We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt choose this hotel again”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #325 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldnt choose this hotel again”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The location of the hotel is its best quality, located on 7th Avenue only a few minutes away from Times Square then in the other direction Central Park.
It was a very basic hotel the main feature I didn't like was the shower, the temperature was hard to control and also the shower head was hard to maneuver. Thankfully we only stayed there over night then went to another hotel.

Room Tip: There are better hotels in the same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becstar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    2,875
    1,739
    608
    389
See reviews for
1,773
2,451
343
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I found some of the staff to be rude not all of them but more than less the room was not very clean. I found the hotel needs a bit of work. The location was great if you want to be close to time square and central park and there is a subway just outside. The cafe connected to the hotel was poor staff where not very welcoming at all. I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duddyz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Stow, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is my first time posting a review on anything, so you know the experience really made an impression. It was horrible! The heating system is so loud and continues to make noise even when it is shut off. It woke us up all night long. The rooms are small and bathrooms smaller. The water became extremely hot several times during showering. So hot that whoever was in the shower had to step out of the spray of the scalding water. Last but not least, 2 of the 3 elevators stopped functioning and people had to use the stairs to get up and down. We carried our luggage 16 flights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I knew I was going to stay in an older hotel, so my expectations were for a clean, safe and well lit hotel. It fit these criteria.

When I checked in, I was unexpectedly upgraded to a room with 2 beds which was great. The room was chilly when I arrived. I called the maintenance group who came in a timely manner and closed a window I was unable to close.

I didn't hear noise from neighboring rooms or in the hall.The staff were accommodating with requests for a taxi, locations of restaurants, and retrieving my luggage from storage after check out but before leaving town.

Bonus: Great location to Central Park, Starbucks and eclectic restaurants.

Caution: There is work going on due to a city required structural audit on the building. I was told about it when I first checked in. I did not hear it as I was gone during the day.
The pipes are old and can clank. At first I wondered what the sound was (rats, night construction...) but it eventually receded into the background for me.
The elevator is slow.

If they were competitive in price, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located betwen central park and time square on the 7th avenue, very convenient place, that being said rooms are dated to say the least, decoration is from the 70's, cleaning was questionable in my room, plenty hairs (not mine) in the tub, this hotel is not to my minimum acceptable standard, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Camille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for our last trip to new york After reading some of the the reviews
( after we had booked ) we were a little worried on what we were going to find but !
as with every hotel there are good points and bad so here goes !!
The foyer is nice and clean although a little dated does give a decent impression had to hand over my credit card as for incidents and room service bills ( but used to that so ok )
The room service girls are more polite than the reception staff and the doorman did his job
bellboy gave no help (but only had hand luggage anyway)so saved myself the tip i had ready for him we had to find my own room (but seeing as we had got from jfk by tube i guessed i could find it myself 12 floor and the lifts worked The room was very clean but a little dated the bathroom was the same but clean i had bought some milk from a store and also brought my own tea and sugar and was looking forward to a cup of tea but although there was a kettal there were no cups after going down to reception for some was told sorry we have none and to go round to coffee shop on corner and borrow two from there decided to buy 2 from gift shop ( $9 ) but on a good point two new york gifts sorted wifi was not included in my package and was quite dear but i opted to buy it the following evening ( be careful here ) i gave the guy at reception $40 dollars and got back my $13 change ( wifi here i come ) all worked ok and seemed faster than mine at home (all good ! ) on checking out checked that no room service charges had been charged to my credit card (as i always do) and being told that the wifi had !
i contested this and explained i had payed by cash to the guy on reception were he asked did i get a receipt i said no but described him and his reply was i do not understand it does not show that i had payed cash ( i replied well it wouldent would it !! ) but he reluctantly reimbursed
after speaking to manager and i got a apology
another bad point is the noise !! i think if you are unfortunate to get a room that is not on the road side there is some kind of vent / extractor unit that drones all night (and its loud ) almost as bad as being seated at the back end of a plane and its all way through the night but after so long jetlag and tiredness takes over but i did not get a good nights sleep !

WOULD I STAY THERE AGAIN ? if they let me after reading this YES I WOULD !

GOOD POINTS The location , cleanness , warm ,hot water .price ,comfy bed ect all good points
BAD POINTS noise from air /vent /extractor and reception guy pocketing my wifi charge then billing me as well also if you leave your do not disturb sign on door you will receive a letter asking / telling you they need to come into your room

TIPS !!
BUY SOME EAR PLUGS TO TAKE WITH YOU AND YOU WILL BE FINE JUST REMEMBER YOU NEED TO HEAR FOR THE FIRE ALARM AND CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD BILL !!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: road side high up i guess ! listen before you accept your room if you hear a droning sound you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleyhorner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Wellington.The location was great about 5 minutes from Time Square and 5 minutes from Central Park.
The hotel itself was grubby and really run down.We stayed in room 344 which was about the size of a rabbit hutch.The toilet over lapped the bath and the bath would have been great for anyone 4' and under.The room was constantly dark as we were located in a quadrant.I cannot say that the room was dirty just gruby and need money spending on it.The roller blind was broken on arrival so we called down to reception who did send a man up to repair it,he came back the next day to repair but still was faulty.No tea& Coffee facilities in the room.The beds were comfy so thats a plus.
We paid for breakfast which was located in a coffee shop on the side of the hotel,i would highly recommend anyone wanting to book this hotel to give the breakfast a miss as it was dreadful.
No pleasantries from any of the staff,we were there just as a room number.This hotel is no more than a 2 star.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything apart from a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,647 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 466 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing