give them another try if I need to be in that area.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room that faces York St. Very busy and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hello gtozzie,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Bentley, we appreicate your business, feedback and are very happy that for the most part, you had a very positive experience.

We recently introduced the 1 liter bottle of Fiji water and $7.00 for this in-room, bed-side convenience is an incredibly competitive price for this, in the Manhattan marketplace. Not sure if you noticed, but we also offer the 500ml for $5.00 and 330ml for $3.00 as alternative and more-cost effective options, but not as good of value.

Sorry to hear about the heating in your room, if you stayed over the recent cold-snap here, it was a struggle to get rooms to a perfectly comfortable room.

We do strive to make things right, when guests do not have a perfect experience and I am happy you left with the impression that we made every attempt to correct the situation. We do hope that The Bentley is in your future travel plans to New York and wish you all the best for 2014!

Kind Regards,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The pictures on their hotel website vastly overestimated how chic this hotel is. It is NOT chic, nor elegant. Everything looks worn out and old, from the dirty drapes in the lobby, to the poor quality furnishings in the hotel rooms, to the faux leather walls of the elevators. The staff were pleasant enough, but they were ill-informed about the bedroom options - they told us we had a double queen room, but in fact the hotel does not have rooms with two queen beds. The bedrooms are small, and stale smelling, and there isn't even a kettle in the room. I will not be staying again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Paula C,

Sorry to hear that we failed to meet your experxtations and that you felt the hotel was depressing.

We strive on equipping our associates with all of the knowledge they need to provide to guests; I do apologize that you were inadvertently mis-lead regarding the bed types in the guestrooms.

Sorry as well to hear that The Bentley will not be in your future travel plans to New York and we wish you all of the best for 2014.,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very nice hotel at a very good price. Nice area, walking distance to the train station. Room was large, comfortable and clean. I would only wish they had ice machines on the floors and coffe machines in the room. We had to call every single night to have the ice delivered to the room.
( It was always delievered to the room by the staff ) But my point is that I should not have to be calling every time I need it. Diner in the corner plus many other restaurants. Amazing view from the 21st floor. Overall, it was a great stay, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamiguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Miamiguy10,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our Trip Advisor page, we appreciate your feedback and are hopeful that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Indeed, not having ice machines on each guest floor can be perceived as inconvenient, but I am happy to hear that we delivered the ice each day in a prompt and efficient manner. If we had the space on our floors to accommodate ice machines, that would be the very next project I would approve!

Wishing you all the best for 2014 and look forward to your next arrival!

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel staff was friendly, professional and very accommodating. Our room had a great view of the East River and the famed 59th Street bridge (Very romantic at night!) We were delighted that the top level of the hotel was a kosher (meat) restaurant. A block away there are a variety of places to eat offering all types of cuisines.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Annyse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello Annyse G,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us, on our Trip Advisor page. We are thrilled that you were able to thoroughly enjoy the views that many of our rooms have to offer. In addition, we are very happy that you were able to enjoy Prime at The Bentley on the 21st floor, of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley and us being your hotel-of-choice for future stays here in New York.

All the best,

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

King size suite was a decent size for Manhattan and at a very reasonable price for what I would consider a four star hotel. Staff was courteous, bed very comfortable, the hotel was clean, and decor was sophisticated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. Although many of our associates are not fluent in English and it is not their primary language; they do their very best day in and day out to communicate effectively. Over my short time here, their development has been absolutely amazing.

Although Prime is operated separately, we completely accept the responsibility of being fully associated with them. An experience in the restaurant is an experience at The Bentley, and we understand this. I will by all means be following up with them.

We remain confident that if we have the opportunity to welcome you back, it will be a great experience.

Wishing you all the best for 2014!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was was really a wonderfull experience,I stayed already in a lot of hotels all over the world,this one, quality price is exellent. Good location,friendly staff overall a hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello marieke1963,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience on our Trip Advisor page. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a positive experience and look forward to your next stay with us! We look forward to obtaining your loyalty and The Bentley becoming your hotel-of-choice for your future trips to New York.

Wishing you all the best for 2014!

John S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,791 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing