We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #325 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“location, location”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

this hotel is all about location. it is a bit dated but spotlessly clean.staff that we met were all extremely courteous and friendly but then again, on the whole, we didnt meet one unpleasant person in new york. this was our 1st time in new york and i choose this hotel as it was so central. it's not cheap @ nearly 1200 euro for 5 nights (no breakfast included). turn right and you are at central park in 5 mins and turn left you are on time's square in 5 mins. on the minus side, these are 2 very busy areas so going out for a cup of coffee meant hitting the crowds always. our room was small but i think this is normal in such a popular area. i would have loved a coffee making facility in our room as take away coffee is just so expensive. we were on the 22nd floor but getting the lifts was never really a problem. my advise to anyone is if you have only 2 days or so, stay here but if you have more, save your money and move further from the center. we had one issue, we had a problem with our air con. the 1st night, although we mentioned it at reception, nothing seemed to have been done. we were exhausted and slept with the windows open, the noise not really bothering us. however, the 2nd night - i got very little sleep as still nothing had been done about the a/c prob. the next evening it was repaired and the repair man was v apologetic as a circuit had to be replaced. i was annoyed it took several trips to reception for it to be addressed. also, i regret being too polite about the problem and not demanding it to be fixed immediately - after all we were paying enough for it. to end, i think management could have acknowledged the problem also. i might add, the heat and humidity in new york was extremely high when we were there. overall, a nice hotel, with excellent staff, a nice ambience and a brilliant location. would i recommend it? - definitely but dont be afraid to speak up if you are unhappy with something

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    2,875
    1,739
    608
    389
See reviews for
1,773
2,451
343
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

want to stay in the heart of Manhattan, for affordable rates, this is the place to look for ! Just 2 blocks from times square, infact step outside the hotel and you can see the times square! the subway is right outside the door, has tons of restaurants and cafe's around! the room was comfortable, clean and just enough to crash at the end of a long tiring day !

Room Tip: book as a package, and get better rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReYo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We choose this hotel because of the fab location, ten minutes walk (if that) to times square and five minutes walk to central park. There is a subway stop right outside. We arrived about 3pm and checked in straight away, very helpful staff and bell boy took our bags up to the room and made sure it was all ok for us. Small corner room which was nice as we had two windows to look out. We were on The fifth floor and did hear traffic noise. Not enough to bother us as we slept well after all the walking around but may bother lighter sleepers. Small bathroom but cleaned daily and towels replaced. Good shower and hot water. Bath big enough for me to take a bath but not my fiancee! Air con unit in the room lovely and cold after the heat of the city, but couldn't be manually turned off and was a little noisy. It did turn on and off automatically. Room clean but tired decor.
Never had more than a minutes wait for the lift but may have been a problem if you were on a higher floor.
All in all I would stay at the hotel again. A good price, great location and clean with helpful staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizholland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

WHAT A VILE EXPERIENCE.

I have never had such a terrible experience as I have here. I booked 5 nights after seeing photos of the rooms online- they look somewhat spacious, clean, and presentable.

We arrived to our room on the 12th floor, and the room was on par with a motel 6. We paid 395$ per night (only stayed that one night, and then bit the bullet at $425 at Hilton Hotel across the street) .

The floor had BUMPS in it, not to mention it was stained and dirty. The bed appeared clean, but the lights didnt work (those that did flickered), the WALLS were stained, and the tiles/grout in the bathrrom was broken, missing, and either moldy or discolored. I attempted to take a shower, and there is hardly any waterflow, (the faucet looked to be around 20 years old or so) and there was a gap between the wall and the floor on the right side of the room.

Not to mention the internet service is worse than "GoGo On Air" (For those of you who have had the displeasure of attempting to use wireless on a flight)



I have stayed at some very luxurious and very nasty places, and for the price/what we got this was absolutely one of the worst. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE. Hilton is a block away, and has standard Hilton rooms for only around 30-50$ more. If you dont want to pay that, even getting a different hotel at the same price would probably be a much safer bet.

Please, SEE THE ROOM BEFORE YOU BOOK IT, or understand you will probably getting an absolute dive!!!!!!!

Room Tip: SEE THE OOM BEFORE YOU BOOK IT. This place is an absolute dive. If you are even considering staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

tampa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is by far the best location in town - three blocks from Central Park, Times Square, Broadway/theater district and the train!! We were in room 1212 - HUGE space for NYC standards with two double beds and one bathroom + fridge and microwave. Great for heating up our leftovers after a night out on the town. The only complaint is that there was just ONE mirror, excluding the bathroom and we had problems with the toilet running, until we fixed it ourselves. The room is a bit outdated - the TVs are new flat screens, but bring flip flops as the carpet and bathroom could use some freshening up. The beds were comfy, but had the gross, nasty comforters on them, which if you watch Hotel Impossible, you'll know to pull those off the beds immediately and wash your hands immediately afterwards. I left my phone in the room upon check-out and security was immediately on it and retrieved my phone for me from lost and found. Thanks to the housekeeping staff who turned in my phone! We had to leave our bags with bell service on our last day and dropping off/picking up was easy and pleasant. Would stay here again based on affordablity of the room and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josiedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel would have got a better rating had it been a smooth arrival, however, we went to check in just before 3 and the ladies on reception were lovely, even when there were no suitable security boxes which were located behind reception and not in the room. The room was not ready until 2 hours after the check in time and the bathroom had clearly been done in a rush (someone elses hair on the floor and in the bath) and there was no toilet paper or tissues. The room itself was perfect for our use as it was purely to sleep - good for us considering the windows looked out in to the windows of other buildings in square so the curtains had to remain closed. It was slightly outdated and in need of some tlc but a massive comfortable bed which was great after exploring the city. The Bellmen were especially helpful when we were trying to make reservations. Overall a reasonable hotel, quiet in the evening and a good central location with helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_P123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is an older style hotel and a little dated, upon arrival, my mother and I asked if we had a twin room, we were upgraded to a suite, huge is the word, nice kitchen dining area, large bedroom and lounge with pull out sofa bed. Bathroom was a nice size with great power shower in the bath, although the rooms are dated and a little tired looking, it was clean with comfy beds. We had a stay which included breakfast and you are given vouchers to use in the hotel restaurant, which is also open to the public, the diner is nothing to right home about but friendly staff and quick service, the breakfast voucher included juice, coffee, American pancakes, or French toast or eggs, fried potatoes, and a choice of either bacon, sausage or ham, it was fine but not fine dining, if your stay includes breakfast than eat here if it does not there are hundreds of places to eat in New York. I loved New York and I loved the location and buzzy feel of this hotel.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank santinabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,644 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing